We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetiver

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vetiver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vetiver
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A little more maintenance and clean, could be good.....excelent courtesy and attention to the guess. Excelent location. May be, you can check with the food services in the area for deals, better than taxi services, wich are too expensive.Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review for our property! We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself during your time with us.

I see that you have mentioned you would have liked a little more information about local restaurants in the neighborhood . We are actually developing a guide for our guests with information about restaurants, local shops and transportation that we suggest with the most value in terms of quality and price. We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. We never want to substitute, or suggest any vendors that substitute services for price.

We hope that if you decide to come back to New York again that you will stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us, your feedback is critical to helping us make improvements daily and we truly value the experience you have shared!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    262
    61
    14
    14
See reviews for
158
169
36
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room is big. Too bad normal things are missing like a readinglight (or any light near the bed). We used the television and turned it of with the remote. There is a coffeemaker but no seperate kettle. There are also no tea bags.
Breakfast is better than in most ny hotels. And there's a direct subway into manhattan. It's a lot cheaper than a manhattan hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your staying at Hotel Vetiver Bianca!

We truly value the time that our guests take to give perspective on their experience during their stay with us. One of the reasons why we believe we offer value for the money our customers spend with us, is our location and proximity to the train.

We have taken into consideration the feedback that we have gotten about the functionality of our guest rooms. It is because of this, that we are currently in the process of changing the configurations of our rooms to improve on our design so that may accommodate more of the everyday necessities, like bedside lamps. We have a number of rooms that are already equipped, however we are currently undergoing the complete transformation.

Overall, we hope that these concerns this did not take away from your experience with us. We hope that you might stay with us in the future to see how we have addressed your concerns! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Hotel Vetiver
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed for 4 days and i really enjoyed it. Very nice staff,close to the subway station and clean comfortable rooms with a great balcony view. the breakfast was very nice too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again whenever i'm in NY!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Vetiver, thank you for a great review!

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us about your stay. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our our location to the subways to get into the city. It really is such a convenient and affordable way to get around! I am also glad that you were able to enjoy one of our guest rooms with a balcony. We look forward to having you again and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed for 8 days and could not have felt more comfortable. The room was really pleasant. It was a great home base. The bed was very comfortable.
(I did need to go and buy an extension cord for my laptop)

The people were sweet, though not so knowledgable about NYC. It is surprisingly fast and easy to get to Manhattan. With a smart phone, it is super easy. (I am a New Yorker who now lives far away)

I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Upper floors better it would seem. I was on the 7th floor and it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Nancy,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback! We love to how we have contributed to a positive experience so that we know what guests want to see when they stay with us. I am so happy to hear that our staff made you feel comfortable.

We look forward to having you here with us again! I would love to know what areas of the city we could spruce up on to give guidance on how to get around!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the taxi cost us about 50USD from JFK. we had too much luggage to take the subway.

the staff was very friendly and efficient.

the subway was one block away from the hotel and it takes about 15mins to get to Manhattan. Pretty convenient. we didn't feel unsafe when walking back from the subway.

rooms were big and had heavy curtains to keep the light out if you want to sleep in. the bed was big and comfortable! loved it.

free wifi. affordable and clean and comfortable accomodation. would stay here again if I come back to NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Grace,

Thank you so much for the excellent feedback! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves during your stay. I see that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms and get a little shut-eye. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast as well! We hope that if you decide come back to New York again that you will stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We now stay at the Vetiver whenever we are in New York. Its a lovely small boutique hotel,
friendly staff, nice breakfast. It costs way less than similar places in Manhattan, and yet you can be in the city in less than 10 minutes. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Leon,

We are so grateful for the great feedback you have given us! The very best feedback that we can receive is to have a guest mention that they would like to stay with us again. If you know that you may be traveling to New York often, please contact either myself or Rosalia to see if you would meet the criteria to become a corporate client with the hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again and thank you so much for your kind words!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived the night after Christmas for a family holiday and we stayed there for 12 nights we really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is very nice, clean and very close to subway station. The staff is very helpful and friendly working real hard to please guests.
I was very impressed from the high level of services and I would definitely go back again.
The hotel location is very good to reach most destinations.
It's a great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with Balcony are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVetiver, Manager at Hotel Vetiver, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Maha,

Thank you so much for the excellent feedback! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves during your stay.

I see that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms with a view of the Manhattan skyline. We want to offer our guests a unique experience when they stay in New York, while still being affordable. We never want to substitute our level of services for price and this is where we believe our value lies.

We hope that if you decide come back to New York again that you will stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us!

Kind Regards,

Brittney Mosley
Sales Manager
Hotel Vetiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetiver

Address: 29-11 39th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vetiver 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vetiver is the newest addition to the luxury boutique hotels in Long Island City. We have elegantly styled guestrooms that were designed to welcome guests from around the world. Our spacious guest rooms have private balconies overlooking the Manhattan skyline, kitchenettes that include utensils and glasses for in room dining, spa-like bathrooms, large closet space for extended stay guests, and 24/7 concierge service that will handle all guest needs.With only steps away from Manhattan our location is convenient to many of the attractions of Manhattan, including the Empire State Building, Central Park, the United Nations, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Union Square, Byrant Park, Macy's Herald Square, Grand Central, Penn Station & Madison Square Garden and it is within a short drive of LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports. We can arrange accommodation for meetings & events that can be held indoor or our patio outdoor.Hotel Vetiver welcomes all business and leisure travelers to enjoy the convenience and luxury a hotel should have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vetiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vetiver Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.