We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The truth this hotel had a very good service with us. My mother and I are thankful of everything and one of the best employees that we met named Armando. The us recommended good places and was very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable (not to mention the spectacular view of Manhattan). Suffice to say, thank you very much for everything, shined

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    310
    78
    26
    20
See reviews for
100
393
37
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was the third destination on our three center trip to the US and unfortunately was third in our three hotels. Situated on wnat appears to be an industrial area ther is nothing to visit on foot especially at night. However, the hotel does run a courtesy shuttle to thte nearest Subway station every hour which is very helpful. The staff were very pleasandt but restaurant service leaves a bit to be desired.

Both a web site and in house infromation it is stated that this hotel runs a shuttle to the airport. This is not the case and it is very difficult to get to the Hotel from Newark airport unless you take a cab at $100.

Was not an unpleasant experience but would have preferred a hotel which was more central

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Pros
View was spectacular
Front desk people very nice
Less expensive than Manhattan

Cons
No shower curtain so water all over bathroom floor
Unable to adequately control room temp
No iron or ironing board
No place to plug charger in near the bed
Extremely dim lighting, almost left clothes in closet because couldn't see them

Get the feeling that they were trying really hard to be cool and overlooked some basics frequent travelers expect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

To try to stick with a budget in NYC, we wanted to keep within a price range for our accommodations. We actually found the Z Hotel NY after a long painful search for a decent room in Manhattan. We couldn't find anything nice in our price range and stumbled upon the boutique hotel on a travel blog. The room was booked through Expedia and we were able to use the mobile app to receive an additional $ 25.00 off.

There was an opening season, Cinco de Mayo rooftop party as we arrived. Ladies wore gladiator sandals and dresses and had their full makeup and hair done. I arrived in an old Bruins tee (Go Bruins!) and leggings.

The exterior of the hotel was very chic and modern. There was a cool old car facade mounted to the front of the entrance canopy.

Typically there would be ample street parking but we had a bit difficulty finding a spot, competing with the party goers at the hotel. It didn't help with us unloading the car, that the free city shuttle was parked in front of the hotel.

Check in was a bit weird when they asked for an ID, typically it's just the CC. The hotel lobby had an old world/new world travel theme with vintage luggage and signs that mimic split-flat display boards with a decadent ornate crystal (?) chandelier hanging over the stairs.

The theme drained down to the lounge/restaurant area on the lower level. There were faux libraries, leather chairs and a piano in the middle of the floor.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but they were offering a $ 14.00 breakfast buffet special while we were there. The lounge bar seemed like a happening place for people grabbing drinks. The semi-open kitchen had a beautiful rustic "General-Store" like feel with the kitchen ingredients displayed on the open shelves.

Our Superior Queen Room was on the 7th floor and had a beautiful view of New York City. We paid about $270.00 with tax. It was not a TRUE queen, more like a full size bed.

The room featured a leather headboard, Ipod dock, flat screen TV, pretty much the standard of all the hotels. The decor was contemporary with wall decals covering one side of the room. Being in lighting, I appreciated the rustic chic mason jar pendants hanging over the bed.

I didn't get some of the "theme", like there was a construction hard hat display on the corner shelf.


I loved that the sink area and mirrors were outside of the actual bathrooms. We were able to get ready in a jiffy and not fight over space. There was also a well stocked mini bar and a "Love Box" for $ 20.00 if needed. Bottled water wasn't included so ... that sucked.


We headed up to the roof top party to scope out the scene of the party. Since we were staying at the hotel, we didn't have to pay the cover charge. The party goers were unpretentious people looking to have a good time.

The view was even more dreamy during the sunset over the city and bridge. Too bad it was a cloudy day. Better luck next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

On first appearances it's not the best as it's just a massive apartment block with nothing else around it. However the service was good unlike other reviews. The shuttle bus was very useful as it drops you off in 59th Street and Lexington where you have access to the subway or Times Square etc. The standout feature of this hotel is the view which is stunning on the Manhattan skyline and that combined with the price it was worth it.

The subway in case you don't make the hourly shuttle bus is a short walk away and is well connected to whether you want to do up or downtown.

Food in the hotel was OK but not great and we skipped the breakfast every day and just got something on the move.

Would I recommend this place - yes if you can accept that you aren't on Manhattan and then associated travel time back and or taxi costs in the evenings.

But the view and cheaper costs make up for it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Let's just start by saying that I am a very picky person when it comes to celebrating my events. I usually plan my parties about 6-10 months in advance. So when I finally got a hold of a babysitter and a coupe of my closest friends together in a matter of a couple weeks before the actual event, Liz Arce came to the rescue. She couldn't have been more helpful and professional with guiding me in the planning for my birthday celebration at the Z hotel. She organized a menu, to accommodate all eaters at my party, even Vegans, lol. She got us a private section for dinner with champagne, and then transferred us over to the lounge for the bottle service. Dinner was delicious, the chef came out and presented himself, which is a little rare in these type of places, which I thought was very nice and different. If you're looking for a cute cozy place to have a drink and shake your booty this is definitely the spot. Music was awesome, mixture of today's hits and Latin hits. Overall we all had a great time, and I would totally go back, whether for an event or just a night out with my hubby or my girls.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Enjoyed our stay....Very modern and eco friendly hotel....Has a bar downstairs....It is street parking, so be aware of that....Free round-trip shuttle to Manhattan , leaves you at 59th street / 2nd ave....Has roof top view....No pool....Friendly people....I would recommend it as its a nice way to stay in NY and kinda be away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.