We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Very modern and comfortable. The room was surprisingly big. The only negative aspect of the room was that the sink for the bathroom isnt in the bathroom, it is in the room. But the shower is very spacious. the view to Manhattan from the room is magnificant. The complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel to Manhattan is very convenient and only takes around 10mins depending on traffic in Manhattan. However be sure to check with reception staff as to when the bus leaves as the card said it left at 7.30am in the morning but didn´t leave until 8 and we had to catch a tour at 8.30 so we had to catch a further taxi to ensure we would arrive on time. the bar down stairs offers a nice breakfast for $10 per person plus tax´s. If you are looking for a nice place to eat close to the hotel walk down to vernon street, there are a multitude of restaurants. I wish we found this street sooner rather than going back into Manhattan every night. This hotel is wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were only on the third floor and still had a magnificant view of manhattan so don´t be too concer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    245
    64
    20
    24
See reviews for
68
291
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as we explored her college options in NYC. Our room was beautiful and clean, and we enjoyed the incredible view from both our room and the rooftop terrace. Being from the midwest, we had expected "busy, rude New Yorkers", but found instead that the staff was very attentive. The hotel manager even walked with us to guide us one evening from the shuttle bus to Times Square because she was also heading in the same direction. We had a wonderful chat about the local view of the colleges my daughter was considering. I very much appreciated her friendliness.

As two women traveling alone, we were a bit concerned for safety, but we felt safe at all times. The shuttle bus service was a wonderful amenity for evening, and we felt safe to walk to the subway during the day.

Finally, we only ate one breakfast in the hotel, and it was both delicious and a good value. The staff gave us complimentary "to go" cups of coffee on the other mornings when we were heading out for college visits.

We would definitely choose to stay at Z Hotel on future visits. Thank you.

Room Tip: All of the rooms share the same incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. We had read reviews criticizing the staff's attitude. This was not the case - the entire staff was very nice and attentive. Our room had the spectacular view of Manhattan as advertised - all the rooms do. And the same view from the 12th floor roof top bar was beautiful at night. Our room was modern and clean. The only suggestion I would make is that it would have been convenient to have a vending machine or snack area somewhere on the premises to purchase sodas/bottled water etc. The small fridge in the room was stocked with some items but they were pricey. The biggest bonus to the Z Hotel was the free shuttle service to Manhattan every hour and pick up in Manhattan on the half hour - this was a major plus for the hotel. We will definitely stay at the Z hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It’s really hard rating this hotel, because there are so many pros and cons. Let start with the cons:
-As mentioned before by other guests, the hotel is located in a neighborhood with few options. Closest subway station is a 10 minute walk away. Except for a decent Indian diner, the first good restaurant is a 15 minute walk away. There are enough small breakfast/lunch delis in a 5 minute radius of the hotel though.
-There is a shuttle bus, but when the hotel is full, the bus will be full. Expect annoyed guests in that case. The hotel does send for a second bus, but it will take time. Also, the bus only goes once per hour. All in all, the hotel feels remote and you don’t go back easily to Manhattan once you’ve returned from there earlier in the day.
- The rooms are small. That’s not unusual in NY, but when you hotel is located in an industrial neighborhood as Long Island City, you expect bigger rooms because there’s more room to build.
–The bathroom on the King room is small (really). The other rooms have a –in my opinion better- rainforest showerhead. The sink in every room is located in the room itself, which deprives you of privacy. There is no fridge, just a small mini bar with no space for storing your own goods.
-It really depends on the day of the week whether you’ll get good and helpful advice form the front desk. There are some really friendly young staff members but on some days we encountered some guys and girls who really didn’t care. Even asking for ways to rent a car were answered with a ‘don’t know’.
-Wi-fi is shaky at best. The further away from the front desk your room is, the worse the reception will be.
-The A/C in our room wasn’t working properly. It was a hot week and the noisy A/C couldn’t cope with that, also because the sun shines right into your room. Only after maintenance fixed the A/C the temperature in the room was bearable.
-There’s a rooftop bar. It has a great view of the city, but on weekends it’s open to the public, which makes it horrible. It attracts a wide range of questionable guests, but above all it’s LOUD. Expect bass beats until 3 AM on Friday and Saturday nights, which will deprive you of sleep. We were on the 6th floor (of 11) and could still hear it clearly.
- TV reception was poor and there weren’t too many decent channels. From a 4 star hotel you would expect more options.

The above mentioned doesn’t mean the hotel is bad in all. There are still enough advantages.
-The hotel itself is new and that shows. Except for the bathroom, rooms are adequately decorated and equipped: great bed, cleaning was thorough, the King room has a nice futon sofa.
-In the lower lever there’s a good restaurant with a average menu card, although the prices are kind of high considering the restaurants in the neighborhood offer equally good food for less money.
-It was my second visit to the hotel. Obviously some minor problems had been addressed since. For example the breakfast had been improved (which was necessary considering the $ 10,- price tag).
- The rooms all have great views of Manhattan. The King Room have beds facing the city, which makes the view even better. In other rooms the beds are placed sideways to the windows.
-what I mentioned about the front desk staff doesn’t apply to the management. Contact with them always led to reasonable answers.

All in all I think the hotel will be great in a couple of years, given the fact that the neighborhood will have improved and the hotel itself will (hopefully) have dealt with the above mentioned issues, so they won’t have to depend on Manhattan as much as they do now. The hotel is definitely a good option for travelers who don’t mind the distance to Manhattan. They will get a nice hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th or 5th floor. Great views and less problems with the noise of the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has been a real pleasure to stay in this hotel. The location is convenitly located juts across the bridge from Manhattan, and the price is much more reasonable than NY city center. Meytro stations are about 1km away, but the hotel has a nice shuttle service that bribgs you on the 5th.
View from all rooms is stunning! Rooms are claen and nice modernly decorated. The only issue is that if you do not include breakfast in your rate, then it will cost you about 20 dollars per person, and there are not cafès near by.
Overall, a very cie experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the z hotel as it was a really good price for our trip to New York. We knew that it was a little out of the centre of New York but the free shuttle every half an hour made the distance not an issue at all. We were in a room on the 10th floor and oh wow the views were incredible !! The whole of New York skyline- fantastic. The room itself was really modern and clean and the bed was extremely comfy!
We didn't have breakfast included and the price of it and the other food was a little pricey but not too much of an issue as it was lovely!
The staff were very lovely and booked Knicks tickets for us.
All round a great trip!

Room Tip: One on the higher floors- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Z NYC Hotel in Long Island City 6/14-6/17 for vacation. We were attending a friend's wedding at the nearby Foundry so it was a convenient spot in that regard. We were quite pleased with the contemporary look of the hotel and the very helpful staff; the room was small but the space was well used. And honestly, we spent very little time in the room so it was just fine. The pros:

-Free shuttle service into Manhattan all day on the hour (return trip is on the half hour, free as well). The shuttle is a short 15-20 minute ride and it is quite convenient! There are also bikes available for use which is a nice ammenity.
-We had the hotel call their car service several times and it was affordable and very easy
-Nice big showers and clean bathrooms!
-Outstanding view of Manhattan!! We left the curtains open the entire time so that we could fall asleep and wake up to the view
-Amazing roof top that offered outstanding views and would be a nice place to enjoy some coffee, reading or a cocktail. Sadly, we never got to enjoy a drink up there since it was only open for the club in the evening and most nights we were and out and about.
-Very accommodating and friendly staff
-Affordable and yummy breakfast buffett ($10/pp). Restaurant food was good too!!
-Free wifi!

Things you should know:
-As other reviewers noted, the A/C was not on (or working) in our room. As I mentioned before we were rarely in our room and it cooled off a bit at night but the morning and daytime was pretty uncomfortable. We arrived back at the hotel pretty late every evening we were there and knew that nothing would be done about it at that point in the night so we just kept not asking. If you check in and there to be no AC, tell someone right away. It is pretty unbelievable that these things aren't in working condition when you pay this much for a hotel in the summer.
-The neighborhood is very industrial and while it is not necessarily a con, there aren't a ton of places nearby for food/drinks, etc. This wasn't a problem for us but I could see how it would be irritating if you weren't aware!
-The Club is open on the weekend evenings and draws a large crowd of non-hotel guests. Totally fine, just be prepared to hear the thumping of house music until 4am. My husband and I are 30 and we were told by the bartender that Friday night was "more for the younger crowd" which kind of hurt! Was true though, this is not a place that 30somethings go to hangout it looks like. We were on the 9th floor which was fantastic for the view, but not so fantastic as this hotel is 11 floors high so the noises from the club were extremely loud in our room. Also, because of the AC situation, we had to keep our window open. Just be aware!

All in all, this was a fantastic place for us to stay for our very first NYC adventure!! Hopefully we can return someday!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views! Just be aware of the noise from the rooftop club:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Director of Sales at Z New York Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to better ourselves and offer each of our guest top customer service. In regards to your A/C complaint, we do have engineering on property 24 hours a day for such situations. I understand you where in and out of the hotel -- but we are more than happy to make repairs during your absence. We are always available to assist you day or night, no matter what time you call. Our rooftop parties which we host every Fridays and Saturday nights during the summer months are welcome to all hotel and non-hotel guest. All are welcome to enjoy the beautiful view and specialty cocktails (must be 21 years of age of course). Should you not be interested in our rooftop parties, the Z Lounge is also open with a more relaxing atmosphere and serving dinner until 2am (fri/sat and midnight during the week).

The neighborhood known for its industrial feel does host an array of fabulous restaurants that are within a few minutes’ walk or quick cab ride should you want to venture outside the Z. Our front desk staff is always happy to make suggestions on whatever your taste buds prefer.

We hope to see you back at the Z NYC Hotel soon. Should you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,
Lisa Gneo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
Suites, Mid-ran...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#1 of 23 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 23 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Restaurant, Bar...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#6 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Budget, Free in...
Show More
1.1 mi away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#7 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Fitness center...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Quee...
#16 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.