We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, basic but adequate accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, basic but adequate accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visiting family nearby, we chose this hotel for its location. Small, of course, but it makes good use of the space. Room was clean with good closet/dresser space, work area, fridge. Bathroom also just fine. Bath towels and linens a little on the thin side and bed slightly softer than we prefer. No complaints. Lighting was poor; I found it very difficult to do any reading in bed. AC/heat worked very well. Television selection is very limited, but we didn't come to watch tv. Breakfast was challenging. The space just is not big enough, and I cannot compliment the staff enough about how well they managed to keep area clean and stocked while working among swarms of guests. Food quality was good, especially the breads/pastries/donuts. Eggs that come out of a plastic bag should really be removed from every hotel's menu, but we can't fault Sleep Inn for including them. People would likely gripe. Staff was exceptional with courtesy, promptness, professional appearance, helpfulness. The desk will call you a car but walking one block to 21st street and hailing a cab is cheaper and faster. Sidewalks power washed daily. Parking is awful ($25 per night) and requires excellent driving skills and patience. Had no choice this trip. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: No issues with noise; our room was in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    218
    60
    9
    10
See reviews for
126
138
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was very comfortable. The sheets very soft and cotton, the staff nice and kind. I really enjoyed this place and recommend it. Great views from the window were nice. I took the subway to Central Park and to LIC.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I was disappointed to see mould in the bathroom. It was the only unpleasant thing during the stay.
The personnel is very friendly. The hotel is situated in 3 minutes from the subway, 20 minutes from Times Square.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatire, Miranda, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel It is Nice, great view of Manhattan from our room, the room was clean and big, the bed were really good, and the bathroom was clean, the staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpfully. It is really near to the 21st Queenbrige station that it would take you to Manhattan in les de 15 minutes or if you arrive into JFK and take the F line from the airport you will be in the hotel in 40 minutes top.
I really recommend this hotel, good location and the price per night it is great. If I have a new opportunity to visit New York again I will book this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for business. The hotel is very close to the 21st Street subway station and only a few minutes drive or subway to Manhattan.

The hotel room was large and clean. I also head a great view of Manhattan from my room.

Breakfast was typical USA food, eggs, fruit, doughnuts, toast, cereal etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Only thing i would suggest is putting instructions for the shower in the bathroom. I was totally unable to figure it out until i remembered a previous reviewer had mentioned the problem. You turn the water on, then there is a gold band on the tap where the water comes out, you pull this down and the water will come out of the shower.

Had some very noisy neighbours on my floor at about 5am, but the hotel sorted them out.

Would recommend this for anyone looking for affordable accommodation with easy access to the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has some okay things going for it but the staff at the front desk are not one of them! When we got there (6 girls 2 rooms) we asked for rooms besides each and no one did anything to accomdiate us. Also 1 girl was smoking outside and he made a big things and keep repeating make sure no ones smokes in the room. Dude there are 2 others that don't smoke why would we let her smoke in our room? The lady that ran the free breakfast was nice and friendly but the powder eggs and mystery meat were gross looking (I think sausages) stick with the bagels and a yogurt. For the price you pay it was close to the train and in a ok neighborhood but not near any late night food.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel across the river from Manhattan . Rooms are clean and well equipped. They serve a full line breakfast in the morning. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. I specially want to mention YASMIN - the breakfast server . Her sense of hospitality is just amazing.I recommend this hotel and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.