We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreeable in every way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Agreeable in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The people at reception were all helpful and particular credit to Joe for his willingness to offer any travel tips. The location is good in that you are barely 20 minutes from Manhattan and 5 minutes walk from the nearest subway station. The view of Manhattan is none too shabby so ask for a room at the front!
The room was more than adequate with a king-size bed and serviceble bathroom.
Breakfasts were good and there were even two respectable hot dishes on offer.
Long Island City is worth considering as a location for price-quality compared with Manhattan and, unless you have mega-bucks, the view is better!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    291
    78
    15
    11
See reviews for
164
196
39
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a great stay at this Sleep Inn. It was clean, comfy, and had a great staff at the front desk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family who need an affordable place to stay while visiting the city. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was surprised and delighted by how quiet and clean our room was. We had a great view of Manhattan from our 10th story room. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. Staff was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Hotel is near the subway, but the block isn't so good for a woman that travel alone. I arrived alone and it wasn't so good. I enjoyed breakfast. We were 4 in a room and the space wasn't enought to be comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

It is our extreme displeasure to know that you did not enjoy your long stay at our hotel. We understand that the neighborhood did not provide you comfort for your travels, and assure you that with the new and upcoming developments added with the best security your future stays should be more delightful. Our goal is to make all of our added services of full satisfaction to all our guests, and help them enjoy their grand visit to New York City. Hope that you will come back again so that we may provide you with an exceptional visit.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you are looking for budget accommodations close to Manhattan without the Manhattan high cost then this might be a good choice for you. We arrived at JKF and took the Air train to the subway and then subway to hotel. It took about an hour and cost only $7.50 per person. Getting from the hotel to Times Sq. was even easier. It took us less than 20 minutes and this included the 5 minute walk to the subway. We arrived at the hotel early (11:00am) and since our rooms were not ready they stored our luggage so that we could go the Yankee game. The area is not the nicest but we did not feel threatened in any way. Breakfast was the usual free hotel fare and was a good start for the day. The rooms were decent, showing a little wear and tear in places but for the cost they were more than adequate. Since we had a very early flight out of JFK (leaving at 6:30am) we decided to take a limo and the cost was $40.00 plus tip. I would recommend this hotel to seasoned travellers that understand that with budget costs come some compromises.

Room Tip: For a view of Manhattan, get a room that is 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your detailed review, it comes as a great aid to us to help us improve as well as future guests who would like a good budgeted and comfortable stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that if you come stay with us again we can provide you with a superb visit.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a okay hotel but rooms are nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I checked in with a lady name Isret. She introduced herself as such and was very efficient. We got free wifi, breakfast, and the hotel is right next to the train station so overall, I thought we got a great deal for the price we paid. I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five point review, we are very pleased that you were fully satisfied with your stay and our staff provided you with a warm welcoming. Your review is a great indication of what our guests find best so we can maintain the same level of service to all of our guests. We hope that future guests will find your review helpful in making their choice for their next hotel accommodations.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

it was our first time to NY and we didn't fancy shelling out $400 per night right in the city (hey, we're most sleeping right) so after reading a few reviews, we opted for the sleep inn.
its $20 to the cit in cab. we took a Town car and it was only $30 with a tip.and a pleasant ride.
I believe the subway is only a cuple of blocks away.
Nice clean rooms of a reasonable size.
Godd complimentary breakfast.. (what is the American fascination with donuts for breakfast??)
They must have taken note of someones comment on the carpet, because it was very clean.
The staff were very rteous and helpful.
We definetly recommend it to others and would definetly stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#14 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.