We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate hotel !!! Excelent location, good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greate hotel !!! Excelent location, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 days on March. There is a subway station right around the corner-2 stops and you're in Manhattan! The room is simple but very clean and bright. Good view. Comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Initially we booked a room for 7 nights (we planned to stay the last few days with friends) but when the plans have changed and we needed a room for a couple of more nights, we were happy to stay in this hotel and not to look for something else. The breakfast is very minimal (mostly bagels, creamchees and yogurt) but everything was fresh and tasty. If you're looking for full breakfast there is a very nice dinner near the station...
In conclusion, we would be happy to stay there again and we will definitely come back, as we travel to NY every couple of years. We stayed at this hotel for 9 days on March. There is a subway station right around the corner-2 stops and you're in Manhattan! The room is simple but very clean and bright. Good view. Comfortable bed . Very friendly and helpful staff. Initially we booked a room for 7 nights (we planned to stay the last few days with friends) but when the plans have changed and we needed a room for a couple of more nights, we were happy to stay in this hotel and not to look for something else. The breakfast is very minimal (mostly bagels, creamchees and yogurt) but everything was fresh and tasty. If you're looking for full breakfast there is a very nice dinner near the station...
In conclusion, we would be happy to stay there again and we will definitely come back , as we travel to NY every couple of years.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a nice view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    283
    67
    14
    15
See reviews for
171
190
37
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Morang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel twice during March. It has an excellent location one block from 39th St. station. The rooms were clean and the staff were super helpful and friendly. Left some jewellery there and was contacted before I had even missed it and they were happy to send it on. Breakfast was adequate, but staff could have restocked a little more quickly as fruit & yoghurt tended to disappear as soon as it was put out. In fact the only negative was that the floor in the hallway (on second stay) was quite dirty and not cleaned once in the three days we were there.
But overall, a clean, friendly place and stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: 4th floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent 5 nights at Hotel Vetiver in March 2013 including the St Patrick’s Day weekend.
This hotel is the best value hotel that I know of in NYC. Being located in a safe neighbourhood and so close to the subway station it is a much better option than staying in Manhattan if you want to save money.
My room, which was away from the street, was clean, spacious and the bathroom was of a decent size as well. Located in the room were a fridge, stove top, DVD and LCD TV. The bed was large and comfortable and there nothing compact about the wardrobe. I accessed the internet everyday of my stay and have no complaint about the speed of the wi fi. As a bonus I also had a view of the Manhattan skyline. The continental breakfast exceeded my expectations with a wide variety to choose from, including bread, bagels, jams, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, jams, cakes, juice coffee and tea.
From the time I checked in until checkout I found all staff that I came across to be friendly, helpful and courteous.
If I have to have a grumble about some things they are that the breakfast room is quite small and there were times when it was difficult to get a table. The other is that with only one lift there can be a bit of a wait at times. Minor issues really.
Next time I am in NYC, I will be back, here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is simple but it is clean and the location is very good. It s very close to the 39th station. The breakfast is a negative point, as it is quite limited. A strong point is the staff. We lose a valuable necklace in the room and the maid returned it, which is impressive an totally unexpected. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Vetiver hotel for 11 nights (6-17 March).
We have booked the King bedroom. Although the first night the put us to another room that was not very important. The second day all our staff were transfered to the right room. It's was a really nice hotel, 2 minutes from the subway station (3 stops from Manhattan). The personel was very kind and helpful and the breakfast was ok (nothing special). Our vacation was excellent!!!
Thnx Vetiver Hotel (really good value for money)!!

Room Tip: Choose the King room. It has a private balcony with a good view of Queens and Manhattan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with family and bf for 6 nights over St. Patricks weekend, we had 2 rooms with 2 double beds in each as requested, the rooms were spacious and clean, the bathrooms were spacious too, and the showers were large with plenty hot water. The breakfast was cereals, bagels, yogurt and fruit, perfect to start your day. The staff were friendly and helpful, even gave my parents a kettle to make tea as they dont drink coffee.The location is excellent, less than 2 mins walk to the subway and only a few stops to times square. Get a weekly metro card if you are going to be there for a few days and using the subway regulary. There is a diner by the subway stop with good food and very friendly staff, even gave us free drinks for our trip back to the airport to go home. Overall I found my stay here very pleasent, would stay here again if I return to NYC and would defo recommend it to others travelling to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had previously stayed in the area but at a different hotel (which was a bit too expensive this time) and based on the good reviews on tripadvisor we choose Vetiver. Things that are important to us are: friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, complementary breakfast. Vetiver offered all those things to a good rate and is close to the subway.

Good things: the price, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast (cereals, milk, juice, tea/coffee and bagels with cream cheese plus fruits). A small fridge in the room, and two stove plates so you could boil tea water (you have to bring your own tea). Good TV. Close to subway.

Bad things: noisy AC plugged into the wall with cold air blowing right trough it, and all the street noises as well. We stayed in March with temperatures a few degrees below zero and it was either really cold in the room or noisy with dry air. The bed is right next to the AC and cold air blows in day and night since the AC goes on and off automatically. Sometimes painstakingly slow WIFI. Slow elevator that picked up people on its way up even though they had pressed "down". Not friendly or helpful staff: when we arrived we noticed that there was construction work going on across the street from the hotel. At the check in we asked for a quiet room because of it. The receptionist just looked at us and said: I think this is. We went up and found ourselves in a room facing the construction site. Which brings us to the next point: the view of Manhattan skyline. You have to step out on the balcony and look far to your right to see it. What you see from the window is a construction site. It wouldn't have bothered us as much as it did if it weren't for the fact that the hotel prides itself with the skyline view.

All together: we will not stay here again. It never felt inviting or comfortable thinking about going back to the hotel room after spending a day in Manhattan. Although we have to say that the low price made it acceptable, and together with the breakfast, it kept us from feeling scammed.

Room Tip: try one on the back and you may avoid waking up to construction work at 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Firstly, thank you for reviewing Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

I know you had mentioned you chose Hotel Vetiver because of the great reviews you found on TripAdvisor. We are thankful for the gracious reviews that our guests have shared and proud to have established that reputation.

I thank you for recognizing the value of our amenities here at the hotel for example you said: "the price, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast (cereals, milk, juice, tea/coffee and bagels with cream cheese plus fruits). A small fridge in the room, and two stove plates so you could boil tea water (you have to bring your own tea). Good TV. Close to subway." I would like to add that we do provide both coffee and tea(complimentary) for our guests. I wish we were made aware that you did not receive any so we could have corrected that for you.

You also mentioned points where we fell short of your expectations, in particular you mentioned the AC in the room, our WiFi access, the helpfulness of front desk staff and the view from the room. I am disappointed that you mentioned your comfort, in particular, was affected by the AC in the room. I only wish that this would have been brought to our attention during your stay so that we could have moved you to a room with a functional HVAC and addressed the problem.

We rely on TripAdvisor reviews to help us gauge how satisfied our customers are in general; however it is extremely difficult to address certain feedback that we receive, when we receive it anonymously after a guest has already check-out of the hotel. You could compare it to giving someone a flashlight in a forest at night and asking them to find their way out. The flashlight (TripAdvisor review) gives you enough light to see what is in front of your face, but it is going to by no means guide you through the forest; you are still on your own. We can only effectively address concerns when we know the specific room you stayed in, the times and dates that you were here, and who you interacted with in particular. The very best and most effective feedback is given as immediate to the occurrence as possible. It gives an opportunity for your stay to become more comfortable and for us to realize our shortcomings and areas/interactions that need to be improved on.

Overall I am thankful for your review and the time you took to share your experience. I hope that I was able to offer some insight from the business perspective on how we could have addressed those concerns if they were to have been brought to our attention during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.