We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Columbia, Sc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is only two years old. The beds are extremely comfortable. The rooms are small as is all rooms in NYC but big enough. We stayed on the 9th floor and the view was great. Shuttle service was very convenient and always on time - and free. The internet signal was spotty and mostly could not get a good signal in the room. But service was free. I read other reviews about the food being bad. I thought the food was good. The drink specials were also good. Price for food was very reasonable. All in all a very good hotel on the up and up.

Room Tip: All rooms look at Manhattan. I'd suggest the higher the better but any floor above the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    293
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
90
377
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Z is a great place to stay if you're looking for a good experience in NYC. The rooms are really nice and the view is phenomenal; especially at night. I could have stared out the window all night. Parking is free is you get a spot out on the street. The hotel also provides a free bus to downtown which is great. The only bad experience with the hotel is the resteraunt downstairs. A simple hamburger is $10 and that doesn't include fries or a drink. It didn't taste very good either. Also because of the huge windows that provide the beautiful view, everything in your room gets very dusty quick. But overall a great hotel for your money. You probably wouldn't find a better view in New York.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fun place to stay at! 10mins from manhattan. Great, friendly staff especially Renita and Alex. Great rooftop view as well. My only complaint would be the lounge, menu was not extensive and the food sucks. Other than that its a nice lil get away from home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of Februray 15,2013. We had a room on the 3rd floor with an amazing view of the bridge! The room was vey clean and funky, the bed was comfortable, so were the pillows, and there was a window that could be opened which is nice for a room with out a balcony! The service was incredible, every person was ready and there to help with any request needed, Anna was great. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, great crepes!! We will definitely be back to stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: This hotel is so close to Manhattan, its about a 5 min drive. We were on the 3rd floor great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here back in October 2012. He wanted to splurge as we have never stayed in a fancy hotel before. At over $200 a night we thought this was about as fancy as we could go without breaking the bank. We were blown away by the decor, the room and the view, which were all amazing. However, we woke up in the middle of the night *freezing* and were told by staff that they were not allowed to turn the heat on but could give us extra blankets. Really?! I do understand it is state law but would it have been so much trouble to tell us when we booked the room so we could have come prepared or made other arrangements? I just feel that for such an upscale place (and upscale price!) with otherwise great service that this is a detail that certainly should not have been overlooked. I would recommend this hotel, but really only in the months when the heat can he turned on. The walls must be a little thin because it was 52 degrees in our room. Not exactly the comfortable stay we had envisioned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clocoboogie
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The area surrounding the hotel is very seedy. No foot traffic, no restaurants within walking distance, very industrial.
Valet parking is almost 4 blocks away or you need to park on the street.

The lobby and check-in process was smooth. Upon walking off the elevator to my room, I felt a weird breeze because the one "wall" across from the rooms is a weird plastic "window" with a hole in it. Talk about cheap.. Not sure which idiot thought this up. But horrible idea

My room was small and clean. AC/heater didn't work very well. No premium movies just a few basic cable stations on the tele. And the shower was jus plain weird. There is NO shower curtain, not even a door for some privacy, jus a piece of flimsy glass that barely separates the toilet from the shower. So the shower water splashes all over the bathroom.

Also, you get charged for early checkout. I stay at a LOT of hotels and have never heard of this "rule". They charge $50, so lame.

Decided to try the restaurant downstairs, food took forever to prepare even though we were the only ones eating. Came out almost 20 mins later and tasted like it came from the school cafeteria.

This is a weird place, wouldn't recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Z Hotel when I brought my daughter to NYC to drop her off for an early morning flight at JFK. The hotel was a wonderful surprise! The rooms were small, but very nice and modern. The hotel was very hip and inviting. And the view was spectacular!!!! The view of the Manhattan skyline, with the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building right there, was unbelievable!! We arrived as snow started falling, and it was so beautiful looking across the river at the skyline! I would like to go back and stay, just for the view! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful in every regard. The price was great, considering you are so close to Manhattan. And also, the fact that you can park on the street for free is a big bonus, considering the hefty parking fees downtown hotels charge. The area surrounding the hotel is a little sketchy, but all in all, we thought the hotel was a great find!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.