We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Comfortable Stay at the Sleep Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Nice Comfortable Stay at the Sleep Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Cleanliness, Cordial staff, and Convenient location are the three C's that made my stay at this Sleep Inn property a pleasant experience. Being a visitor from Texas I was impressed by the room space in a "king" bed room. During my previous NYC stays at various hotels, inns, etc. the "king" rooms have been much tighter.....space limited. I would book a "king" room here again, as well as recommend this property to family and friends planning to visit the NYC area.

Room Tip: If the subway is your preferred mode of transportation during your NYC stay, this location is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review, it is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that we can continue to provide the same experience to all of our guests, and that they also find the three C's fully satisfactory. Come visit us again from Texas!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    227
    63
    10
    10
See reviews for
130
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights. The room was quite small, the housekeepers begin early and are very noisy but the hotel is very good for the price. It is very easy to get into Manhattan; if you don't take the F train which is 2 blocks away, it's a 10 minute walk to the E train to Manhattan. The bagels at breakfast were fresh but the scrambled eggs were a tragedy. The only drawback was that this hotel is located on a dark street off the main street. It's a little scary coming back at midnight as I did one night. I had a view of the Queensboro Bridge; that was nice even though the view is obstructed. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an insightful review. We always appreciate learning what we can do to further improve our services and amenities. It is unfortunate that our housekeeping staff gave you disturbance in your stay, we assure you everyone will be informed and we will better our housekeeping procedures to allow no disturbance to any of our future guests. We hope that you come back again and we can provide a better satisfactory stay next time around.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elderslie .scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with wife and kids last week whilst touring East coast. I understand why some might say it's not the best area, but we were out most nights and never felt threatened. We even had to walk a good few blocks on the first night as the nearest subway was closed for a night. It's perfect for just jumping on the metro and being in Times Square after around 5 stops or 20 mins. Good breakfast, decent size rooms but parking is a bit pricey at $25 per night and garage is super tight. All in all but, I would use here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel para estancia corta en NYC. Excelente atención y ubicación, a pocos minutos de la linea F que lleva a Manhattan en 10 min. Tiene vista espectacular desde sus habitaciones... Queensbrigde y el skyline de la ciudad es parte de lo que ves ¡Recomendado! A hotel for a short stay in NYC. Excellent service y location, just a few minutes to Metro F line to Manhattan and 10 minutes aprox in the subway. It has an amazing view from the room... You can see Queensbrigde and NYC Skyline ¡Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Its best features are the excellent location (a few minutes walking distance from the subway station or a great walk over the Queensborough Bridge :)), clean and spacious rooms (we had the one with the view of Manhattan so ask for those rooms), quite a good breakfast selection and a corner shop and Subway right around the corner. The one negative experience we had in the hotel is the cleaning lady throwing away our empty shopping bags (not placed near the trash can) but luckily nothing important was lost forever :). Also, the pictures of the rooms are just like on their website and the staff was mostly helpful and polite. As far as I can rememeber, it seemed quite favourable in comparison with other Long Island hotels and with the best location. In terms of safety, we had no problems whatsover during our 12-day stay but I can see why the neighbourhood can cause concern for some people. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the one overlooking Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review, we hope that future guests find it very helpful in their search for a comfortable hotel. We would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience with our housekeeping staff, it is very regretful that such a mishap had occurred. We have reviewed this matter with our housekeeping section in order to make sure that this event does not repeat itself.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we can provide an exceptional stay on your future stay.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, great assortment of breakfast items, (but no healthy choices). Very close to subway 2 blocks. Looks like a low income area, but we were fine. Employees were very friendly and helpful with our questions. Would stay here again, nice quiet area with excellent price and short subway to the city.

Room Tip: We faced the city could see the lights at night. Room was small, 1 queen size bed for daughter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasing review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a very comfortable stay. We hope that future guests will feel the same with their stay and that we continue to provide our best of services.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.