We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as good as some reviews have indicated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Gothenburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as some reviews have indicated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had previously stayed in the area but at a different hotel (which was a bit too expensive this time) and based on the good reviews on tripadvisor we choose Vetiver. Things that are important to us are: friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, complementary breakfast. Vetiver offered all those things to a good rate and is close to the subway.

Good things: the price, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast (cereals, milk, juice, tea/coffee and bagels with cream cheese plus fruits). A small fridge in the room, and two stove plates so you could boil tea water (you have to bring your own tea). Good TV. Close to subway.

Bad things: noisy AC plugged into the wall with cold air blowing right trough it, and all the street noises as well. We stayed in March with temperatures a few degrees below zero and it was either really cold in the room or noisy with dry air. The bed is right next to the AC and cold air blows in day and night since the AC goes on and off automatically. Sometimes painstakingly slow WIFI. Slow elevator that picked up people on its way up even though they had pressed "down". Not friendly or helpful staff: when we arrived we noticed that there was construction work going on across the street from the hotel. At the check in we asked for a quiet room because of it. The receptionist just looked at us and said: I think this is. We went up and found ourselves in a room facing the construction site. Which brings us to the next point: the view of Manhattan skyline. You have to step out on the balcony and look far to your right to see it. What you see from the window is a construction site. It wouldn't have bothered us as much as it did if it weren't for the fact that the hotel prides itself with the skyline view.

All together: we will not stay here again. It never felt inviting or comfortable thinking about going back to the hotel room after spending a day in Manhattan. Although we have to say that the low price made it acceptable, and together with the breakfast, it kept us from feeling scammed.

Room Tip: try one on the back and you may avoid waking up to construction work at 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Firstly, thank you for reviewing Hotel Vetiver on TripAdvisor.

I know you had mentioned you chose Hotel Vetiver because of the great reviews you found on TripAdvisor. We are thankful for the gracious reviews that our guests have shared and proud to have established that reputation.

I thank you for recognizing the value of our amenities here at the hotel for example you said: "the price, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast (cereals, milk, juice, tea/coffee and bagels with cream cheese plus fruits). A small fridge in the room, and two stove plates so you could boil tea water (you have to bring your own tea). Good TV. Close to subway." I would like to add that we do provide both coffee and tea(complimentary) for our guests. I wish we were made aware that you did not receive any so we could have corrected that for you.

You also mentioned points where we fell short of your expectations, in particular you mentioned the AC in the room, our WiFi access, the helpfulness of front desk staff and the view from the room. I am disappointed that you mentioned your comfort, in particular, was affected by the AC in the room. I only wish that this would have been brought to our attention during your stay so that we could have moved you to a room with a functional HVAC and addressed the problem.

We rely on TripAdvisor reviews to help us gauge how satisfied our customers are in general; however it is extremely difficult to address certain feedback that we receive, when we receive it anonymously after a guest has already check-out of the hotel. You could compare it to giving someone a flashlight in a forest at night and asking them to find their way out. The flashlight (TripAdvisor review) gives you enough light to see what is in front of your face, but it is going to by no means guide you through the forest; you are still on your own. We can only effectively address concerns when we know the specific room you stayed in, the times and dates that you were here, and who you interacted with in particular. The very best and most effective feedback is given as immediate to the occurrence as possible. It gives an opportunity for your stay to become more comfortable and for us to realize our shortcomings and areas/interactions that need to be improved on.

Overall I am thankful for your review and the time you took to share your experience. I hope that I was able to offer some insight from the business perspective on how we could have addressed those concerns if they were to have been brought to our attention during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    288
    69
    14
    16
See reviews for
173
191
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel has a great value for money comparing to hotels in the city like in Manhattan. The room was very nice and very specious and we got lucky to have a room with the city view, great view by the way.
The breakfast is nothing special. We had bagels and yogurt/milk with cereals. Nothing else to choose between, horrible tea and coffee. If you are fussy about breakfast then this will be a disappointment but you get something to eat to start your day with.
The hotel is located between three different stations so you can choose depending on the line you need to take. The closest station was 5 min away and from there it took 10-15 min in to the city (central Manhattan).
Would definitively like to recommend this hotel as it's located very close to tube stations and one can easily reach city in reasonable amount of time yet get good value for money considering the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with city view, especially at the last floor, 9th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review Maria.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I see that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms on the 9th Floor. I am glad that you found it to be spacious with a great view of Manhattan.

I am so happy that you were able to make use of the Metro. It is conveniently located just one block from the hotel and it really is such an easy way to travel through the city. I am just delighted to hear that you found great value in staying at our hotel as compared to the city. I believe our value allows you to save money on the logistics of your trip, so that you are able to splurge on other more memorable areas such as shopping, dining and entertainment. Which is what savvy travelers look for.

Thank you again Maria for a wonderful review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a st Patrick's days weekend and the as previous reviews have stated, this hotel is a cheap alternative to staying in manhatten, the subway is five minutes away, with 3 stops to fifth ave. The rooms are spacious modern and clean, the shower was great always plenty of hot water. The reception area is tiny, someone has done a great job on their website making the reception and bar area look much bigger than it really is.
The staff were all friendly, if you are doing New York on a budget then this would do you nicely.
The proximity to the subway does mean that you can hear the subway throughout the night, but it's not a big deal, the air con is noisy and as it cuts in and out throughout the night this could be an issue for light sleepers.
Things to note; the hotel will take a 100doller deposit for incidentals, if you put this on your card, it will take a week or so to get this refunded, if you pay cash you collect it on checkout!
When getting cabs back to the hotel from manhatten, cab drivers are not likely to know this hotel, but they seem to know the Holiday Inn, which is across the road, so ask them to take you there.
If you are going to do the touristy thing around the Statue of Liberty, don't pay for the boat tours, the statue and Ellis island are still closed due to hurricane sandy, so get on the Staten Island ferry, go to Staten Island and come back again on the same ferry, it goes past the statue and its free.
To summarise, it's a good little hotel, but you get what you pay for

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and here is the review. Pros: clean and spacious room, friendly personnel, great location, only 2 minutes walk to the subway station, and cheap price! Cons: wifi is really slow, shower nozzle is bad, one night the water is not hot, quilt is of bad quality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Vetiver, thank you for a great review!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of your guest room. I am also happy that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the city. It really is such a convenient and affordable way to get around! I am delighted that our staff were hospitable to you as well!

I would like to also mention that we are in the process of having our WiFi upgraded to increase speeds as well. Hopefully if you stay with us in the future, you will be able to enjoy the upgrade!

Thank you again for your your experience on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hotel Vetiver.


Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights, and (maybe we were lucky but) the room was very spacious, calm and clean, with a great terrace. The personnel was discreet but helpful each time we needed something, and they arranged a pickup for the airport. Breakfast was great for the price of the room, with fresh bagels, freshly prepared fruit, muesli and yoghourt. I want to thank the staff at the breakfast area, as they did their best keeping the place clean, and adding regularly new food.
The location may not be the poshest, but it is very convenient if you want to explore uptown and Manhattan, with a few excellent museums (Museum of moving image...) within a 20 minutes walk. All in all, a very good surprise, especially if you stay a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Vetiver, thank you for a great review Noel!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the Manhattan. I also am so happy that you mentioned you spent time in Queens as well! So many of our visitors do not realize how diverse our borough is and how many fantastic places are literally right around the corner from us! We realize that many guests choose our hotel because of the location to Manhattan but we hope they also take advantage of being close to many unique places in Queens as well!

I am so glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and I will be sure to let our staff know how much you enjoyed their service! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A little late, but my husband and I stayed here in June 2012. Great hotel...awesome location...the staff was excellent. The best of the staff was Iris....she would go out of her way to help and to make a point of remembering you. I hope she is still there when we go back. The subway is a 2 min walk.. and literally a 5 min ride to Manhattan. The diner at the corner, by the subway, is very good. Rooms are so clean, balcony is great! For the price....you could never go wrong.....you have to stay here. The only fault was that we were not ever informed of the breakfast that was available..........Otherwise everything was awesome!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony is great. The view of Manhattan is very nice. Remember....you are not in M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review Dolly!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so pleased that our staff made you feel right at home while you were here. Our customer service truly is something that we most proud about here at Hotel Vetiver. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the city. It really is such a convenient and affordable way to get around! Thank you for sharing your experience and please reach out to us when you would like to make accomodations to stay in NYC again.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel was very cute, neat and tidy. Location is great, only a block away from the subway and there is free parking but only for about 5 or 6 cars so if you get there early (and are lucky) you can get those spots otherwise parking across the hotel is $10 for the day and $10 for the night which is very reasonable. They do have breakfast in the morning. Not many options but whatever they do have is yummm. Can't say much about the view from the rooms, its not that great and the ACs are a little loud. Otherwise its a pretty decent hotel. You won't be disappointed. Also the receptionist (Nargisa i think) was very very sweet!

Room Tip: take the rooms with the balcony if you can, they are a lot more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Nat, thank you for a wonderful review!

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. You shared an excellent tip about hotel parking, it is true that there is limited complimentary parking at our hotel, however if anyone is not able to make it time, we do have a garage right around our corner, which I often use to park my own car.

I am so delighted to know that you mentioned how helpful Nargiza (front desk) was to your during your stay. We believe the team that we have employed here are one of our biggest assets here at the hotel because we have gotten excellent feedback about their helpfulness repeatedly from guests that have stayed with us. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers; when customers like yourself have shared your experience, you can only imagine how grateful we are!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.