We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this hotel was the cheapest place too stay for our 1 night trip to NYC. About 3 blocks from the subway it was a decent location. The rooms however were subpar. The first room they gave us smelled of mold so we asked to switch which they did without a problem. Our second room smelled better but everything looked like it hadn't been vaccuumed in some time. The whole place needs a facelift but it is decent for the price. One perk was the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    80
    50
    40
See reviews for
95
118
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sourthwest Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place was great. We booked thru priceline and were able to get a non-smoking room with a queen size bed for $119/night -- and it was a "pay when you stay" room so they didn't even charge the credit card until we checked out.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the 7 line at the 40th St-Lowery stop -- it'll take you right into Manhattan. The end of the line is at the Times Square stop - it takes about 20-30 minutes.

We flew into JFK - took the airtrain to the E and transferred to the 7. Took us about an hour but it's MUCH cheaper than a cab. I used to live in NY so I'm familiar with the subways - that might make a difference.

The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly. We arrived around 1pm and were actually able to check in right away. The rooms are small (but it's NYC so everything is tight on space) - it was kind of like a room in a Microtel. But, it was clean the the AC worked. Even in Oct, we kind of needed it. The room had a mini fridge and microwave, a full size ironing board and iron, coffee pot and hair dryer. Free wifi also.

The beds were a little too firm and the pillows kind of sucked. But, for 120 a night, near Manhattan, I'll take it. Our other option was sleeping on the couch at a friend's place. We were on the second floor on the front side of the building which faces a very busy street. It's a little loud but it's NY and I knew that it would be. I'm used to that.

Breakfast was pretty good BUT... GO EARLY. During the week, they serve breakfast from 6:30-9am. If you don't get down there before 7AM, the place is a MADHOUSE. Seriously, it's not a large space for breakfast and it gets super crowded. The food was good. They had some cereal options, toast, bagels, muffins, a Belgium waffle maker, yogurt, apples, oranges, and several juice and coffee options. They have sort of a breakfast attended who keeps everything full and clean and they will often come around and take your trash from you.

The stop on the 7 line has a lot around it - there's a CVS, a few fast food places, a bodega/deli, a few bars, and a pizza place. Great for grabbing a slice late at night.

As a former New Yorker myself - I was pretty pleased with finding this place. If you don't mind walking, it's a great location to stay. The price is great and the breakfast saves you from spending a fortune on overpriced eggs and coffee in the city.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast EARLY. It gets really crowded down there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Rooms really grubby ,hallway carpets disgusting, bed bugs room 225 , hot water is a plus ,breakfast room really small,central to manhattan on train, staff friendly enough but when I complained about bed bugs said was not his fault , the pictures are misleading , this hotel needs an update big time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I started going to this area for work, its not to far from the station a few blocks away in a safe area, the hotel is going thru some change but the staff is friendly and helpful, I would bring my family back to the area the next time we all need to go, breakfast is a plus but get their early.

Room Tip: Second floor is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked with Hotwire a room at Queensboro Hotel and didn't know that the Hotel had changed name, so we looked for it around the block for a little time before we found out about the new name. When we arrived in the room on first floor, a terrible humidity smell came out of it. As we seemed to be in the basement, the room was very small and old.We could smell the smokers' smoke from outside in our room ! And what's more, the room was next to the elevator machinery room, so, at night...it was very loud. On morning, we had breakfast, very poor breakfast and the woman taking care of it was very rude. Finally, I would not recommend this hotel as it very far away from NYC and rooms are nasty.

Room Tip: Do not sleep on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Some of my expectations were not met due to the fact that Booking.com did not verify what was obtainable with the Red roof inn before publishing in the net. The front desk officer explained what have changed, when I demanded to know why I was not being given what I expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The staff was very kind. The room was very clean. The location was nice for me because I wanted to go just to the Flushing Meadows Park (was only 12min to get there) but if you're planning to visit Manhattan you better choose another location. The breakfast was ok. The typical continental breakfast: muffins, waffles, bread and yogurt. The thing I didn't like, was that the hotel is a little bit neglected and looks old. Even though we had a pleasant stay. Excellent quality-price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.