We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Sleep Inns ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“One of the Best Sleep Inns ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a Choice Privileges Diamond member, I stay at Choice branded properties frequently, of which Sleep Inn is one. This particular Sleep Inn was one of the best of the brand that I have ever stayed in.

The staff are pleasant, efficient, helpful, and cordial. I was checked in by a cheerful front desk person and was on my way to the room in no time. The room was of ample size, with the typical Sleep Inn furnishings - 2 comfortable beds, work desk with ample space, wall-mounted HDTV, in room coffee, and a nice view of the NYC skyline. Bathroom was spotless, with ample hot water for the shower. This may have been a handicapped room, because the bathroom door was extra large and there was room where a wheelchair could have rolled up to the sink.

A nice touch was that in the elevator, the floors where ice, soda, and snack machines were located were clearly noted by the floor buttons.

The neighborhood itself is a bit run down, but the location turned out to be quite good - about 2-3 blocks to the closest subway stop (F Train) and a few blocks more to Queensboro Plaza subway, where a variety of lines converge. The F train makes it very convenient to get into Manhattan (2 stops) or to LaGuardia (1 stop to 74th Street/Roosevelt Ave, then catch the express Q70 bus to LGA), and if you're going to the Mets game, you can catch the 7 train from Queensboro Plaza. There is a 24 hour small grocery about 2 blocks from the hotel, on the walk to/from the subway.

Two things to be aware of - for informational purposes only.

First, the hotel does ask to make a copy of your personal ID when you check in. Normally I consider this a BIG red flag and decline permission to make copies, as it is very risky to copies of one's personal identification floating around, no matter how good a hotel's security policies may be. I personally have had such copies misused in the past (NOT at this hotel - at 2 other hotels) and see no reason why a hotel of any quality should require this from guests. Normally I downgrade my Tripadvisor ratings when this happens, but in this case, I have not downgraded my rating, because when I explained my decline to the person who checked me in, they withdrew the request. But I mention this to let other travelers know that they may be asked to allow a copy to be made of their ID, and, from a personal identify protection standpoint, I would strongly encourage such guests to decline to allow the copy to be made. I also mention it in the hope that hotel management sees this comment and gets rid of what is an ill-advised and invasive policy.

Second - most Sleep Inns have a 24-hour coffee service set up for guests. This one apparently doesn't. No big deal; just mentioning it so you'll know.

Overall - a very nice hotel, well run, and surprisingly well located for trips into Manhattan and to/from LaGuardia, but not at a Manhattan price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    193
    50
    8
    7
See reviews for
110
121
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I thought this hotel was great for my purposes. It was a typical Sleep Inn layout, clean, and the staff was unusually friendly and helpful. Hats off to them. I enjoyed to low cost accommodations that are so close to the Subway.
The only issue with the hotel is the proximity to a very large public housing project. I walked to and from the subway a dozen times, only one time did it feel uncomfortable. The local residence tend to be hanging around outside from about 8 pm to 11pm. During that time it can be a little intimidating. The streets are dirty but that is typical of New York. There are two small markets, a chinese to go place and a subway sandwich shop...
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is my fourth time staying with them. The price is fairly cheap and the rooms are always clean. It seems to be in the not so safest neighborhood at first, but it's not bad at all. There is also some pretty good local eateries right outside the hotel. The breakfast is pretty good as well. The breakfast line gets pretty long so be there pretty early. It's served from 6:30-930. What's perfect about this hotel is its location to a train stop It's right next to the train stop. And it's less than 20 minutes and you are in the grand Central station JFK or LGA. This is by far my favorite hotel in long Island city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is our great pleasure that you have enjoyed many stays with us. We hope to maintain our great credibility with you and with other guests as well. Hope that your review encourages many new guests who will find the same great experience as yourself.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I used to stay in New Jersey while visiting New York City. No more. Queens borough is a great alternative. Sleep Inn hotel is just 3 blocks from a subway station, in a bad looking section, but secure.

Room Tip: Odd rooms have Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked through choice hotels and had a comfortable stay. Parking spots are limited and this was our biggest concern. Fortunately, we got a spot and it was a good experience. I wish it were possible to reserve spots immediately upon booking but understand how that can be hard. Street parking is available and it seemed fine. Breakfast is consistent with what you can expect from 2/3 star hotels.

Two metro stations nearby - 21 st and Queensboro Plaza. It was sufficient to get around the city easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your to stay to the full extent. At Sleep Inn - LIC we aim to provide our best services and amenities in order to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We hope that you will come stay with us again very soon.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First time in New York and what a time I had. I wish I had placed a review online when I stayed but here goes.

Reception was clean and staff was very friendly.

View from our window was amazing overlooking the bridge I couldn' describe how nice it looked while the sun was out.

Rooms were totally clean and so was the bathroom.

round the corner from the hotel there is a shop which has a deli bar which serves all sorts of food for you so I would recommend you try it out as its really nice and cheap.

Queensbridge station is a 5min walk which will get you into town etc. The subline did confuse me a little but as my bestie has been there plenty of times I felt safe and we didn't encounter any problems.

Breakfast was lovely and they have a microwave so if you do bring food back you can always warm this up.

I travelled here in May-June 2012. Totally awesome trip and will go back.

Room Tip: From what I remember the rooms at the back are normally the quieter, although this may have changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar 0000
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked through booking.com.Got a great rate.Was pleasantly surprised with the amount of space in the room-unusual for New York.Breakfast was included and there was a nice selection from cereal, yogurt, eggs, bagels, juice, fruit,coffee etc. You could eat as much as you liked.Housekeeping do a fantastic job very clean room and bathroom. 3 minute walk from 21st Queensbridge subway. F train brings you to Coney Island or Mamhatten.Can connect to it from JFK airtrain. Neighbourhood looks a little unsafe but we were walking from subway after 11 and encountered no problems.There is a grocery store on the corner which also has a deli.Didn't buy food there so can't comment on that.Staff in hotel very friendly.Would stay here again& recommend it to others

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your most wonderful review. It is our great pleasure that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and satisfactory stay. We hope to continue our best of services so that all of our guests may enjoy the same quality of stay that you have enjoyed. Come see us again soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.