We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this location. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Had no issues with our room. We arrive very early and front desk staff tried to find a room so we can check in early. The free breakfast was good, but was very congested and couldn't find a table to sit. This location was very close to the subway system. Hotel's location is not best but felt very safe to get to the subway. We had a late departing flight, we were allowed to leave our bags with the front desk for $1 per bag. Getting to and from JFK Airport was easy due to it's location to the subway. F train to E train to Airtrain, simple.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    217
    60
    9
    10
See reviews for
124
138
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is really nice. It is very close to subway F. But there is no microwave in the room.
The hotel provide a piece of transportation information which tells you how to take F train to points of interest - BUT it only works for the week day. The F train changes its outbound route in weekend and holiday, which took me a while to figure it how to take the train back to hotel in weekends. It will be great if the hotel reminds the guests of the abnormal subway schedule for the weekends and holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Pros: room always clean, quite place to sleep, very close to metro station, only few mins from Manhanttan, quick breakfast included, good price in comparison to hotels in Manhattan.
Cons: wifi was bad or not available from our room, breakfast place was small, neighborhood seems to be unsecure.

In general was a good experience and is according to the price.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have view to NY skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely disappointed that our services and amenities did not provide you with a satisfactory stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests feel comfortable and positive about returning to our hotel. Your review is very important to us and we hope that you will come back to find a better stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

it is close to subway F. The room is small, no much places for suitcases. Room is clean. The breakfast from 6.30 to 9.30, and all basics can be found. Note that no microwave oven in room, free parking lot around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that our services and amenities were of convenience to you, and provided you with a great stay. We hope that future guests will find your review useful in choosing our hotel and that they will also enjoy their stay as well as you did. Hope you come back to enjoy more of our hotel.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you're traveling to visit Manhattan, NY this hotel can be your right choice (It's money). It's located just 5 minutes walking to 21st queen subway station where you can reach the Times Square with in 15 minutes using line F. The breakfast was also great served daily from 6 to 10 am. The staffs as well were friendly and helpful all times.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pros: friendly service, clean comfortable room, nice view, very close (2 blocks) to subway into Manhattan (2 stops/5 mins to 63rd St on F Train), decent rates

Cons: loud doors, slow elevator, tepid shower, sub-par breakfast, location in Queens may not suit all travelers - neighborhood, while safe, may seem "dodgy" to some

If you don't need to stay in Manhattan and plan on taking the subway around anyways, Sleep Inn LIC may just be a better choice than other, pricier properties elsewhere in the city. Outlying areas of Astoria and Long Island City offer local entertainment and dining options as well. Note limited parking in a neighborhood hardly overflowing with acceptable, available spots. I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest,

It is our great displeasure that you did not enjoy your stay to the full extent. We take extreme concern to all of our reviews and manage our activities in order to improve our services and amenities. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and have a more satisfactory stay.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A pretty decent hotel for the price and very convenient to the subway (like 2 blocks away). Not a ton of food beyond delis but hop on the subway and you'll be in NYC proper in no time. Room was kind of small but clean as well as the bathroom. Front desk was polite and quick. They were nice enough to let us leave our bags for a few hours instead of lugging them around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the conveniences provided from our hotel. Our goal is that all of our guests can leave well satisfied and feel welcome to choose us for their future visits. Hope that we will see you again for another wonderful stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.