We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Bowmanville, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, welcoming and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, great assortment of breakfast items, (but no healthy choices). Very close to subway 2 blocks. Looks like a low income area, but we were fine. Employees were very friendly and helpful with our questions. Would stay here again, nice quiet area with excellent price and short subway to the city.

Room Tip: We faced the city could see the lights at night. Room was small, 1 queen size bed for daughter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasing review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a very comfortable stay. We hope that future guests will feel the same with their stay and that we continue to provide our best of services.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    177
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
96
108
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very friendly staff, away from the hustle of the city. Subway was walking distance. Breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here vs staying in the city. Front desk was helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time out to write a kind review. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed our stay at our hotel, and found everything comfortable and convenient. We hope to provide the same great services to all our guest.

Come see us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

great for the price the room are good size just for sleep clean clean and ready every day and that is so pleasant when you walk all day bathroom with all towels enough shampoo conditioner soap really good breakfast with egg sausages bagels yogurt fruit milk coffee excellent location near subway good if you spend the nigh i recommended :)

Room Tip: to the bridge :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed all of our services and amenities. We hope that we continue providing our best of services to all our guests so they can enjoy their stay as much as you did.

Come visit us again!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Great employees, clean, fresh rooms, hot breakfast and a nice view of Manhattan at a good price. Located a quik walk from the F line subway. Elevators are a bit slow. Don't be afraid to take the stairs. Breakfast is good. I recommend the cheese danish and fresh fruit. Eat early as it can get crowded near the end of breakfast hours. We will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services. We hope that you will come back again soon and that we may keep up with your great expectations.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a nice clean spacious room on the 8th floor with city view, breakfast area was small but breakfast itself includes all you need. Our room was next to the vending machines and elevators so occasionally you could have some noise from the machines, but we didn't hear the elevators. No street noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Subway only two blocks away (20 to 25 minutes to Manhattan). Just around the corner a small grocery store and local diner. Storage room available for luggage. With subway about 1hour to get to JFK airport. Neighborhood looks rather peculiar but save. We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure that you had such a satisfactory stay. We hope that we continue to provide our best services for all our guests. Hope that you enjoyed your visit and will come back again to explore more of New York City.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I got a great deal on this property using priceline. $69/night. Minutes from Manhattan. Free breakfast included. Free wifi. How can you beat that? I checked out the reviews first and, overall, it looked like a decent place. So, I bit.

I was traveling with my 12 year old daughter and 16 year old son, so when I checked in, I asked the desk staff if the neighborhood was safe. They assured me it was, adding that they often work late shifts and walk home or to the subway from the hotel without any problems. I took their word for it, which, in hindsight, was a mistake.

On our last night there, we were in the midst of the 5 minute walk back to the hotel from the subway at around 10 PM. An unmarked police car hit his siren and pulled over to the sidewalk where we were walking. He was very polite and asked if we were from the area. I said no, and that we were walking back to our hotel. He asked if we were familiar with the area. Again, I said no. He hesitated and then said, "Well, just be careful. OK?" Well, that pretty much freaked us out and we high-tailed it back to the hotel.

Once safely back in our room, I did a little more digging into the neighborhood (something I should have done first, I know). Turns out the large brick buildings across the street from the hotel, which I thought were apartments, are actually part of the nations largest housing project called Queensbridge. Now, I am in no way placing judgement on people who live in public housing, but I think even many Queensbridge residents would admit that the area is plagued with drug activity and crime. In fact, just a few days before our stay there was a shooting there. I also found out that the area has been referenced in several rap songs written by the rappers who came from that neighborhood.

It's a shame, because I really liked the hotel itself. The rooms were super clean and updated. The breakfast was a nice touch and certainly added to the value of the room. But, you just can't place a price tag on safety, which is why I would never choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our grave disappointment that you did not enjoy your stay as comfortably as we hoped. We understand your hesitation on the location of our hotel and we hope that as the area develops it will help guests be more comfortable. We are glad that you had a chance to visit us and hope that in better circumstances we will see you again.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Dear Adviser
just to let you know Im from Belfast Ireland we stayed in this hotel and have read some of your reviews and can I say that alot of the persons staying at this hotel and running the hotel and staff down are absolute rubbish and should be ashamed to do so>
On arrival we were greeted by the lovely front desk staff you could not a very helpful and yes best staffing levels questions were answered and the room service was amazing.
If you need a very good value for money hotel please pick this one as the view of manhatton is one to beat and your only 20 minutes by subway train the F train is 5 to 6 minute on 21st street a map is provided at the front desk if you ask and they are great to explain .
If you like food thats easy excess I recommend the local chinese food its lovely and there is a spicy food bar the corner also very nice food and fresh and hot.
A subway food chain is only 3 minutes walk to round the corner if you like something fresh also.
A taxi to Penn station is only 25 dollars a weekly subway train ticket is 30 dollars and allows you to ride on the nyc subway for a full wek and all the Q Bus services.
Ok if you like clothes why not take abus ride to marshalls on the Q69 bus and theres is a good store there Nothern BLV.
OK if you like to try the subway the why not go to the city and take the tube to central park and see John lennons strawberry fields also 34 th street maceys and see the shrine of the owners which lost there lives in the titanic.
what great trip to new york go to woodbury common and see one of the biggest outlets for disigner label clothes again please dont go by this hotel as its cheaper and better than some of your top priced hotels in NYC I hope my review makes you stay here remember im irish and yes I can say its one of the best priced valur places to stay enjoy your stay in Newyork in the 8 days of our stay the breakfast was the best the cleaning staff were great the night staff.
I forgot to say also good wifi and great plasma tv also and good beds to sleep in..

Room Tip: Ok please ask for room over looking the queens bride and on the 5th floor or above its amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your impeccable review, it was our extreme pleasure to serve you to your full satisfaction. We hope that future guests find your review to be helpful and choose to visit your suggestions for places to shop and eat. Our hotel mission is to provide each of our guests our best services and amenities so that all of our guests can enjoy their visit as you have.

Hope that you will come visit us again, and we aim to make your next visit even more enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.