We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
El Cerrito, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Week stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is very clean throughout, the room is very spacious. It is excellent situated one block away from the subway station 39th ave, which is 2 stations away from Manhattan. The staff is friendly, except for 2 occasions that I found troubling. During breakfast hours, which is 7am to 9:45am, for the other hotels I’ve been to, at the end of the breakfast time, they will close the door and not let anyone else in. But for those who are inside, they will continue to enjoy it until they decide to leave. However, at this hotel, at 9:45am they start taking away everything, even though I was in the middle of it. I found this quite rude. On another occasion, was with booking. I booked through Booking.com, don’t go there, I was able to book one room for one price. When I called back trying to book another room, they did not honor the price, but instead charged me $100 more than the other room. I called the hotel’s front desk, they said there was nothing they could do since I did not book with them. I called Booking.com and they said that the hotel could adjust the price, since it was their hotel and they control the price. I felt like a ping pong ball bouncing back and forth. At the end, I had to pay the extra $100 for the room. Minor detail though. I would definitely go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay there, you won't regret it. Great hotel, once you find it. It's a kind of hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    298
    73
    15
    16
See reviews for
179
195
40
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is really great!!! The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful. The room was well-equiped by a nice TV and controls for the lights. It was really comfortable and clean. The price was fair enough.

Room Tip: It's located close to brazilian restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Hotel Vetiver is a quirky, friendly, clean, and conveniently located new construction in the constantly developing Long Island City neighborhood. The quiet building and rooms feel shoddy in construction and lack a sense of practical design and comfort. Strange elements like tiny coat hooks with plastic hangers on them, weird furniture placement, plywood bed bases, challenging vertical blinds, temperamental electric heaters, and minimal bedding mix with beautifully tiled bathrooms and wooden floors to create a confusing guest experience. It is all fine and utilitarian if the rate is right but only the welcoming, earnest staff, the Beekman COPA Soaps, and the outdoor balcony spaces make any outstanding impression.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night and I was glad I choose this hotel. The rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and service was great! There is NO SMOKING in the hotel, but they have Balcony's, if you need a cigarette that bad, just close the door because they check the room and charge $200 fee for smoking in the room. They didn't have parking but parking on the street was not hard to find. Only problem I had was my Wii not being able to connect to the WiFi - other than that, I would recommend to out. I will def. stay here again once it gets hot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Loved that the hotel was right around the train, literally 2 blocks. 5 min ride and I'm in the city.

Rooms were small but cozy, breakfast was blah but it's free so whatever. Staff was completely helpful with all my needs, cause of them I'll deff be coming back in the future :) the night bell man Steven was so sweet and kind and helped me with my bags and everything. Only negative is really really hard to find parking. And the outlets in the room were in all weird places. Over stay was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My stay was excellent for the kindness, support and service capacity they have in this place. I thank each and everyone for everything. Rosalia, Chris, Esleiny, julia, wady and other God bless you today and always.

DIANA GARCES

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I just returned yesterday from the hotel from staying the weekend, the staff were wonderful and so polite and always had a smile on their face! The rooms were affordable and amazing and comes with a balcony! Couldn't ask for anything better! Great weekend, would be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.