We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, Friendly and Close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I thought this hotel was great for my purposes. It was a typical Sleep Inn layout, clean, and the staff was unusually friendly and helpful. Hats off to them. I enjoyed to low cost accommodations that are so close to the Subway.
The only issue with the hotel is the proximity to a very large public housing project. I walked to and from the subway a dozen times, only one time did it feel uncomfortable. The local residence tend to be hanging around outside from about 8 pm to 11pm. During that time it can be a little intimidating. The streets are dirty but that is typical of New York. There are two small markets, a chinese to go place and a subway sandwich shop...
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    177
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
96
108
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my fourth time staying with them. The price is fairly cheap and the rooms are always clean. It seems to be in the not so safest neighborhood at first, but it's not bad at all. There is also some pretty good local eateries right outside the hotel. The breakfast is pretty good as well. The breakfast line gets pretty long so be there pretty early. It's served from 6:30-930. What's perfect about this hotel is its location to a train stop It's right next to the train stop. And it's less than 20 minutes and you are in the grand Central station JFK or LGA. This is by far my favorite hotel in long Island city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I used to stay in New Jersey while visiting New York City. No more. Queens borough is a great alternative. Sleep Inn hotel is just 3 blocks from a subway station, in a bad looking section, but secure.

Room Tip: Odd rooms have Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked through choice hotels and had a comfortable stay. Parking spots are limited and this was our biggest concern. Fortunately, we got a spot and it was a good experience. I wish it were possible to reserve spots immediately upon booking but understand how that can be hard. Street parking is available and it seemed fine. Breakfast is consistent with what you can expect from 2/3 star hotels.

Two metro stations nearby - 21 st and Queensboro Plaza. It was sufficient to get around the city easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your to stay to the full extent. At Sleep Inn - LIC we aim to provide our best services and amenities in order to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We hope that you will come stay with us again very soon.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in New York and what a time I had. I wish I had placed a review online when I stayed but here goes.

Reception was clean and staff was very friendly.

View from our window was amazing overlooking the bridge I couldn' describe how nice it looked while the sun was out.

Rooms were totally clean and so was the bathroom.

round the corner from the hotel there is a shop which has a deli bar which serves all sorts of food for you so I would recommend you try it out as its really nice and cheap.

Queensbridge station is a 5min walk which will get you into town etc. The subline did confuse me a little but as my bestie has been there plenty of times I felt safe and we didn't encounter any problems.

Breakfast was lovely and they have a microwave so if you do bring food back you can always warm this up.

I travelled here in May-June 2012. Totally awesome trip and will go back.

Room Tip: From what I remember the rooms at the back are normally the quieter, although this may have changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar 0000
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked through booking.com.Got a great rate.Was pleasantly surprised with the amount of space in the room-unusual for New York.Breakfast was included and there was a nice selection from cereal, yogurt, eggs, bagels, juice, fruit,coffee etc. You could eat as much as you liked.Housekeeping do a fantastic job very clean room and bathroom. 3 minute walk from 21st Queensbridge subway. F train brings you to Coney Island or Mamhatten.Can connect to it from JFK airtrain. Neighbourhood looks a little unsafe but we were walking from subway after 11 and encountered no problems.There is a grocery store on the corner which also has a deli.Didn't buy food there so can't comment on that.Staff in hotel very friendly.Would stay here again& recommend it to others

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your most wonderful review. It is our great pleasure that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and satisfactory stay. We hope to continue our best of services so that all of our guests may enjoy the same quality of stay that you have enjoyed. Come see us again soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A new hotel directly between the Sleep in and Manhattan is blocking what used to be an excellent view. The Queensboro bridge is still fully visible, but it's not as great as it used to be.
The hotel even though it is new, is not perfectly cleaned. The room was good, but they need to step up the cleaning work in the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. Your review is very helpful to provide us with insight with what we can improve on. We understand the inconvenience of the location of the new hotel, and hope that as we improve our hotel and services our guests will feel more satisfied with their stay. Hope you come visit us again soon and have a more pleasant visit next time.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.