We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy while it's still around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5Ptz

5Ptz
45-46 Davis Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Galleries, Other
Attraction details
Jackson Heights, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy while it's still around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been seeing the 5 ptz for the past 15 odd years and its always a sight to see when you first catch a glimpse from the 7 train. Its a piece of graffiti history and a part of new York's old past when graffiti was rampant and seen as scum during the 80s and 90s.

But enjoy the site of public artists while it's still here. BC they'll be demolishing the building to put up a condo/corporate building of some sorts.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    3
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I guess you would like it if you are really into spaghetti! But if you are near Long island city and have time, visit it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5PTZ.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a landmark in the history of Graffitti.. It has inspired people from all over the globe
to come to make their mark on these walls. Congratulations for the time you've had &
We hope you find a new home...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The graffiti Mecha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I'm a huge fan of anything organically related to the 4 elements of hip-hop and 5Ptz seems to be one of the original spots for graffiti. Now it is more of landmark where street artists can come to legally tag up a wall spot. The city wants to shut it down and I have no idea, I find that unless you have a well designed building (ESB) or extremely ornate building (Frank Lloyd Wright housing designs) your plain buildings could use some life. I think it is a great spot just to appreciate the city that is #1 in graffiti.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HAPPENED UPON A HIP HOP HAPPENING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having an interest in graffiti/tagging/street art, I was anxious to view this collection. We arrived on a Saturday at dusk just as some sort of party was getting underway. The bass was thumping and the people were dancing. We casually made our way towards the impromptu entrance (a chain strung between two trash cans) and were waved inside by a large man with a pit bull! It felt like a genuine urban experience, and provided an awesome ambiance to view the site. In the light of day I would probably give this a 2 or 3 star rating, but our particular circumstances made it a bit more memorable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5Ptz also viewed

Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to 5Ptz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5Ptz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.