We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed a bit more than a week and it was a great experience!
You will be in Downtown Manhattan in 20minutes by subway, no changing trains.
We staff at the reception had a little attitude but did most of the things we asked for. I asked her for a specific ATM in the area, she couldn't tell me but didn't seem to care anyways since she wouldn't look it up for me.
Breakfast was great, fruits and awesome bagels! Make sure you get there early enough to get enough food.
The room was just amazing, bathroom as well!!
The rate also, we would definitely recommend and come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We want to Thank You for choosing Hotel Vetiver and Appreciate your Feedback! Your Feedback is very important to us so we can continue to improve our standards. My apologies that we fell a bit short from our excellent service. We will use this review as a training tool to improve on customer service.
Our Hotel is the preferred choice for travelers due to our Great Location! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all that we offer at our Hotel.
Thank you for recommending Hotel Vetiver and book with us directly for your next visit.

Rosalia Grippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    233
    55
    14
    14
See reviews for
138
154
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days, and were so pleased with 1) hotel itself 2) price in consideration of the location/distance to the city (only 2 stops away) and 3) proximity to subway station (stone's throw away). Aside from this, they upgraded me to a better room simply by asking (thought I'd booked that room based on photos, and they gave me no issues changing it). They also provided movies free of charge, and gave a variety to choose from. I really felt like I was at home, away from home. I would absolutely stay here again, probably every time I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We want to personally thank you for staying at Hotel Vetiver for your recent getaway. We enjoy upgrading our guests whenever possibly, to show our appreciation and loyalty for choosing Hotel Vetiver as their Preferred Choice Hotel.
Our Condo Room features a DVD Player and we have a great collection of movies.
Hotel Vetiver will always be your home away from home, we take great pride from welcoming all of our guests to the Vetiver Family. No greater feeling than Family!
Contact us directly for all your future reservations, we will be honored to assist you.

Rosalia Grippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Only a few moments walk to the subway and 15 minutes to Times Square. Lovely rooms and great staff that could not do enough for you. We would recommend this hotel if you want something away from the hustle of New York. The complimentary breakfast set you up for the day and was a nice touch by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank You!! I will be sure to pass along your Great Comments to our staff. The Hotel Vetiver offers Wonderful Rooms with Views of the Manhattan Skyline, The Most Friendly Service, Great Location just 10 minutes away from Midtown Manhattan - Time Square!! We are the #1 Choice for travelers. Thank You for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just come back from NYC trip and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Absolutely no complaints, lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, fantastic value for money, superbly convenient location. I will not even think of staying in Manhattan in the future - definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank You for your Recommendation of our Hotel!! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Please let us know when you plan to return to NYC as we would be happy to have you stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was a suprise for my new boyfriend and he loved it. We had a romantic night in our room and slepted so well.

We did not get breakfast because we just wanted to enjoy the room.

I brought a bottle and was happy to have a frig in the room.

This is the perfect place to get away from the children for one night. Or to try to make a baby....lol. I wish we could have stayed another night...but we will do it again.

Room Tip: If you want to go to a off-broadway show. Go to the Secret Thearte in LIC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank You for staying with us!! Our hotel does offer that special getaway for the daily grind of life many of our guests have commented on the Great Experiences that had at our hotel. Thank you once again for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were a party of 5 and all of us enjoyed our stay at hotel Vetiver. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
Excellent location, close to the subway that takes you in no time to all interesting places in Manhattan up to the ferries to Liberty Island and Staten Island (Ellis Island was closed). The breakfast room is a bit small but there is a good choice of healthy foods. The bedroom and bathroom were large and very clean. Very comfortable beds. The rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice balcony and offer an excellent view over the Manhattan. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an excellent view over Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! I have passed along your Great Comments of our Staff and Thank You for choosing the Hotel Vetiver. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Vetiver. We had a room with a king bed and balcony. There was a great amount of space in the room (which is rare for NYC.) The location was perfect. We couldn't afford to stay in Times Square, so the price we paid for Hotel Vetiver was perfect. We were only a 15 minute subway ride from Times Square and many other popular areas. We felt safe with only having to walk one block to the subway. The staff greeted us every time we left and got back to the hotel. They called for a car for us twice when we asked, which we appreciated. They also were willing to take pictures of us when we were dressed up to go out to dinner. We were a little late checking out and they didn't mind at all, which was great (because it wasn't our fault that we checked out late-the subway was delayed.) The rooms were clean, with comfortable beds, a nice TV, and we appreciated the unique glass door showers, beautiful rug, and nice furniture. The free breakfast was nice as well! My only complaint would be that it would be nice if there was an additional elevator, as you will wait several minutes in the morning for the elevator, but that is really just me being picky. Great place to stay and we will definitely stay here if we ever visit NYC again!

Room Tip: We definitely recommend a room with a balcony! It is nice to get a cool breeze in the evening and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are Truly Happy to read the Wonderful Comments!! We work very hard to ensure that every aspect of a Guest Stay is taken care off. I'm glad you enjoyed our Spacious Room with a Balcony that over look the New York City Skyline!! Please let us know when you plan to return as we would be happy to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.