We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few kinks to sort out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Z New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Z New York Hotel to your Saves list
Z New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A few kinks to sort out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in November. We opted to stay in Queens to avoid the high-prices of the peek tourist season.

I have no complaints about the value of this hotel. It's clean, trendy, and the staff exude an urban vibe. It is a great location if you're not staying in Manhattan: the hotel was no more than a 6-minute walk to three different subway stations and no more than 2 stations from Manhattan.

The neighbourhood is an industrial area and at first glance appears somewhat dangerous-looking at night. Thankfully, we had no issues returning to the hotel from the subway stations on foot at any time of the day (afternoon, evening, or the very early hours of the morning).

The hotel staff were young, seemed inexperienced and lacked the usual finesse and polish. But they certainly tried very hard to make our stay a pleasant one.

The room was surprisingly large, and the bathroom was spacious. However, there was very little storage space, and you would be hard-pressed to fit more than a toothbrush on the bathroom vanity with all of the drinking glasses, towels, soaps, and honour bar candy and drinks that are replaced every morning by room service.

There are only rooms on the Manhattan-facing side of the hotel. The other side is open sort of like a motel. I would imagine the hallway to your room would be very cold in the winter months. We felt a draft each night through the door, but they have installed radiant heating in the floor.

The view from our room's floor to ceiling windows was excellent. We had a perfect view of the skyline and the Queensboro bridge from our 4th floor room.

The complimentary breakfast--while inconsistent--was appreciated. There's very little in terms of restaurants in the immediate area, so stopping at the restaurant for a continental breakfast each morning was great. We stayed for 4 nights, and the breakfast options seemed to dwindle more and more each morning. By the last morning, they had run out of yoghurt, honey and bagels.

The free shuttle to Bloomingdales was great and operated every hour on time--very reliable.

All in all, it was a great value, but I would suggest a hotel in midtown Manhattan if this is your first trip to the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    292
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
90
377
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Newly opened hotel offers amazing view of entire Manhattan from each of its room, features roof top bar and its located in close proximity of Queensbridge.

Rooms are furnished in a very modern design, with flat TV and wireless network free of chargé. The hotel also offers breakfast in its dining area downstairs which is included in room rate. Above all that, you will also find yourself pleased with free shuttle service in the cadillac to and from Manhattan and local and international calls free of chargé.

The closest subway station is located around 8 mins walk,

I would definitely recommend this hotel to all the travellers who appreciate high quality service and would like to enjoy the amazing view.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Pros: Price is much less expensive than other hotels. Free continental breakfast and limo shuttle to manhattan. Only 2nd stop on subway from Manhattan on F line. 4 block walk to subway station. Trendy boutique feel with great views of Manhattan, and a nice rooftop bar if it open. Staff was friendly.

Cons: Rooms are small. Area is safe but not that well traveled, so I would not recommend taking kids there. Hot water could have been hotter

Overall a great value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We chose this hotel for the same reason as most others seem to have chosen it: it is considerably less expensive than many hotels in Manhattan and from the website it looks very chic and trendy. Overall, whilst it was quite good, there are some serious teething problems and for this reason I would not return.

Rooms: I emailed the hotel a month before arrival to ask for a room as high up as possible. We were put on the third floor(!), despite being promised that everything possible would be done to accommodate the request. Whilst every room does have a pretty spectacular view, it gets much better towards the top few floors (there are 11 or so). The room was of a reasonable size for New York and was in very good condition. The bathroom is small and the glass door is essentially see through. The only mirror and sink are in the bedroom, not the bathroom. The beds are very comfortable. The heating did not work for either of the 2 days of our stay and although the room was not cold it could definitely have been a few degrees warmer.

Food: Breakfast is fine - largely fairly cheap looking pastries and toast. It could definitely do with some form of protein; filling up on sugar doesn't keep you going long! There were rumours of a restaurant but I saw no sign of this.

Staff/Service: The staff are polite and helpful but seem quite young and inexperienced. I witnessed a couple of complaints which were not dealt with well. On my last night (NB: a Friday), my girlfriend and I returned from the city at around 10.30pm to try one of the hotel cocktails in either the lounge bar or roof bar. The lounge bar was closed to guests as it had been rented out for a private party. The roof bar was not open at all. It had not been open the previous night either. When I asked about the roof bar, all I got was a shrug of the shoulders. The hotel promotes this as a big selling point and the view is outstanding. What is the point if it isn't even open?! As a result of there being no bar for guests to use on a Friday night (and given that it was a special occasion), I used a single $11 mini champagne from our room mini bar. The next morning, it took almost 15 minutes to get the receptionist to agree to waive the $11 charge. To advertise a hotel with 2 chic and exciting bars when there is in fact no way for guests to use them is unacceptable.

Location: industrial and not appealing but the view is excellent and the hotel is a short walk from 3 subway stations which can have you in Manhattan in 10 minutes. There are also good free hourly shuttle transfers to and from the city. The neighbourhood wasn't intimidating but women travelling alone at night might think differently.

Overall: This hotel has a lot of potential but seems to have opened before it was ready. There are far too many teething problems and although I did enjoy my stay I wouldn't stay there again unless things improve. My advice would be to spend a little bit more and stay somewhere more established, at least until the problems are ironed out.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room on floor 7 or above. Make sure that the heating is working and that everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Cool place, excellent view, friendly staff. Bar is expensive but not a boggy. Would/ will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We're an older, (late 40's - 50's), Australian / New Zealand couple and are seasoned travellers - and have just had 18 brilliant nights at Z Hotel. Absolutely fantastic - what a bargain in New York. The views from our 9th floor room overlooking Manhattan skyline were spectacular - waking up every morning to this and seeing the lights at night is wonderful - for us, this is a huge part of the New York experience.

The front desk staff, yes, they are young but were always friendly, helpful and keen to assist; and the vibe is cool - it's not a stuffy place;

The rooms were spotless, (stay calm - shampoo, conditioner, soap, shower gel, shower cap etc.. are provided);
The Z-car was cool and always on time, (if it was full extra cars were called - you never missed out on a trip across the river in either direction). We also used the subway extensively.

The breakfast staff worked non-stop to keep things topped up. Coffee / tea / hot chocolate / orange juice / ice water; so many sweet bakery items you couldn't count and then bagels with philly cheese / jam. Also fruit - grapefruit / apples / oranges / bananas / grapes / strawberries....marvellous...oh and did we mention the yogurt?

It's a great location - there are many nearby eateries for dinner if you bother to walk a 5-10 minutes; 350m to Jassi's, (Deli with Indian in addition to the normal North American fare on 21st St, http://jassisdeli.com/), East River Cafe, (American Diner, 450m straight down on 11th St) to name the two closest, but there are many more....NB: (we didn't use 5 Star Banquet which is even closer).

As mentioned we used the subway extensively - there are two options from the Hotel. 600m to the E/M/G or 7 lines which is really convenient and safe at night....OR about 800m to the Q/N/7 lines which we only used to get here from La Guardia.

We stayed in Queens because we wanted to get a better price than Manhattan but also because we wanted to experience more than "just tourist Manhattan" and really enjoyed walking and going out in this area. As other reviewers have said, yes, the Hotel is in an industrial area, but less than 900m down the road you are on Jackson St / Vernon Blvd and right in amongst some cool Queens restaurants / bars / comedy clubs.

All depends on what you want to experience.


PS: the restaurant was being assembled whilst we were here - close to opening we believe....this will only enhance this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Overall Impression: Was this the best hotel that we have ever stayed in? No. Would we stay here again? Most likely yes! Would we recommend this hotel to friends - sure, as long as it is not their first time visiting NYC. Please keep reading if you would like more details about our Z Hotel NYC stay.

The Hotel: This is not our typical choice for hotels (we typically choose very traditional hotels located in the 'Old Town' section of a city). Having said that, we enjoyed our stay at the 'Z Hotel NYC'. We were spending a night in NYC between flights (we landed at LGA one night and left through JFK to Moscow the next day). The Z Hotel NYC was perfect for our one night stay. The hotel resembled a funky version of a high rise Motel - cool and modern rooms that you entered from a breezeway. The difference between this hotel and other hotels that we have stayed in while visiting NYC is the outdoor space - especially the view! From the roof top, open aired bar to the outdoor spaces on each individual floor - the experience was trendy and unique (very interesting!). If you have traveled to, and stayed in, Manhattan frequently - you may find the 'Z Hotel NYC' a nice change. If the room rates were identical, though, we still prefer staying at the Andaz Wall Street (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60763-d1485961-r115062955-Andaz_Wall_Street-New_York_City_New_York.html).

The Room: We reserved a 'King Deluxe' room and upon arrival we were assigned room 1101 (as far as we can tell, all the rooms in the hotel face Manhattan). This particular room was located on the top floor of the Hotel (just below the rooftop bar). Prior to heading up to this room (based upon other TripAdvisor reviews) we inquired about the potential noise from the bar above (the DJ apparently loves the deep base tracks). The good news (from a sleep perspective) was that the rooftop bar was closed for the evening. The bad news (from a fun perspective) was that we had to go to the local market to pick up food/beer/wine to consume on the rooftop bar area. The room itself was fine - plenty of space (based on NYC standards). The view from the room (which was similar to the view from the rooftop bar) was amazing - total Manhattan skyline from 60th street to 40th street, and more! The king bed in the room was comfortable, but we had issues with the sink and shower water pressure. The pressure would fluctuate from very strong to a dribble - making our showers very interesting (and time consuming)!

Amenities: The hotel is new (opened in July 2011 as far as we can tell) so it is still working through its paces. We are not sure if they have a gym or a pool (there was no indication of a pool) but we are sure that they do have a bar(s)! The kitchen is not yet open, but is scheduled to open in October. The hotel does offer breakfast, although it is a continental spread (juices, breads, yogurts, etc). As other TripAdvisor members have mentioned - the hotel offers free transportation across the bridge into Manhattan in their stretch limo (although we were not around long enough to take advantage of this wonderful service). The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi (very nice amenity).

The Staff: One word - fantastic. Everyone on staff that we talked to seemed to be genuinely happy and sincere. No pretentiousness - just a sincere desire to help! They all must love working for the hotel.

Arriving: We arrived in NYC at LaGuardia's Marine Air Terminal (on the Delta Shuttle from Washington, DC). As far as we could tell, the only reasonable transfer choice from the airport to the hotel was by taxi. Unfortunately, our taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was located. Between his local knowledge (or lack thereof), the knowledge of his central station (he phoned dispatch for directions), his in car GPS, our printed directions, and our mobile phone GPS - we were able to collectively find the hotel. The trip from the airport was not the most direct route, but in the end we made it - $20.00 (including tip) and 20 minutes later.

Departing: We were departing NYC from JFK. Normally we would use public transportation (which appears to be straightforward from the Z Hotel NYC). This time we were lazy - we decided to use the car service recommended by the hotel. In this case, it proved to be a good choice to be lazy. The car service was reasonable (flat rate from the hotel to the airport), the driver was great, the car arrived at the hotel one minute (literally) after the hotel called for a car, and we were at JFK 20 minutes later. The cost for the car service was a bit more than the cost for the train ($40.00 flat rate) - but it was not unreasonable!

Tips/Surrounding Area: Our stay at the hotel was brief (less than 24 hours) but we were able to quickly get a feel for the surrounding area. The hotel is located in an up and coming area (loosely defined) and has convenient transportation options to other places (such as Manhattan). There are not a lot (any) restaurants/bars around the hotel - but a sort walk (10 minutes) will put you in an area that has some nice places. We would definitely recommend heading over towards 45th and Vernon Boulevard. There are some nice little restaurants and bars in that area. We would recommend going to Testaccio Ristorante (47-30 Vernon Boulevard). The food and drinks were great and the prices are reasonable.

Enjoy your stay in Long Island City!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Z New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z New York Hotel

Address: 11-01 43rd Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Z New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Z New York Hotel Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.