We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Natal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

3 minutes walk to queensbridge metro station. Quite and clean. Meal room too small. The main problem is the parking lot, but a very good advice: Try to do everything using just public transport. Traffic in NYC is terrible!

Room Tip: good option for a low budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    229
    63
    10
    10
See reviews for
131
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location to visit NYC....clean and big rooms....metro near by....absolut friendly staff... :), great City view from our room. If wie visit New York City again, wie would appreciate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean hotel a minutes walk from the F train. So Manhattan is a quick ride away. I only wished the room was a little bigger but that is New York for you. Great and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our room smelled like smoke. The thermostat (or heating and cooling system) was not working correctly. The room was small, old, and dirty, and poorly maintained. The bed was fine and the shower was fine, but the constant smell of smoke, in a non-smoking room, along with an erratic air conditioner / heater, really ruined the experience.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Half price from hotel in Manhattan. Just 2 minutes walk from queen's 21st street subway. Convenient and safe. Brilliant breakfast, even better than the Michelangelo Hotel in which we stayed in Manhattan! Had better check the bill. We've been over charged certain amount than the money on voucher of booking.com. Fortunately to have realized this timely and get the additional charge refunded! Good view of Manhattan on the top floor. Elevator a bit noisy next to our room. Need be smart about the shower device. Before sorting to the Reception about how to operate, we failed to have a shower.

Room Tip: Better choose high floors to get a good view of Manhattan. stay a bit away from the elevator to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first it seems like the hotel is in an urban wasteland. But the neighborhood is safe and it's only 1.5 blocks to the subway station. We had a wonderful room with a view of Manhattan, a very comfy king bed, a mini fridge and clean, spacious bathroom. After trekking the city all day, it was nice to get back to our oasis. The free breakfast was adequate, and the parking garage was a bargain at $25/day. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. And we slept like babies - very quiet - not one disturbance. We found the Hot Bagels shop around the corner for lunch when we first arrived. Nice little spot - they made us breakfast bagels to go and we ate them in the cafe at the hotel, while we waited for our rooms. All-in all, a great experience. We will go back to Sleep Inn - definitely!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing Manhattan. It was very quiet and the view was a nice plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, silent, and nice breakfast. But some problems: in the first night some guys were making noise repairs in a room of 5th floor, disturbing guests, it was necessary to complain in the reception. On Sunday, maid forgot to put towels, it was necessary to complain two times and wait forty minutes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.