We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“NY on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here as opposed to somewhere in Manhattan because it was a good standard without the Manhattan prices - leaving us more money to spend on the high life. Good rooms, outstanding views of NY Skyline. Not the best of breakfasts, but enough to get you going. Five minute walk to closest subway ( first stop in Queens ). There was a limo service, but I found this a bit hit and miss so preferred the SubWay

Room Tip: Go as high as you can get for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    257
    69
    23
    20
See reviews for
76
331
25
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thought this hotel was a bargain find for the view alone. It has a motel design to give every room a view of the city, which you cannot beat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The mini transport bus was a huge plus and so were the free bicycles. The rooms were clean and stacked to the max. The beds were comfortable and pillows plush. Have recommended it to friends and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We are traveling as group of 4 all in early thirties. Been to NYC before would highly recommend this hotel they make an extra effort on the things that really count. Service is excellent, rooms are compact but have all you need and an amazing bed. The view is breathtaking and I makes staying here well worth it. The free shuttle makes sight seeing and going out in the evening s breeze, great atmosphere, great service, great price really can't fault it. Ifoke us you want the best but don't want to pay the silly prices if the centre of town this is for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with nice atmosphere with their Owen urban transportation over to Manhattan. Roms are neat and the staff are serviceminded. Breakfast could be better bit hits all good. Would recommend it again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Z Hotel in Long Island City, NY and were extremely disappointed in the customer service and treatment here.
A few family friends stayed at the same hotel and we all noticed the heating/air conditioning was not working properly in any of our rooms. Heat was blasting even after turning the temp down to 64 degrees. The front desk said there was nothing they could do about it and did not opt to help correct the issue.
Management was extremely disappointing, rude and the customer service at this branch was horrendous.
My family and friends will never go back there and we will be sure to tell everyone we come into contact with never to waste their time or money here!
Horrible!

Room Tip: As long as you don't stay at the Long Island City branch, you might have a better chance of enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Director of Sales at Z New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Beth,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to improve our guest experience.

Unfortunately during the change in seasons it is quite difficult to regulate interior temperatures, however the a/c is available year round. As with other guest that experienced similar situations our in house engineering staff, which is available 24 hour a day for such issues, has always resolved these issues. It’s unfortunate that you didn’t reach out for assistance.

I apologize for any misinformation that may have been given by our staff and that you felt mistreated. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff accordingly.

The Z NYC Hotel management and staff strive to provide each and every guest a memorable stay. If I can be of further assist, you may contact me directly at your convenience.


Lisa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned to Denmark after a nice week in NY, which included a night at the Z hotel. This booking was meant as a break from the hectic downtown atmosphere, and it worked out just fine with very good and friendly service from all the staff. Burgers from the diner were very good and so was the breakfast, but dont expect too much of the menu. The hotel is very new with splendid decor, etc. The room was okay, but the heatingsystem was noisy. Overall a pleasant stay with good shuttleservice to Manhattan, which is good as the surroundings are a little 'dark after dark'. And last, but surely not least... the view from the room is absolutely fantastic! :-)

Mr. & Mrs. Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My stay at Z Hotel was fantastic. We arrived at 2am because of a late plane out of Denver due to a snow storm. The staff was so energetic and accomodating. We had been travelling for a while on holiday from Australia.

They met us at the curb with a smile and called us by name because they were expecting us.

The drive from LaGuardia was a quick 10 mins by taxi.

My husband has a back injury and the bed was very comfortable for him after a full day of walking around the city.

The view was incredible- it looks exactly like the photos on the website. In fact, the hotel looks like it does in the photos there are no rude surprises.

The shuttle was fantastic. Quick ride into the city, and reliable.

Wouldn't walk around the area at night, but that isn't a problem when the shuttle is provided, and a cab from midtown is so cheap.

Stayed in one night and drank in the bar talking to the staff. Had a great time. The atmosphere was fun, and the staff all young and friendly.

The size isn't that small when considering New York standards. We were travelling with a ton of luggage and were very comfortable. didn't have to climb over luggage or each other.

We enjoyed it so much we extended our 2 night stay by 2 more nights.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.