We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choice of balance between comfort and price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Choice of balance between comfort and price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

During the week-long stay in New York for sightseeing with my wife and my daughter, we stayed at this hotel. We enjoyed the hospitality in terms of friendliness of the staff, room size and facilities available including the abundance of food at breakfast.
These conditions, combined with a fair price, compensate the distance from Manhattan, which, however, is easily accessible by Subway stop which is a short distance away.

Room Tip: My rating of the bedrooms is based on a single experience, I have to assume that all the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We strive to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied, and we hope that your review will find future guests who are looking for a great accommodation for their trip.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    193
    50
    8
    7
See reviews for
110
121
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mars, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For the price of this hotel, I cannot imagine a better option. Under $150 a night on the weekend. Do not be put off by the location. Yes, its quiet. Yes, its dark. Yes, its near the projects. We used the subway daily and never returned to our room until Midnight. We used the local convenience store and saw no trouble and were never concerned with the people in the area. During the day, the subway stop is full with a mixture of tourists and locals. Much quieter at night, but we were never alone. The hotel rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was just ok, but good enough. Staff was friendly. Same hotel in Manhattan would be $400+ a night. Stay here instead and you can still be in Times Square in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to write such a pleasing review. It is a great reward to know that our services were of satisfaction to you. Your review is very important for us and for future guests, as many guests are visiting the hotel for the first time your review can be very assuring. Hope that you will come visit us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

(We stayed 3 nights in April 2014).
Friendly and helpful staff.
Fast and efficient check-in check-out.
Room with two beds good enough for 4 people.
Dining room a bit crowded during breakfast.
Easy access to Manhattan by subway or a cab.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: A room on the east side have a nice view over Manhattan and Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your wonderful review, and are so glad you have enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our goal is to maintain our best services and amenities to assure all of our guests can enjoy a nice and comfortable stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing Sleep Inn - LIC, we hope that you will come stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was amazed when I stepped into this hotel. I was expecting very little and got a lot in return! I work in the area and needed to stay overnight for an early meeting. I know there are a few swanky hotels closer to my office for at least twice the price. Some colleagues stayed at the Z Hotel and it was nice-looking but twice the price, food was awful, no breakfast included and their service was mediocre. At the Sleep Inn you compromise having a "nice" neighborhood BUT the room was large, beds were so comfortable, service was impeccable, breakfast was great and included. The train is about 2 blocks away. The view of the 59th St Bridge was amazing...what a sight to wake up to. Room was incredibly clean. I strongly recommend staying here if you are willing to explore out of the typical tourist trap of midtown. NYC is so much more!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a remarkable review. We are so pleased that you found our hotel services and amenities to your full satisfaction. Such a wonderfully detailed review helps us and future guests to be able to find the best accommodation for their stay. Hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and our best friend stayed here for 5 nights in April. We had an excellent stay. This was all of our first trips to NYC and we were aware before arriving that the area in Queens/Long Island City might be a little sketchy, but let me set your mind at ease. We never were the least bit uncomfortable walking to and from the subway (which is just down the block, a walk you can make in under 5 minutes) even later at night. The hotel itself was clean, modern, and well equipped at this price point and the staff was great and friendly. Our room was much larger than expected and the three of us had ample room for our stay. We chose a city view room and were on the top floor with gorgeous panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline. The free breakfast saved us money and was very adequate, although the area for eating was always full and not really large enough (a very minor issue). Two subway stops take you right into the city and the F line has access to many of the areas tourists will want to see. We wouldn't hesitate to choose this location again.

Room Tip: We chose a city view room on the top floor and had beautiful views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so glad your stay was of five point satisfaction. We strive to make all our guest feel like they have had the best stay possible. We hope that your review helps prospective guests to feel more comfortable staying at our hotel. Hope that you will come back to enjoy many more stays with us.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The people at reception were all helpful and particular credit to Joe for his willingness to offer any travel tips. The location is good in that you are barely 20 minutes from Manhattan and 5 minutes walk from the nearest subway station. The view of Manhattan is none too shabby so ask for a room at the front!
The room was more than adequate with a king-size bed and serviceble bathroom.
Breakfasts were good and there were even two respectable hot dishes on offer.
Long Island City is worth considering as a location for price-quality compared with Manhattan and, unless you have mega-bucks, the view is better!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a great stay at this Sleep Inn. It was clean, comfy, and had a great staff at the front desk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family who need an affordable place to stay while visiting the city. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.