We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Nice breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, Nice breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed 4 nights, room is oke, a bit small for 3 people. Breakfast is good, plenty of choice if you are On time! And it is free!
Tables are not high enough for eating, so you don't stay too long for breakfast. Subway is two Blocks away.

Room Tip: We had room at the back. Better view they said, but there are only houses and no sky line! Rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    315
    82
    17
    19
See reviews for
188
210
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night before we continued towards Florida. We arrived very early in the morning around 9 am and got to store our luggage at the hotel so we could spend the day on Coney Island. The subway all the way to Coney Island (and Manhattan for that matter) departs from a station about two minutes from the hotel. To store our luggage for several hours was not at all a problem.
Later in the evening we returned and then checked in. The room was beautiful and really modern. Beds were soft. The balcony gave us a side view of Manhattan.
We preordered a taxi for JFK at the front desk before we left. The next morning they called ten minutes in advance and said the taxi was already here to make sure they weren't late. The service at the hotel was a blessing all the way.
The only negative thing for us was the very, very loud A/C. It was installed right by one of the beds and the noise was awful. It was really loud and unfortunately made sure I didn't sleep to much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Two blocks to the subway, a couple of local restaurants within two blocks and several more within 6 blocks. Rooms are on small side, for a family of 4, but very clean & well decorated. We were on 9th floor with a balcony & a wonderful skyline view. Continental breakfast is lacking, but its free, so cant complain. The employees at this hotel make it great. Very pleasant and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to stay a night in NY in last minute, so we looked up a hotel. After a hard walking day, to find the hotel is like a blessing, in addition the place is nice, clean, and affordable.

In the hotel you can get breakfast, and it is fine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room and bath was very clean, attractive and reasonably well appointed, although a refrigerator and reading lamps that could be turned off without leaving the bed would be an improvement. The bed was comfortable and some of the rooms have great views of the skyline. I heard that some guests thought that the rooms were small, but by New York City standards they were spacious. Breakfast was OK-no hot entre choices, but the coffee was very good. The neighborhood is coming around but still a bit sketchy, although there are a few really good places to eat and drink within easy walking distance. The best thing about the hotel was the people. Everyone, from the front desk to the people who kept the breakfast buffet supplied to the housekeeping staff was friendly and very accommodating. Chris was especially helpful.

Being close to the subway makes getting into the City, Queens and Brooklyn easy and only minutes away. For the money this is a very good deal.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is a great bargain compared to staying in Manhattan. It is an easy ride on the subway (two stops) to get into Manhattan. The rooms are well appointed. They were very accommodating -- we had reserved a deluxe room that could sleep four, but when this turned out to not be available on arrival, they gave us two full rooms for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It was last minute and being from Virginia we wanted to find a place that was in a good neighborhood but close to the subway. The hotel had just that along with a parking garage around the street that we were able to park our vehicle for only $10 while we toured the City. Small room but meant for just 2 people, lol. The shower head was on point.

Room Tip: Th balcony gave us a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.