We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable alternative to staying in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good affordable alternative to staying in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

With prices of Manhattan hotels as high as her skyscrapers, Vetiver in Long Island City was a good, affordable, alternative to staying in Manhattan. The 39Av subway was just 70m walk away from the hotel and 2 stops from 59St/Lexington Ave in Manhattan. While the surrounding location looked industrial, we felt safe walking to/from the subway even late at night. There were a few eateries around the area as well as a restaurant/cafe in the hotel itself but we never tried them since we spent all day in Manhattan.

Having driven in from Cape Cod, we found limited paid parking in the street in front of the hotel (15min for a quarter), which was useful for unloading our luggage and parking temporarily until we returned our rental car later in Manhattan.

Our family of 4 shared a room on the 8th floor (the hotel had 9 floors) with a balcony that provided a good view of Manhattan city skyline. The room and bathroom was sufficiently large that we never felt claustrophobic, like some Manhattan box hotels. Room was clean, beds were comfortable and equipped with TV, in-room safe, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer but no fridge.

Breakfast was adequate - don't expect a Comfort Inn/Country Inn/Hampton Inn/La Quinta hot breakfast. While reasonable in size, the breakfast area got filled quickly (the hotel was full during our stay). The only hotel lift was slow, so just getting down from a high floor to the breakfast room in the lower ground floor meant a long wait during busy mornings.

Service was a mixed bag, with some helpful staff and some not so customer-oriented. NYC was our last stop in our 4-week road trip of the northeastern US, and we had encountered good friendly service from most of the 10 hotels/motels we had stayed at prior to Vetiver, so by comparison this was average at best. Perhaps it's just NYC, as our interactions with others here, be they subway staff, cab drivers or other service personnel just didn't live up to what we had experienced elsewhere on our trip.

Another nice thing was that on our day of departure, the hotel arranged a private transfer for us to JFK airport which cost USD45 (cheaper than a cab). The pick up arrived punctually in a spacious car and brought us to JFK within half hour (this was a Sat morning - on weekdays, heavy traffic can mean 1-2 hours getting to the airport, so plan accordingly).

Slow lift and mixed service aside, if you're visiting NYC, we would still highly recommend staying at Vetiver for it's convenient location and affordability.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    335
    94
    20
    20
See reviews for
211
222
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

HANDS DOWN BEST HOTEL 5 MINUTES FROM MANHATTAN!!!!

PEOPLE, FOOD, SETTING AND OUTDOOR SPACE IS WONDERFUL!!!!!!

The front desk staff were very knowledgable and helped find exciting things for us to do in the big city!

The room had a view of the manhattan skyline
gorgeous furniture and VERY CLEAN

LOVED THE HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I returned to the hotel with my family.. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The breakfast was awesome not to mention the gorgeous dinning area. We slept extremely well due to the wonderful mattress
The bathrooms are HUGE! the hotel feels very luxurious!!! Great price!! Great staff!!!!
We loved that we were only a few minutes away from manhattan

Decor is FANTASTIC!!!

My family and I will be returning next year!!!
Can't say enough awesome things about this hotel!

Room Tip: amazing terrace view of manhattan !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantova
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice hotel for travelers with limited budget.
Good location, 50m walfk from subway (39th), 20 min from Times Square.
Pay attention during weekend nights, could be that subway doesn't stop at 39th and it's needed a 5 min walk.
Great support from the receptionist.
Breakfast OK, in line with the structure.
Room is quite large and clean, with a huge shower.
Be sure to bring an eye-cover and ear-plugs if you need dark and quiet to sleep.
I would come back again for sure, unless I win at lottery. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 9 nights. We were a group of 15 on a trip to NYC and this was a great location to have as a base. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious (by NY standards) and you can´t beet the ease of connection to either the City or JFK. The neighborhood felt very safe and it was great to have a deli / corner store just down the block on one end and a nice little Greek diner down the block on the other. BReakfast at the Hotel Vetiver was basic (cereal, juice, bagels, fruit etc.) but it was all fresh and of a high quality. I would definitely recommend Hotel Vetiver for a stay in NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I were in New York celebrating our Honeymoon and we stayed at Hotel Vetiver for 10 nights. We were made to feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The porters were swiftly on hand to take our luggage to our very large and spacious condo bed room. The shower and wash facilities were excellent. I could have stayed in the shower for hours! The room also contained a small fridge, storage unit for plates and a gas cooker if required. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were divine! The continental breakfast was a great range of bagels, cereal, yoghurts and fruit really that sets you up for the day.
The location is perfect as its only 10-15 mins to Manhattan by the metro. The balcony view in front of us was not great due to building works going on opposite but the Manhattan skyline to the right was fabulous.
The Manager Britney and the rest of her staff helped us a great deal and there was always a local on hand to provide us with the best places to eat, shop and sight see. The area had an abundance of deli's and takeaways so we never went hungry. When difficulties did arise for example when the safe in the bedroom did not work and the glass door in the shower came out of the slots, these were dealt with with great efficiency and speed. Overall, this hotel is excellent and will definitely stay here again if we come back to New York. I would recommend it to anyone.


Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Matt, thank you for an excellent review!

I am just delighted that you were made to feel at home from the very moment you arrived! We truly believe the the level of service we offer our guests is second to none. I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious Condo room. We typically advertise our Condo room to extended stay guests, as it has a kitchenette, with a refrigerator and large walk-in closet which is perfect for any travelers who plan on staying in the city for longer than a few days. This room boasts the comfort and space to accommodate all the clothes and luggage that can be acquired during a long stay.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well. We have some exciting upgrades that we will be incorporating to our breakfast area including an added variety of yogurts as well as an expanded outdoor patio area to enjoy your breakfast in. If you enjoyed the breakfast before, you would surely love our updated continental breakfast.

It is so rewarding for our staff to have examples of when we have impressed a guest. We truly appreciate your kind words and I will pass what you have said onto them! Thank you again, you and your wife were just wonderful. You kept us on our toes with your great questions about the area. We would be lucky to have you here again in the future!

Kind Regards and Congratulations Again!

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked 2 superior rooms for 6 nights. The rooms were very spacious, well furnished, very clean and were even equipped with a cooker and fridge. The beds were very comfortable and large enough for 3 adults. What was missing was a reading light at the desk. The split unit air conditioner was a little noisy whenever the compressor kicked in.

Enough had been said about its excellent location close to the subway (less than 5 minuts walk). What's not mentioned is that it's about 10-15 minutes walk to the Queens Plaza subway station which has the E- express line taking you straight to JFK airport. There's an elevator which saves you lugging the luggage down the stairs. You alight at Sutphin Blvd and take the airtrain which is linked to all the airport's terminals for US$5 per person . If we had taken a taxi, it would have cost us about US$45.

I should also mention the hotel reception staff who were extremely helpful and friendly.

For food, I'd recommend the cafe at the Holiday Inn which is just across the street. The food was of excellent quality and the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the subway track will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Paul, thank you for an Excellent review!

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that you shared the information about the E train. Many guests do not realize that taking the train from the hotel to the airport is easy and affordable if you are not traveling with a lot of luggage. It is a short walk to Queens Plaza Station from the hotel and will end up saving you quite a bit of money.

I am glad that you found your room to be very spacious and comfortable! The Superior rooms are an excellent choice for parties of 2-4 people. I am also glad that you have mentioned you would have liked a reading lamp at your desk. We have actually received this feedback from other guests that have stayed with us and we have made plans to add lamps to every desk. I think this is a well warranted suggestion and we here are always working to try to improve the functionality of our guest rooms.

I thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff. I am glad that they mentioned some of the excellent and convenient choices right in our neighborhood.

We hope to have you back soon and thank you again for thinking of our property to mention on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#13 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetiver 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.