We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Miramar, Florida
1 review
“"Nice"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Friendly staff, clean and fresh room, good value for your money.
This hotel is near by the subway and very close to Manhattan. We will definitely be back to visit our family who lives in NYC and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    202
    52
    8
    8
See reviews for
114
131
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I wish they had someplace to put my makeup or flat iton when getting ready in the mornings. The shampoo and conditioner is nothing special. Bring your own. Other than that, comfy beds, small rooms, iron and ironing board, ok breakfast in the a.m. will stay in Times Square next time due to scary walk to subway station....didn't venture out after dark....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your hotel accommodations, and thank you for writing a detailed review of your experience. Our goal at Sleep Inn - LIC is to provide the best of services, so that our guests are fully satisfied upon their departure. It is our extreme displeasure that we were not able to provide an exceptional experience for you, and although we understand your hesitation regarding the neighborhood we hope that with upcoming developments you will be more inclined to stay with us and that you will have a quality stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Sleep Inn, since we got to the hotel (1 am) we were greeting with a smile, checked in quickly, given information about the area and our City View room confirmed. We get to our room and it smells fresh and clean. They do a really good job cleaning the room each day and replenishing toiletries, coffee, etc. We had a coffee machine that we used daily, a fridge that was a life saver and free wifi, not the greatest connection, I wouldn’t do banking on it, but sufficient to plan our day in the city. As I mentioned, the staff was super friendly, always smiling and helpful.

The subways station is 2 blocks away, you get to Times Square in 15 minutes and even though we got back every night around 2am, we always felt safe. Stop by the deli on the corner, highly recommend grabbing a bite to eat there, yummie and super cheap. Everyone was nice and accommodating. If you are thinking of reserving this hotel, don’t hesitate.

Room Tip: Get a City View room, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review of your stay. At Sleep Inn - LIC we aim to please, and hope that all our guests feel comfortable safe and attended to. We are hope that future guests will find your review helpful in choosing our hotel, and they enjoy the same benefits as you did. Surely come visit us again.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros: The staff is very friendly, the room clean, near to subway( 5 min), I had a great view of the city form our room (Qeensbridge, empire state building and sky scrapers), easy to visit city form this location, ok neighbourhood.
Cons: not many choices at breakfast and poor-medium quality. Compared to other hotels we searched, at least this hotel had breakfast included, so is 1/2 bad :).
Overall: I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from where you can se Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your detailed review of your stay at Sleep Inn - LIC. It is always a pleasure to know that our services provided a satisfactory visit to our guests. Your review is very important to us, and we will keep in mind to improve our breakfast selection. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were 6 motorcycles… One of us took the last parking place. (you need more). They managed to place 3 bikes in the spot… BUT. 3 bikes were left outside. The manager told us to park in the handicapped zone,,but one of the housekeeping guy thought it wasn't too good. He found us a just enough places for our 3 remaining bikes.. THIS IS CUSTOMER SERVICE.
2 metro lines nearby. 1 is one block from the Hotel and the other one about 4blocks.
Good corner restaurant for breakfast.
Localisation is good, not too far from highway.
ROOM WAS SUPER NICE!!!!

Room Tip: just get there. pricing is right at like 20minutes from manhattan by metro.. more expensive in Jerse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We extremely joyful that you were fully attended to and had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to keep up our services to provide the same exceptional visit to all of our guest. Hope you come visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family of 4 was in town for a long weekend and found the room to be very nicely clean and up to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful including directions for the subways and dining advice. The price was great, as was our view. The area between the subway station and hotel is a bit rough looking, but we never saw any trouble. Our only problem was construction on the subway line over the weekend which made the route a bit trickier. Also, the breakfast area was out of fruit for one day and had only apples another. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

It is our great pleasure that you were able to find our hotel comfortable and enjoy your stay. We understand the hesitation towards the neighborhood and hope that with the on going development you will find your next stay even better. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to each of our guests and make sure everyone enjoys the same valued service as you have.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

With very good service and comfortable rooms, the experience was over expected, we returned to the hotel past midnight for ten days with no problem. Next time surely we'll stay at this hotel. The 21th queenbridge subway station is only two blocks far to the hotel. You have others options for subway like Queens Plaza, eight blocks far to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with manhattan's view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is our extreme pleasure that we were able to provide an exceptional stay. We aim to meet all of our guest expectations to the best of our ability and make sure that guests feel comfortable and stress free. Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.