We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice rooms and very convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
london
1 review
“Great staff, nice rooms and very convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in May and enjoyed every minute.

The rooms were very well maintained and the beds were very comfortable. Whilst the standard of the rooms are commendable its the staff that require the most praise. So helpful and friendly its as though you were staying with family. We were on vacation and so was our ability to clean up the constant pile up of new shopping bags, but the cleaning crew were nice enough to sort it out every single day and still managed to smile. The guys at reception were always on hand to entertain our needs for extra duvets extra pillows etc, and were great to talk to about what to do, what to eat in NY.

The hotel is very conveniently close to 39th Ave metro station where two different lines can be caught straight into manhattan. Also not too far a walk was access to 3 other metro stations where access to a further four other lines into manhattan can be caught.

Would recommend this hotel very much and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: had a room with two double beds on the top floor and rear of hotel. Although the view from the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel Vetiver Family!

We cannot thank you enough for the praise of our staff. It is gratifying to know when our customers take notice of our efforts to be helpful and attentive to your needs. It is refreshing to see that you have taken notice of work of our housekeepers. I truly believe that we have some of the most talented, hardworking and friendly housekeepers in the business. They never cut corners and are always willing to do the little things to make sure our guests' quarters are as tidy and comfortable as possible.

I am also delighted that we were also able to give you some insight onto the great eats of NYC! The neighborhood of Queens has been named as the most diverse community in the US so it is no doubt that there is a restaurant to suit anyone tastes right here in Queens. For anyone who is looking for a night out on the town, we are only 10 minutes from some of the most famous and unique restaurants in the world in Manhattan.

We are so thankful for the helpful tips that you have left for future guests and we hope that you will come back to visit us again the future. We have some exciting upgrades to our breakfast menu and facilities taking place at the hotel that I am sure you would enjoy!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    288
    69
    14
    16
See reviews for
173
191
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For a hotel that is one metro station away from mid town Manhattan and two away from central park, that offers free internet and free breakfast, Vetiver is better than reasonably priced. It is also located very close to 39th Ave metro station, within 5 min walking distance. Our room was clean and well kept, no issues with the bathroom.

There are some prices to be paid for the conveniences and the low price. It is great to have a room with balcony and a tiny view of Manhattan but it also means you will get an earful of train noise especially in the early morning hours. The rooms are small, not much space or furnishings, just a tiny desk and chair. The air conditioner is so close to the bed we had to turn it off at night due to noise. Breakfast is frugal but adequate. The entire hotel has one elevator and takes several minutes to make an appearance during the morning rush.

If you are planning to spend 12+ hours in NYC and need a place to crash at night with some bagels, orange juice and coffee in the morning this is the place to go. Just don't go there expecting three star comforts. This is not a resort. But the staff is very friendly and cooperative which makes up for all the shortcomings. I would give it a score of 3 1/2 overall.

Final advice - book your own taxi for going to airport. The one front desk arranged for us was a crook and overcharged us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire Hotel Vetiver staff we thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

You have shared some great points about our hotel location, only one metro station away from mid town Manhattan and two away from central park. You also mentioned our Complimentary WiFi and Continental Breakfast. We thank you adding the details regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of your room.

You have also left us some feedback on some areas to improve on such as the furnishings and noise level in the room. We are exploring how to improve the comfort and functionality of our rooms.

I know that you have also mentioned our adequate breakfast as well. We are in the process of upgrading some breakfast items as well as expanding our breakfast area, to add value to our Continental Breakfast. We know that our continental breakfast is an amenity that is important to many of our guests and we do recognize that this is an area that we are actively working to improve.

Thank you for all of the points that you have made. We are using your suggestions to help take our property to the next level. We thank you for your business and leaving us with an opportunity to improve.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The very high ratings of this property are not justified. At least not yet.

No reading lights in the room. Why not, when other properties put such lights directly on the beds and they work just fine? No chairs in the room. Why not, especially when there's a balcony? A folding chair was provided upon request one day, but could not be provided the day before, because there were none on hand. Elevator is painfully slow to arrive, and they say they can't add another. Area is noisy well into the night, with construction and garbage collection noise, but the hotel devotes insufficient attention to soundproofing. Breakfast room and breakfast meals are good. Nearby subway stop ceases to operate late in the evening due to local construction, so you have to walk back from 15 blocks away in those instances.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

I know that you had mentioned some suggestions on specific amenities that that you would have liked to see in the room such as reading lamps and chairs. We have definitely taken these suggestions into consideration. We have also noted your inquiry about our elevator. Unfortunately, the design of the building would not allow for an additional elevator to be added, without demolishing the existing room types.

We are glad that you enjoyed our continental breakfast! We hope that if you are ever in our neighborhood again, that you give us a visit again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here on 10th April (2013) for four nights. There is not much to say about this hotel except that it did the job! It was clean and safe and not too far from the train into Manhattan. We had to change our room after the first night due to noise so we went to a higher floor.

Room Tip: Don't chose the bottom floor room as it's noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate that you found our hotel was in a safe neighborhood and easily accessible to Manhattan. I also appreciate that you mentioned that we were able to move you onto a higher floor as well. We do our very best to make sure that we address our guest concerns to help make your stay with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.

We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves here and we hope that we may see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Why pay more at a luxury hotel when all facilities are superb at this one?Stayed for a month.Wonderful staff make one feel at home.toiletries,condiment kits,fresh towels,bedsheets n blankets supplied everyday.breakfast is very simple.more variety and hot breakfast would add stars to the service.Will definitely stay again as I visit New York every year for almost a month.

Room Tip: Rooms with kichenette are excellent for long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Noora, Thank you for such a kind review!

It has been a pleasure having you here at the hotel. We appreciate the kind words and suggestions left by a seasoned traveler such as yourself. We have taken your suggestions about our breakfast into consideration and I am pleased to let you know that we are planning to update our continental breakfast menu as well as renovate our outdoor patio area to add additional seating to our breakfast area.

We are looking forward to having you here again and we will work on getting you the tea that you like!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Newer accommodations. Extremely nice staff. Very attentive. Short taxi ride or Subway trip to downtown Manhattan and to Laguardia Airport. Great Value. I would recommend for a great get-away weekend. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a good view of the Mahattan skyline. Local grocery store three doors down. One Block to subway N/Q train.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you sincerely for an excellent review on Trip Advisor,

You have mentioned some great highlights about our property! I am glad that you found great value in our location and convenient access to downtown Manhattan as well as LaGuardia Airport. We are situated very nearby to both John F. Kennedy and LaGuardia which can also be access by train as well as taxi. I am so glad that were able to enjoy one of our rooms on the 9th Floor. The view is truly breathtaking.

We hope you might visit us again and I thank you again for taking the time to mention Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Free wi-fi. Buffet breakfast with juice, coffee, tea, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bagels and croissants. Convenient for central Manhattan - it's just round the corner from 39th St subway station, which is only 2 stops away from Manhattan centre. Excellent view from the balcony of our room. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.