We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pool would make this hotel perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pool would make this hotel perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I live in NYC, however as part of my birthday present, my husband decided to get us a night in this hotel, like a mini vacation since we had a show to attend the next day in the city.

We stayed on a Friday. Arrived at the hotel, it was a bit warm, well it was a hot day. The people at the front desk didn't seem too happy. I think cause the heat was getting to them.
It looks like a swanky hotel right when you step in. My husband had already checked in earlier so I went straight upstairs to our room. The corridors were warm but didn't bother me too much. All the rooms are all facing Manhattan. I walk into our room and wow. Compared to other hotels we've stayed at (bigger chains), it was smaller but modern...the layout and design. The bathroom was nice too. Very different. I didn't mind the sink being outside the bathroom. It was actually convenient. Also, they provide complimentary slippers during our stay. That was really awesome. There's a minibar but didn't take anything from it. The bed was pretty comfy. It was difficult to get up the next morning.

We decide to check out the rooftop... amazing views. Too bad we didn't get a chance to see it at night time. I'm sure it was beautiful. We then went to the lounge/dining area where we had some happy hour drinks! The bar tender at that time was very hospitable as well as the chef. The waitress was not bad either. Pretty good food. Had some sliders and tuscan fries. We also were allowed to bring our drinks back to our room. I totally passed out after that. However, fireworks woke me up around 2am. Not sure if they always have that or because it was the 4th of July weekend.

Next day, we had to check out around 12am, however, last minute we decided to stay another night cause we just couldn't leave. They were very accommodating.

They provide a shuttle that's very convenient and drops you off at midtown. Spent the day in the city and took the shuttle back. It arrived on time.

Sunday morning, had breakfast from their buffet which costs $10 + gratuity and tax. It was actually pretty good. Apparently, you can get a voucher for this depending on how you book your room.

All in all, to sum things up. It was a great stay. We will definitely have another mini staycation and stay in this hotel again but during the fall time.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and could hear the bass of the music from the rooftop. Highly recommend st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    231
    62
    22
    20
See reviews for
72
302
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we checked in, the person at the desk told us we had a room on a high floor, but that there would be a party on the rooftop till 2:00am, and we might want to be a little lower due to the noise. We appreciated the heads up and got a room on the 9th floor instead. (the roof top is the equivalent to the 12th floor). Unfortunately, at night we could still hear the music AND the bass vibrations till well after 3am! The room is very nice, decent size, with a futon and a wall of windows facing Manhattan, which was spectacular!!!!!! When you get off the elevator to the rooms, you essentially are in an open corridor, sort of like going to a motel. So there is no air conditioning, and being July- it was quite warm. Not a reason not to stay there, just clearly not an elegant/sophisticated way to have a hotel, although i am to assume cheaper to construct.I have to say that the air conditioning did not keep the room too cool and we had the thermostat on 64! Probably because of the wall of windows, even with the shades closed, it just did not cool off adequately. The area of Long Island City is still very much a work in progress. It remains an industrial area, and not much around the hotel itself, that you can walk to. We went to Vernon Ave, where there are many restaurants that were very good. So you have a 2-3 block radius that has things to do. There is the museum of moving images nearby as well. One of the nicest things about the hotel is that they offer a free shuttle to manhattan. Leaves the hotel on the hour and leaves Manhattan, to return to the hotel, on the half hour. The hotel is literally at the foot of the Queensborough bridge. I would say a MUST see is the Gantry Plaza State Park in Long Island City!!!!! It offers really spectacular views of Manhattan on the water, has a few piers, benches, playground and walkways to explore. Also has the giant PEPSI sign which was exciting. The staff, upon checking in, were average at best, not up to standard. I asked for a pen to have, as i unfortunately did not have one, and there was not the usual pad and pen in our hotel room. The woman at the desk said that they did not have ONE to give!! but that i could BORROW one! I was pretty surprised by that, and frankly have never experienced that, as most hotels have pens and use it for free advertisment. Anyway, she reluctantlly said i could BORROW the pen! I said i would be out for the day and she said "well you can give it back, when you return"!
She proceded to give me a 10 cent bic pen with no cover! It just left a very bad taste in my mouth. I mean, how cheap is that? The gentleman upon checkout however was a whole different story. He was friendly, accommodating and genuinely seemed to care about our experience. He was totally different, and we left with a more pleasant feeling, because of him!
Another negative, is that there is no parking available, and you have to park on the street.
It can be difficult late at night, and because the place is more desolate, it can be a little creepy. It is not unsafe however, just that no one is around. So, in conclusion. I would stay at the hotel for its proximity to Manhattan at probably slightly cheaper rates than Manhattan. It has nice rooms with unbelievable views of Manhattan! The negatives are no available parking, except on the street and many of the staff seem like they could really care less and are not able to make recommendations other than, go to Vernon Ave.

Room Tip: If you are staying on the weekend or holiday when they rooftop is having a DJ, you best stay on a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Very modern and comfortable. The room was surprisingly big. The only negative aspect of the room was that the sink for the bathroom isnt in the bathroom, it is in the room. But the shower is very spacious. the view to Manhattan from the room is magnificant. The complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel to Manhattan is very convenient and only takes around 10mins depending on traffic in Manhattan. However be sure to check with reception staff as to when the bus leaves as the card said it left at 7.30am in the morning but didn´t leave until 8 and we had to catch a tour at 8.30 so we had to catch a further taxi to ensure we would arrive on time. the bar down stairs offers a nice breakfast for $10 per person plus tax´s. If you are looking for a nice place to eat close to the hotel walk down to vernon street, there are a multitude of restaurants. I wish we found this street sooner rather than going back into Manhattan every night. This hotel is wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were only on the third floor and still had a magnificant view of manhattan so don´t be too concer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as we explored her college options in NYC. Our room was beautiful and clean, and we enjoyed the incredible view from both our room and the rooftop terrace. Being from the midwest, we had expected "busy, rude New Yorkers", but found instead that the staff was very attentive. The hotel manager even walked with us to guide us one evening from the shuttle bus to Times Square because she was also heading in the same direction. We had a wonderful chat about the local view of the colleges my daughter was considering. I very much appreciated her friendliness.

As two women traveling alone, we were a bit concerned for safety, but we felt safe at all times. The shuttle bus service was a wonderful amenity for evening, and we felt safe to walk to the subway during the day.

Finally, we only ate one breakfast in the hotel, and it was both delicious and a good value. The staff gave us complimentary "to go" cups of coffee on the other mornings when we were heading out for college visits.

We would definitely choose to stay at Z Hotel on future visits. Thank you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms share the same incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. We had read reviews criticizing the staff's attitude. This was not the case - the entire staff was very nice and attentive. Our room had the spectacular view of Manhattan as advertised - all the rooms do. And the same view from the 12th floor roof top bar was beautiful at night. Our room was modern and clean. The only suggestion I would make is that it would have been convenient to have a vending machine or snack area somewhere on the premises to purchase sodas/bottled water etc. The small fridge in the room was stocked with some items but they were pricey. The biggest bonus to the Z Hotel was the free shuttle service to Manhattan every hour and pick up in Manhattan on the half hour - this was a major plus for the hotel. We will definitely stay at the Z hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It’s really hard rating this hotel, because there are so many pros and cons. Let start with the cons:
-As mentioned before by other guests, the hotel is located in a neighborhood with few options. Closest subway station is a 10 minute walk away. Except for a decent Indian diner, the first good restaurant is a 15 minute walk away. There are enough small breakfast/lunch delis in a 5 minute radius of the hotel though.
-There is a shuttle bus, but when the hotel is full, the bus will be full. Expect annoyed guests in that case. The hotel does send for a second bus, but it will take time. Also, the bus only goes once per hour. All in all, the hotel feels remote and you don’t go back easily to Manhattan once you’ve returned from there earlier in the day.
- The rooms are small. That’s not unusual in NY, but when you hotel is located in an industrial neighborhood as Long Island City, you expect bigger rooms because there’s more room to build.
–The bathroom on the King room is small (really). The other rooms have a –in my opinion better- rainforest showerhead. The sink in every room is located in the room itself, which deprives you of privacy. There is no fridge, just a small mini bar with no space for storing your own goods.
-It really depends on the day of the week whether you’ll get good and helpful advice form the front desk. There are some really friendly young staff members but on some days we encountered some guys and girls who really didn’t care. Even asking for ways to rent a car were answered with a ‘don’t know’.
-Wi-fi is shaky at best. The further away from the front desk your room is, the worse the reception will be.
-The A/C in our room wasn’t working properly. It was a hot week and the noisy A/C couldn’t cope with that, also because the sun shines right into your room. Only after maintenance fixed the A/C the temperature in the room was bearable.
-There’s a rooftop bar. It has a great view of the city, but on weekends it’s open to the public, which makes it horrible. It attracts a wide range of questionable guests, but above all it’s LOUD. Expect bass beats until 3 AM on Friday and Saturday nights, which will deprive you of sleep. We were on the 6th floor (of 11) and could still hear it clearly.
- TV reception was poor and there weren’t too many decent channels. From a 4 star hotel you would expect more options.

The above mentioned doesn’t mean the hotel is bad in all. There are still enough advantages.
-The hotel itself is new and that shows. Except for the bathroom, rooms are adequately decorated and equipped: great bed, cleaning was thorough, the King room has a nice futon sofa.
-In the lower lever there’s a good restaurant with a average menu card, although the prices are kind of high considering the restaurants in the neighborhood offer equally good food for less money.
-It was my second visit to the hotel. Obviously some minor problems had been addressed since. For example the breakfast had been improved (which was necessary considering the $ 10,- price tag).
- The rooms all have great views of Manhattan. The King Room have beds facing the city, which makes the view even better. In other rooms the beds are placed sideways to the windows.
-what I mentioned about the front desk staff doesn’t apply to the management. Contact with them always led to reasonable answers.

All in all I think the hotel will be great in a couple of years, given the fact that the neighborhood will have improved and the hotel itself will (hopefully) have dealt with the above mentioned issues, so they won’t have to depend on Manhattan as much as they do now. The hotel is definitely a good option for travelers who don’t mind the distance to Manhattan. They will get a nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th or 5th floor. Great views and less problems with the noise of the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has been a real pleasure to stay in this hotel. The location is convenitly located juts across the bridge from Manhattan, and the price is much more reasonable than NY city center. Meytro stations are about 1km away, but the hotel has a nice shuttle service that bribgs you on the 5th.
View from all rooms is stunning! Rooms are claen and nice modernly decorated. The only issue is that if you do not include breakfast in your rate, then it will cost you about 20 dollars per person, and there are not cafès near by.
Overall, a very cie experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.