We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are not a guest at this hotel DO NOT waste your time going!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Canterbury, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you are not a guest at this hotel DO NOT waste your time going!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

So we found this hotel on the internet before our recent visit to NYC.... We thought it looked like a great way to see Manhattan at night. We made our way there to find that in order to eat on the Roof Top bar you need to order your food in the basement bar & take it up with you!!! We thought 'what the heck' at this point & went to the basement bar.... The waiting staff we disinterested at best, the drinks were overpriced & the food menu was tantamount to overpriced bar snacks. We left after one drink to find somewhere 'proper' to have a meal. The views may well be stunning, we didn't bother to venture up as it wacn't clear where you needed to go. This is definitely a case of a website overselling the experience... I should've guessed really as there is no menu to view on line....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    291
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
90
375
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was really liking this place till tonight.
Enjoyed being 'not in Manhattan' and having a different NYC perspective and experience - wider streets, less traffic, and the views from the room are fantastic.
Front desk staff pretty good.
However.......whereas most of LIC is dead in the evenings (even on a weekend there doesn't seem to be much going on), the roof bar of the Z Hotel is sooooooo happening, and not in a good way if you are a hotel guest.
The lobby full of what we call in the UK 'chavs' going up to the bar, and taking up all the lift / elevator space.
On 6th floor and can hear the music and bass beats - have to put on the super noisy aircon unit to drown it out - along with the noisy drunks leaving the bar and hanging around outside.
Rooms are as described by previous reviewers, but I didn't find it too small, and the bed is v v v comfortable. No complimentary water (why???) but free phone calls to anywhere inc mobiles (and no free water.....)
Didn't have hotel breakfast - would recommend the following for breakfast:
BreadBox (great oatmeal and lovely manager) a few minutes further on from East River Cafe diner (great value) - both on 11th St
CourtSquare Diner - 24hours
All are about a 10-15 minute walk away, but not really a problem,
There's also Flour and Herbs which is closer (not my favourite)
No local shops, so make sure you grab a bottle of water when you see a shop (did I mention there's no complimentary water in the room?!)
Did not use the hotel bus, a weekly Metrocard is great value at $29 - easy walk to subways and bus stops.
Would probably not recommend this location for anyone on their first trip to NYC - you really should stay in Manhattan.
If you are happy to take public transport and walk a few blocks, then this is fine - feels very safe, despite how the area looks.
In fact, did not feel uncomfortable or uneasy at any time walking around at night - the only time I did feel this was in the hotel when the Chavs were there going to the roof bar and hanging around outside.
As I type am realising that this aspect of the hotel really cheapens it - too bad as they do have to work hard to get guests to stay here given the location.

Room Tip: all rooms are probably fine except on weekends when the noise from the rooftop bar and drunks and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The good news: The Z Hotel is conveniently situated close to Manhattan and has a shuttle bus which goes to Bloomingdales (59th & Lex) every hour on the hour and returns every hour on the half hour. The rooms are kept up well. The front desk people are way cool. If you get a room on the North side of the hotel, you MIGHT see the Manhattan skyline. Free internet.
The bad news: The restaurant is a basement cafeteria which is disguised as a buffet restaurant with no table service outside of waving down a coffee server. Good luck with that. The Lobby feels like a train station. The hallways are outdoors with an attempt made at seeming indoors with a half hearted attempt to create ceilings and walls with plastic. The rooms are teeny, tiny. When we asked to move to a larger room we were told we were in their biggest room. There are absolutely no closets, no drawers. Metal shelves, and not many. Way cool, right? The wash basin is next to the front door. The teeny weeny bathroom has a commode and shower and 2 towels. We didn't stay long enough to find out, but from Thurs to Sat they have late night soirees on the roof, Anyone can attend for a price. There's music and a bar. We were told by an obvious humanist employee, to not stay 3 or 4 floors under the rooftop party or getting sleep might not be an option. Did I mention how cool that is? We checked out after 2 nights and went to a real hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms and floors near the Roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night in August. Room was moderate. Had minibar but no coffee maker. Had room service for dinner and the menu was mostly sandwiches, etc., and were not very good. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

The staff was excellent and extremely pleasant and helpful. My major complaint was that they have a party on the roof on Saturday night and since they advertise the view of Manhattan, I requested a room on an upper floor, however was advised by staff that due to the noise level from the roof, would be better to stay lower, so stayed on 2nd floor. Not the greatest view.

In summary, not bad but could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel was modern and out of the hustle of Manhatten but still very convenient to everything with the transfer shuttle they provide.
I am a young senior female travelling alone and I felt very welcome and safe at this hotel.
I loved the decore of both the room and the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just arrived from a week in New York and stayed in Z Hotel in Long Island. I loved it. Everybody there - from reception desk to breakfast lounge - were very nice with me and my wife. Since we arrived in a saturday sunset, they explained to us that a kind of disco operates in the roof and recommended us to stay in a intermediary floor to avoid loud noise and it didn´t spoiled the fantastic view of Manhattan Skyline. The rooms are small but since when in NY, you won´t stay inside them, it was great for a couple.Confortable and cosy. The breakfast was very nice and complete for us. The only thing that is not so reliable is the shuttle service. Because of the traffic on Queensborough Bridge, it is always late but the hotel provides free taxi when it happens and there are two subway stations nearby (Court Str - 23 rd and Queens Plaza), So, if I travel back to NY, I surely stay at Z again! Way to Go!

Room Tip: The extraordinary view of Manhattan Skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is extremely expensive for rooms that are smaller than than average Holiday Inn, and the customer service sucks. There's noone there that gives a crap about you or your buisness and apparently they don't give a damn to have people that have stayed there want to come back as well. Aside for the favt that it was a rip off, the rooms are really small. When you walk into the room you'll see that the fridge is packed with amenities (drinks, candy, soda,etc...) as well as other amenities that are on the desk in the room. At first you'll get excited as u feel that "oh wow, look they hooked it up" but don't get fooled since you'll get charged something like $8.00 USD for a snickers that you can get for .75 USD in a deli) that btw they don't tell is ANYTHING about. No where did it say that they charge. To add to the bad stay was the fact that we couldn't sleep since there was a party on the roof and there was music blasting well past 4 A.M. Then to top it off you will eventually be screwed since noone at the front desk-Management goes a crap about any of the complaints. Bottom Line: there are so many hotels wherever you want to stay...Choose a different Hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.