We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“Just Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very good hotel. Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Clean rooms and good cleaning staff. 1 min walk from subway station with direct connection to Times Square. Queens size beds that makes you feel like a king.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the upper 3 levels for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review!

Our staff is just delighted to know that we have "wow"ed you! I am so happy that you were able to receive our quality customer service which truly sets our hotel apart from our competitors. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers, as we do not have as much exposure as some of our competition. We rely on our reputation and the perspective that guests like you are left with to encourage other travelers to give us a try.

Thank you for mentioning our proximity to the subway station; this is why many of our guests choose to stay here with us.

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a kind review!

Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    259
    60
    14
    14
See reviews for
157
167
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very nice rooms (the heater is laud) and very good service. The subway is near the hotel, only 200 feeds to go. My special tip, buy the metro card ($29, 7 days) and you can go easy to all places in New York you wont.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Very nice rooms (the heater is laud) and very good service. The subway is near the hotel, only 200 feeds to go. My special tip, buy the metro card ($29, 7 days) and you can go easy to all places in New York you wont.

Thank you for a great review Roland!

We sincerely appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of the subway. It really is the best way to get around New York City in terms of convenience and price! We hope that if you decide to come back to New York again that you will stay with us! Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff was out of this world awesome! They couldn't have been friendlier, more helpful, and courteous. They showed me where to park for free, they gave me great directions to every tourist attraction I wanted, and they helped us cart in a ton of stuff as we are caterers and needed to move our equipment into our room. The rooms are gorgeous and so quaint yet roomie. Super clean, and I loved the all tile huge shower! The breakfast was AWESOME!! What a selection and was free. Really for a business trip and the price, we were stunned at the fact that this place wasn't sold out. It is also super close to the subway, so that was a life saver for us! Seriously, this is a gem and I know this hotel will be booming once more people find out about it. I will definitely be staying here again when I go back to NYC!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Noelle!

Our staff is just delighted to know that you have taken some of your time to write a review like this one. I am so happy that you mentioned how helpful our staff was during your stay. We believe our team that we have employed here are one of our biggest assets here at the hotel because we have gotten excellent feedback about their helpfulness repeatedly from guests that have stayed with us. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers; when customers like yourself have shared your experience, you can only imagine how grateful we are!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have traveled extensively throughout my life. Rarely have I found any place that has not stretched the truth or misrepresented some aspect of their facility. Well Hotel Vetiver happens to have broken the mold on that. There was not a single aspect of the hotel and staff that was not as shown on their website or through booking.com. The Hotel was impeccably clean, staff was kind, warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and considerate. They showed genuine interest in each customer and referred to each by name from what I witnessed and experienced. The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The housekeeping staff were kind and very thorough. They went out of there way to assure my stay was comfortable, successful and enjoyable. The Best Coffee that definitely rivals Starbucks--taste quality and with a kind smile even delivered to your room if you prefer. They never were negative in any manner ---my heavens I have absolutely nothing negative in thought for this establishment. I have stayed in Manhattan Hotels for 4-6 times the price and wouldn't touch the floor for the dirt etc with grumpy staff. HOTEL VETIVER just set the standard back on it's feet and now the other must chase it uphill. I have already offered the address, phone number, and cards to three individuals traveling to New York in the near future. I will return with the grand knowledge that my stay will be as splendid as this one

Room Tip: There is not much more that could be said---this Hotel and its staff are top quality. Not one grumpy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Charlotte!

Our staff is just delighted to receive such a kind review and to know that you have taken some of your time to write a review like this one. I am so happy that you were able to receive our quality customer service which truly sets our hotel apart from our competitors. We are a small hotel, so we rely on making a connection with all of our customers, as we do not have as much exposure as some of our competition. We rely on our reputation and the perspective that guests like you are left with to encourage other travelers to give us a try.

I am so glad that you enjoyed our Crudos Cafe coffee! We have actually recently undergone a revamping of our cafe so it is wonderful to know that you not only enjoyed the coffee itself, but also the convenience of it as well!

Thank you for mentioning the value of our hotel as compared to Manhattan hotels as well. That is by far one of the biggest reasons why guests choose to stay at our property. We appreciate that you were able to experience our quality staff and location to the city, without the price!

We look forward to having you here again and thank you so much for such a thoughtful review!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A little more maintenance and clean, could be good.....excelent courtesy and attention to the guess. Excelent location. May be, you can check with the food services in the area for deals, better than taxi services, wich are too expensive.Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review for our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself during your time with us.

I see that you have mentioned you would have liked a little more information about local restaurants in the neighborhood . We are actually developing a guide for our guests with information about restaurants, local shops and transportation that we suggest with the most value in terms of quality and price. We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. We never want to substitute, or suggest any vendors that substitute services for price.

We hope that if you decide to come back to New York again that you will stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us, your feedback is critical to helping us make improvements daily and we truly value the experience you have shared!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room is big. Too bad normal things are missing like a readinglight (or any light near the bed). We used the television and turned it of with the remote. There is a coffeemaker but no seperate kettle. There are also no tea bags.
Breakfast is better than in most ny hotels. And there's a direct subway into manhattan. It's a lot cheaper than a manhattan hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your staying at Hotel Vetiver Bianca!

We truly value the time that our guests take to give perspective on their experience during their stay with us. One of the reasons why we believe we offer value for the money our customers spend with us, is our location and proximity to the train.

We have taken into consideration the feedback that we have gotten about the functionality of our guest rooms. It is because of this, that we are currently in the process of changing the configurations of our rooms to improve on our design so that may accommodate more of the everyday necessities, like bedside lamps. We have a number of rooms that are already equipped, however we are currently undergoing the complete transformation.

Overall, we hope that these concerns this did not take away from your experience with us. We hope that you might stay with us in the future to see how we have addressed your concerns! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed for 4 days and i really enjoyed it. Very nice staff,close to the subway station and clean comfortable rooms with a great balcony view. the breakfast was very nice too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again whenever i'm in NY!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Vetiver, thank you for a great review!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the city. It really is such a convenient and affordable way to get around! I am also glad that you were able to enjoy one of our guest rooms with a balcony. We look forward to having you again and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.