We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Saskatoon, SK Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Queensboro Hotel for 10 days over Easter...April 5th to 15th. The rooms were everything we needed. The continental breakfast was terrific as was the friendly smile of the lady who kept the breakfast food stocked. The reception staff was incredible. One man walked my husband to the nearest store to buy stamps. The hotel is a 4 block walk to the subway. The neighbourhood is very safe and has several top notch eateries. The hotel also provides a shuttle from and to LaGuarta airport. I would definitely stay again on my next trip and I highly recommend it to others who want a real New York experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    129
    68
    39
    30
See reviews for
77
104
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Three us are just back from a week's stay at the Queensboro Hotel. We have no complaints at all. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The location of the hotel is great too - only 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway. We never waited more than a couple of minutes for the subway which is only 10 minutes to Times Square. Breakfast is great too! Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed at the Queensboro this week (22/04/12-26/04/12) and we were very, very satisfied. Our room was a nice size with a Queen sized bed, large TV,coffee/tea maker, microwave and fridge. The room was spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel. Reception staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The shuttle bus was very handy taking you to Times Sq etc and the local subway station. The driver was always friendly and very helpful.
One slight negative was at breakfast with all the plates and cutlery being plastic and disposable, however we found this at many eating places so it must be fairly common in America. It would have been nice to have a little more space to eat breakfast but it was never really a problem. Breakfast was ok, not fantastic but remember it is included in the room rate, many much more expensive hotels do not include breakfast ! There was always enough food although sometimes there was a short wait. The most annoying thing was the 4 slice toaster which would not work with more than 2 slices and was slow. The lady attendant in the food area was always helpful and polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Süddeutschland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stood 6 days in this hotel. It's totally okay for the price. However, breakfast is a nightmare!!!

The space in the breakfast area is not sufficient. Many guests had to eat breakfast standing in the room. There was also not enough food. Twice delivery came during breakfast time, so everything was full of boxes. The waitress had to unpack those first, which lasted very long, because no one helped her. The manager did his best to get some breakfast for himself instead of helping the waitress.

Conclusion: If you do not need breakfast this hotel is a good place for a trip to NY.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

arrrived back in new york and decided to stay near JFK. had avoucher from the magzine allowing a discount on accomodation.the rection staff were rude and not helpful at all. when asked if they had a room for two nights ,they stated "yes " and then proceede to tell us it was $200 US /per night . we then asked if they woud honour the voucher and the stated the were at full capacity and could only offer us $10 dollars off . this is false advertising and the are currently renovating and has scaffolding srrouding the whole building . I can not comment on the rrooms as we left .we had used the coupns all over the stares as we had travelled for 3 weeks and had no problem anywhere else . Your lost Queensboro

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Overall cleanliness was good, room is tidy as well. Internet connection was good. Front desk "Luis" was very polite, helpful and accommodating.
However, there is no enough tables for guests to dine in during breakfast! The lady serving/preparing food is even annoyed at the guests saying that "you should not come down here at 9am to eat, if its 7 or 8am, its ok but not at this time. We did not go down at 9, we were there at 8:45am. They serve breakfast till 9am. And I don't see the reason why the server would even argue with the guests. We have to wait for few minutes for the hot breakfast to be placed in their trays. Some of the guests are left with nothing because the hotel don't provide enough hot food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The staff was so helpful and friendly, the breakfast was great. If you get the 7 day metro pass you can ride the bus just around the corner to Court St station and from there be all over NYC and the burroughs. There is internet and a computer. We will definitely stay here next time we are in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.