We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and not well equipped room in NYC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Noisy and not well equipped room in NYC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am still staying in the Hotel Vetiver hotel right now,,, just finished our first night here. Having just stayed at the Wyndham Garden hotel in LIC too, it was cheaper and the hotel on the whole was cleaner and modern and more well equipped.

This hotel Vetiver has no chair to put your clothes on,,, one single wardrobe was dirty inside, so cannot use. There is no single table to use for anything, so our belongings were on the floor, behind tv, the chester drawers.

Of course, as it's only 1 min away from subway, I learn my lesson now, not to allow this to happen, its very very noisy.... you hear trains,,, cars from below,, and the construction around the hotel, so lucky we were very tired, we fell asleep eventually.

The bed frame was so so cheap,, only made from cut out chipboard,,, as it was showing after the mattress got shifted a bit... bad hey. Plus, last night, I called to reception to inform them, there is some kind of urine smell coming from the rug in the room or under the bed. sorry too much bad points.

Room Tip: Not sure how....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank You for your response and I'm sorry to hear about your concerns. The hotel is located 2 blocks away from the NYC Subway Station and we do not get any noise coming from the station but I will be looking into this further. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    254
    56
    14
    14
See reviews for
152
162
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed one night as we came into New York via JFK and we were leaving the following morning from La Guardia. The hotel was fine but only one plug. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It is close to La Guardia but quite a distance from JFK. Probably would stay again if needed but it would not be our first choice.
traveler

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. We understand and appreciate the fact that you were travelling to JFK Airport we do provide options to get to and from JFK with ease and yes we are very close to LaGuardia Airport. If you are ever in the area please contact me so we can arrange for a Wonderful Stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

New hotel and though it wasn't perfect they did their best to meet my accommodations. Anything I needed, I was helped right away. The free breakfast was cool and I got to Manhattan in 15 minutes which was by far the best part!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for that Wonderful Response!! We strive to make sure that every guest need is met and that you experience a Great Stay at our hotel!! If you are ever in the area please call us as we will be happy to have you back. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The area is a bit sketchy, but the hotel is great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was decent enough.
The staff there were really great- always extremely polite and willing to help accommodate us as best as they could.
The hotel is close to the subway, took about 10-15 mins to get to Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay here in New York City!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Our hotel is conveniently located 10-15 minutes away from Midtown Manhattan and 2 Blocks from the NYC Subway Station which makes our hotel the #1 Choice for travelers. Thank you for your Wonderful Comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

First the negatives. The outlets in our room (#304) were in strange locations. The coffee pot had to sit on the floor. The printed sheet in foyer giving directions to popular destinations has a mistake. Going to JFK using the subway visitors should know the E train cannot be boarded from the Queens Plaza station on weekend days. There is an alternative route.
We liked the decor. The shower was quiet enough that I could take one while my wife spelt.
Bed comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast on par with other hotels we have stayed at. I did like the 1/2 & 1/2 available for my morning coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive in making sure our Guests have the Best Experience at our hotel and your feedback will help us achieve our goals. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just stayed at the Vetiver for the opening of the US Open Tennis tournament. Close to subway. Nice staff. Very accommodating. Breakfast each day and a small gym for guest use. The only thing the write ups kind of exaggerate on is the "skyline view of New York City". ;-)

Room Tip: Request upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our hotel does have guest rooms that provide Wonderful Views of the New York City Skyline. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you return back for next year's US Open. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vetiver!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When I went there, I only had problems with the wi-fi: it never worked. In the end, I had to change the room. But the place is nice, close to the metro and, compared to other NY options, not expensive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, General Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate your comments and apologize for the issue that you encountered rest assure that we strive to make every guest stay a wonderful one. Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.