We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, some minor drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good overall, some minor drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is well located, clean and quiet. It's a good deal compared to Manhattan hotels and just 10 minutes from midtown Manhattan by subway. My room had a balcony with a side view of Manhattan. On the minus side, breakfast is poor, no closet or even hangers in the room and no bedside lights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest;

We greatly appreciate you taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad to know that you’ve enjoyed your time at Hotel Vetiver. Indeed, one of the most attractive factors about Hotel Vetiver is its great location; we are just one block away from the N or Q line which take you directly to Times Square.
I see that you were either in a double room or a standard room which do not come with a closet. A great tip for your next trip is that you may want to take advantage of our Condo Room also known as the Kitchenette Room. This Room is fully equipped with a small kitchenette and brings a closet. I guarantee you that you will love this room. Also, by calling the front desk, which is open 24 hours a day you could of have requested a portable hanger. Our breakfast is continental and we are always working on improving every single detail of all of our amenities. We thank you so much for these useful highlights and will definitively use them to further improve our hotel quality.
We warmly invite you again to stay with us!!

Have a great day!

Sincerely;
Eslainy Fernandez
Hotel Vetiver Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    288
    69
    14
    16
See reviews for
173
191
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Vetiver has very nice size rooms for NYC. The service of the hotel attendants was excellent but I wouldn't buy a drink at the in-hotel bar again. It was way too expensive and you could take the subway into Manhattan if you wanted to enjoy the nightlife. The subway is only a block away from the hotel and its a very safe walk.

The area of the hotel is industrial, but safe and you should have no problems getting around. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest;


We greatly appreciate you taking a moment to review our hotel.
I see that you took advantage of the convenience of the metro. Using the train is a great way to commute in NYC especially because of the traffic. Our bar area is currently developing and we appreciate your opinion about the prices and will take action accordingly.
Long Island City is becoming a tourist hotspot. This means that there is an ongoing process of new buildings being constructed. Indeed there is no danger or issue when arriving back to the hotel at night time.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to having you with us again!!

Warm Regards;
Eslainy Fernandez
Hotel Vetiver Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything was good, even better than expected. Grat hotel, good location, the best price for really good room. This was my third visit of NYC and I know how terrible can be the hotel in Manhattan. Hotel Vetiver is totaly different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest;

We are so pleased to read such a great review!
I am glad you decided to stay with us and try the Vetiver experience!
Our location is just unbeatable and I am glad that you used the best way
To commute, the subway!

We encourage you to come again and stay with us!!

See you then!

Warm Regards;

Eslainy Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The best thing about Hotel Vetiver is its location two quick subway stops away from Lexington and 59th in Manhattan. I chose it over the slightly posher Holiday Inn across the street because the Vetiver provides free breakfast. Our room, however, lacked some basic amenities, like a reading light, nightstand, and desk. While the mattress and pillows were comfortable, the bed was made with only one thin coverlet, and we had to ask for more covers. The desk staff was consistently helpful. The catering staff needed to be more attentive to the small, crowded breakfast room.

Would I stay here again? Yes, because of the location and reasonable price (for NYC). But first, I would check out the other nearby hotels, including one that is being built right across the street.

Room Tip: The stairs are a lot faster than the one overworked elevator, so it would help to have a room on a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel was quite well located, easy to get to even later at night. Hotel employees are customer focused and easy going, none of our requests were ignored, quite the opposite. Breakfast was all right, however it could be better managed by the catering supervisor. Daily room clean and change of towels was a bonus. The Aircon was noisy, located next to the bed, and switches on through the night - not for light sleepers. We were given a wonderful room with a great view. When they found out it was my friend's birthday they went out of their way to celebrate the event. The staff, again, was simply wonderful. We had the best time, thanks to them. Will definitely go here again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review!

I am just delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and that you found our employees to be customer-focused. I am glad that we took a role to help make your friend's birthday special. Making sure that our customers feel just how important they are to us is our priority and we pride ourselves on leaving an impression with you while you are here.
I have taken note on your suggestions for our breakfast area and air conditioning units. Thank you sincerely for the time you took to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We moved into this hotel, just opposite to Holiday Inn (where we were staying) as Holiday Inn was over booked and could not provide us a room for two more days when we extended our trip in New York. It's a small old property presently undergoing renovation on certain floors. But still the work did not create any problem during our two nights stay. The staff was very friendly and catered to our requests promptly, as the first room they gave us was too small and not properly clean. the next room we checked in was just prefect.

Room Tip: While the renovation is on process, choose a floor which is not under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

While searching for a hotel in Long Island City, we looked for a hotel that was in an area that was accessible to the subway, had a breakfast provided, had options for parking our car, and had unique charm. Hotel Vetiver provides all of this. There was a big mixup with our reservation which was made through Travelocity. Although the hotel was unable to provide us with the room that Travelocity sold us (because it no longer existed, and they were booked to capacity) they did make an excellent effort to rectify the situation. We were very pleased with the resolution.

While at the hotel, we felt safe, slept well, and really enjoyed the breakfast (yogurt, fresh bagels, fresh fruit, juice/coffee/tea). Everything was pretty well stocked--we were there at about 8:30am. We parked our car in a nearby U-Haul parking garage, which was about 2 blocks away, and cost $20 (cash) for the overnight. The street parking was filled up. We felt a bit more secure being in the garage anyway.

As another reviewer stated, there is a deposit required on the room to cover any expenses that you may have while you are visiting. We were there for one night, and the fee was $50. This is refunded upon your departure, if you pay cash. This is what we did. If you put it on your card, it takes a couple of days before it is removed. Don't misplace your receipt!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.