We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“honeymoon to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent, the view over the Manhattan skyline never disappoints, day or night you get the WOW feature looking across to the city. The staff are very friendly. Sam, the duty manager could not have been more helpful. The shuttle bus that transports you into the centre is an added bonus, going on the hour every hour makes getting around the city so easy. The rooms are spotlessly clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    231
    62
    22
    20
See reviews for
72
302
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

new hotel (2 yrs old) in long island city just by the queensboro bridge with the most incredible view of the NY skyline from their rooftop bar and terrace, and from all the rooms. free wifi, good sized, comfortable rooms with en suite bathroom. Clean, modern, great staff. Free shuttle every hour to and from 59th st, otherwise about $10 in a cab. Rooftop bar has loud parties with djs etc every friday and saturday night until early morning, so get a lower room (below level 6) at weekends if that sort of thing bothers you. Has comfortable bar and restaurant in lower level. You get a lot more bang for your buck by not being in manhattan.

Room Tip: choose a room below 6th floor when there's a party on the rooftop (fri/ sat)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here one night midweek for about $200/night (including taxes) and had a great experience. It's a new hotel and the rooms are pretty modern. The staff at the front desk was very nice and check in was fast and easy (they hold a C/C on file for incidentals and put a hold on it of $50, no biggie). They have a shuttle that takes you or picks you up from the city (every hour, location is Lexington/59th) which was a big plus. They accept tips for that so do tip if you use it. I felt bad because I had nothing less than a $100 bill. Rooftop view was absolutely incredible, especially at night. You have to go up there and take pics, an absolute must. Downstairs they have a bar and lounge area which was very cool. You can also print out stuff for work or travel in their "business center". Although I didn't buy anything, drinks inside the small fridge in the room were actually quasi reasonable ($6 for a Jack Daniels, tiny bottle). Not cheap but def not like Vegas where you pay could pay up to $15 for it. The surrounding area isn't super nice but that's OK. Would def stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they all have a view of the city but try to get one higher up for a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in July. There was a stifling heat wave on the city but the air conditioning was perfect and kept our room nice and cool. This hotel is definitely for younger people with loud music in the lobby and a very young but professional staff. The lounge is great and the breakfast is nice but relatively expensive for what you get. The room is spacious with a great view of the manhattan skyline. The shuttle allowed for perfect transportation to and from the city.

TIP: the pick up point is around the corner from the drop off point.

The internet was good and the telephone calls (international as well) are free. We didn't hear anything of the party on the 6th floor and we were warned about it before picking a floor. The only minor complaint was that the room was relatively dusty and a layer would settle on all screens within the hour.

Great hotel and would definitely come back if we visit NYC again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I live in NYC, however as part of my birthday present, my husband decided to get us a night in this hotel, like a mini vacation since we had a show to attend the next day in the city.

We stayed on a Friday. Arrived at the hotel, it was a bit warm, well it was a hot day. The people at the front desk didn't seem too happy. I think cause the heat was getting to them.
It looks like a swanky hotel right when you step in. My husband had already checked in earlier so I went straight upstairs to our room. The corridors were warm but didn't bother me too much. All the rooms are all facing Manhattan. I walk into our room and wow. Compared to other hotels we've stayed at (bigger chains), it was smaller but modern...the layout and design. The bathroom was nice too. Very different. I didn't mind the sink being outside the bathroom. It was actually convenient. Also, they provide complimentary slippers during our stay. That was really awesome. There's a minibar but didn't take anything from it. The bed was pretty comfy. It was difficult to get up the next morning.

We decide to check out the rooftop... amazing views. Too bad we didn't get a chance to see it at night time. I'm sure it was beautiful. We then went to the lounge/dining area where we had some happy hour drinks! The bar tender at that time was very hospitable as well as the chef. The waitress was not bad either. Pretty good food. Had some sliders and tuscan fries. We also were allowed to bring our drinks back to our room. I totally passed out after that. However, fireworks woke me up around 2am. Not sure if they always have that or because it was the 4th of July weekend.

Next day, we had to check out around 12am, however, last minute we decided to stay another night cause we just couldn't leave. They were very accommodating.

They provide a shuttle that's very convenient and drops you off at midtown. Spent the day in the city and took the shuttle back. It arrived on time.

Sunday morning, had breakfast from their buffet which costs $10 + gratuity and tax. It was actually pretty good. Apparently, you can get a voucher for this depending on how you book your room.

All in all, to sum things up. It was a great stay. We will definitely have another mini staycation and stay in this hotel again but during the fall time.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and could hear the bass of the music from the rooftop. Highly recommend st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we checked in, the person at the desk told us we had a room on a high floor, but that there would be a party on the rooftop till 2:00am, and we might want to be a little lower due to the noise. We appreciated the heads up and got a room on the 9th floor instead. (the roof top is the equivalent to the 12th floor). Unfortunately, at night we could still hear the music AND the bass vibrations till well after 3am! The room is very nice, decent size, with a futon and a wall of windows facing Manhattan, which was spectacular!!!!!! When you get off the elevator to the rooms, you essentially are in an open corridor, sort of like going to a motel. So there is no air conditioning, and being July- it was quite warm. Not a reason not to stay there, just clearly not an elegant/sophisticated way to have a hotel, although i am to assume cheaper to construct.I have to say that the air conditioning did not keep the room too cool and we had the thermostat on 64! Probably because of the wall of windows, even with the shades closed, it just did not cool off adequately. The area of Long Island City is still very much a work in progress. It remains an industrial area, and not much around the hotel itself, that you can walk to. We went to Vernon Ave, where there are many restaurants that were very good. So you have a 2-3 block radius that has things to do. There is the museum of moving images nearby as well. One of the nicest things about the hotel is that they offer a free shuttle to manhattan. Leaves the hotel on the hour and leaves Manhattan, to return to the hotel, on the half hour. The hotel is literally at the foot of the Queensborough bridge. I would say a MUST see is the Gantry Plaza State Park in Long Island City!!!!! It offers really spectacular views of Manhattan on the water, has a few piers, benches, playground and walkways to explore. Also has the giant PEPSI sign which was exciting. The staff, upon checking in, were average at best, not up to standard. I asked for a pen to have, as i unfortunately did not have one, and there was not the usual pad and pen in our hotel room. The woman at the desk said that they did not have ONE to give!! but that i could BORROW one! I was pretty surprised by that, and frankly have never experienced that, as most hotels have pens and use it for free advertisment. Anyway, she reluctantlly said i could BORROW the pen! I said i would be out for the day and she said "well you can give it back, when you return"!
She proceded to give me a 10 cent bic pen with no cover! It just left a very bad taste in my mouth. I mean, how cheap is that? The gentleman upon checkout however was a whole different story. He was friendly, accommodating and genuinely seemed to care about our experience. He was totally different, and we left with a more pleasant feeling, because of him!
Another negative, is that there is no parking available, and you have to park on the street.
It can be difficult late at night, and because the place is more desolate, it can be a little creepy. It is not unsafe however, just that no one is around. So, in conclusion. I would stay at the hotel for its proximity to Manhattan at probably slightly cheaper rates than Manhattan. It has nice rooms with unbelievable views of Manhattan! The negatives are no available parking, except on the street and many of the staff seem like they could really care less and are not able to make recommendations other than, go to Vernon Ave.

Room Tip: If you are staying on the weekend or holiday when they rooftop is having a DJ, you best stay on a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Very modern and comfortable. The room was surprisingly big. The only negative aspect of the room was that the sink for the bathroom isnt in the bathroom, it is in the room. But the shower is very spacious. the view to Manhattan from the room is magnificant. The complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel to Manhattan is very convenient and only takes around 10mins depending on traffic in Manhattan. However be sure to check with reception staff as to when the bus leaves as the card said it left at 7.30am in the morning but didn´t leave until 8 and we had to catch a tour at 8.30 so we had to catch a further taxi to ensure we would arrive on time. the bar down stairs offers a nice breakfast for $10 per person plus tax´s. If you are looking for a nice place to eat close to the hotel walk down to vernon street, there are a multitude of restaurants. I wish we found this street sooner rather than going back into Manhattan every night. This hotel is wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were only on the third floor and still had a magnificant view of manhattan so don´t be too concer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.