We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Georgetown, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good budget choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you are looking for budget accommodations close to Manhattan without the Manhattan high cost then this might be a good choice for you. We arrived at JKF and took the Air train to the subway and then subway to hotel. It took about an hour and cost only $7.50 per person. Getting from the hotel to Times Sq. was even easier. It took us less than 20 minutes and this included the 5 minute walk to the subway. We arrived at the hotel early (11:00am) and since our rooms were not ready they stored our luggage so that we could go the Yankee game. The area is not the nicest but we did not feel threatened in any way. Breakfast was the usual free hotel fare and was a good start for the day. The rooms were decent, showing a little wear and tear in places but for the cost they were more than adequate. Since we had a very early flight out of JFK (leaving at 6:30am) we decided to take a limo and the cost was $40.00 plus tip. I would recommend this hotel to seasoned travellers that understand that with budget costs come some compromises.

Room Tip: For a view of Manhattan, get a room that is 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your detailed review, it comes as a great aid to us to help us improve as well as future guests who would like a good budgeted and comfortable stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that if you come stay with us again we can provide you with a superb visit.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    229
    63
    10
    10
See reviews for
131
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a okay hotel but rooms are nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I checked in with a lady name Isret. She introduced herself as such and was very efficient. We got free wifi, breakfast, and the hotel is right next to the train station so overall, I thought we got a great deal for the price we paid. I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five point review, we are very pleased that you were fully satisfied with your stay and our staff provided you with a warm welcoming. Your review is a great indication of what our guests find best so we can maintain the same level of service to all of our guests. We hope that future guests will find your review helpful in making their choice for their next hotel accommodations.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

it was our first time to NY and we didn't fancy shelling out $400 per night right in the city (hey, we're most sleeping right) so after reading a few reviews, we opted for the sleep inn.
its $20 to the cit in cab. we took a Town car and it was only $30 with a tip.and a pleasant ride.
I believe the subway is only a cuple of blocks away.
Nice clean rooms of a reasonable size.
Godd complimentary breakfast.. (what is the American fascination with donuts for breakfast??)
They must have taken note of someones comment on the carpet, because it was very clean.
The staff were very rteous and helpful.
We definetly recommend it to others and would definetly stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here three nights and I wish I would have booked this hotel also for the latter part of our New York holiday instead of double priced hotel in China Town, Manhattan. Subway station is really close by, so it doen't really matter if the neighbourhood is kind of depressing, you don't really have to see that so much! Just spend the days in Manhattan and when you feel like sleeping you take the short and quick subway ride back to the hotel!

Room was clean, staff was helpful and I loved the doughnut-breakfast! Only negative things during our stay were group of French kids who made noise in the hallway of our floor late in the evening (so doors are not soundproofing), noisy air conditioner (cannot really keep it on during night unless you sleep with ear plugs) and Wi-fi that did not work in our room (but it worked very well in the lobby, and there is also a computer and a printer you can use!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you are satisfied with our hotel. We strive to make every guest have an exceptional stay and help them to enjoy all the perks that are provided from our wonderful city. Your review is very important to us in helping us make proper decisions in improving the services and amenities we provide. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and have an extremely satisfactory stay the second time.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were four females (age 17 to 60) staying for 6 nights and only needed a hotel to sleep and shower so for this it was great. Bathroom was clean but had a very small counter and housekeeping always left only ONE washcloth so daily had to ask for more. Beds were comfortable. Hall and room carpet is in desperate need of cleaning. Breakfast was a zoo. Too many people in too small of an area and was always messy. The lobby is tiny and furniture is shabby. If you would rather spend your money on sightseeing and just need a good bed to sleep in then this is a good pace to stay. Subway is super close and in 10 minutes you're in Manhattan. If you want to relax in and enjoy your hotel then pay more and stay elsewhere. All depends on your priority/budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnLIC, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are regretful that you were dissatisfied with our hotel amenities and services, and did not enjoy your stay. Our mission is to make sure every guest is comfortable and attended to. Your review lets us know how we can improve and help make sure that no future guests will have the same bad experience. As we mend our hotel services and amenities to better serve our guests we hope that you will come back and give us another chance to make your stay wonderful.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting Manhattan. Everything was up-to-date and very clean. Our room was on the front side of the hotel so we had a beautiful view of the bridge and the skyline! The area outside of the hotel doesn't look like much but it is only a few minutes walk to the nearest subway and only about a 10 min subway ride to Manhattan. Very convenient at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Front side of the hotel for a city view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Great stay, so close to the subway takes you into Manhattan in minutes. Breakfast was a plus. And the staff super helpful got us a cab very late at night. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Quiet neighborhood otherwise ran into no trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.