We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Sochi, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We liked everything! First, it was easy to get there from JFK(take E train ,change toF at union TNPK, get off at21queensbridge)and to find it (5min from the station).check in was very fast .the staff is friendly .room is clean and well furnished.we had a wonderful view (Manhattan skyscrapers),lived on the 4th floor.there's a buffet and some small groceries round the corner.we didn't have any problems coming back late at night (area is OK).the hotel is only 10minutes to manhattan by train.it's really worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your good experience.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our Rooms to be clean and comfortable.We are proud of our staff and it is great to hear that they provide excellent customer service.

It means a lot to our Sleep Inn Family that we have met up to our guest's expectations.We welcome you with open arms upon your next visit.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards
Sleep Inn-LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    227
    63
    10
    10
See reviews for
130
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel on the 5-9th of March.
The hotel is good in general. Rooms are good furnished and clean. But the neighbourhood looks shabby.
The only thing that disappointed us was that we were wrongly charged 1000$ for different room.
The personnel told us that they confused us with other guest from Russia.
They promised to return money in a few days. This was unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for Choosing Sleep inn.We are pleased to hear that you loved the decor and cleanliness of our rooms,But we do apologize for the inconvenience due to the wrong charge made on your credit card and as we promised you will see refund soon.

We truly do care and want all of our guests to have a comfortable and a pleasantly memorable experience. We hope to see you again.

Thanks for staying us!

Best Regards
Sleep Inn-LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I find hotel excellent very good locactin and service.
Flee home and comfortable to staff very kind people.
For breakfast it will be great adding one or two item Asia food.

Over roll hospitality is very good thanks.

Will vista again.

Best regards
Riswan

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
we want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall experience during your visit and we definitely hope to have managed our Sleep Inn Hotel, to become as your future "fav" hotel.Also thank you for suggesting some asian food items for break-fast and will discuss about this with our management.

They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff is professional and friendly. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is nice too. It would be nice if they would use better quality orange and apple juice and real sausage. No pancakes either.

Parking is $25.00 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Manhattan, 4th Floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. All reviews from our guest are important to our Sleep Inn Team . We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.We do apologize that you didn't like the quality of breakfast(juice and sausages) and will definitely work on this and will make sure that upon your next visit we provide you with best quality of breakfast.

We are committed to delivering the best customer service possible and we are happy that you got to meet them.

Best Regards
Sleep Inn-LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Working class neighborhood with some sorry looking buildings nearby, but for those accustomed to urban life, it an OK place. Breakfast acceptable & the staff are friendly. If you want a reasonably priced place just outside of Midtown, this is probably for you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel, and for our helpful review. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We hope that you may give us another chance to redeem ourselves and provide you with exceptional service. If you reconsider staying with us please let our staff know beforehand so that we may suite you with our best possible accommodations.

Best regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed New York. However, the hotel left a bit to be desired. No parking in the hotel and if there was it would have been 25$ a day. It was mainly our check in that left us with a poor taste.

We booked via the Choice Hotels website. Apparently you need the credit card that you paid with to check in. The room was fully paid almost 2 months in advance. I forgot this card and it caused a major issue at check in. When you start a mini vacation with issues it sours the entire affair. Also, since we are self employed the internet connection was a must. Early in the day the wireless worked ok, but at the end of the day it was very poor at best. Either we could not connect or it was majorly slow.

In any case, other than that, the breakfast was good, the staff friendly, the rooms clean.

Room Tip: For budget conscious this is a good value. But remember, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, it is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay to your full expectations. Due to our hotel policy we require the credit card used for the payment to help our guests avoid fraudulent charges, we would sincerely like to apologize for any inconvenience this has cost you.

At our hotel we are constantly updating in order to provide all our guests with a comfortable, safe and hassle-free stay, and we appreciate your review in helping us do so.

We hope that we will have another chance to provide you with exceptional service.

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are perfectly clean. Small but that's the norm in the area. The breakfast was good; eggs, sausage, yogurts, cereal etc. Area is slightly shady looking BUT I felt perfectly safe during the day with my two teenage daughters. Arty night, not as much but I'm a woman with two teenage daughters. We just made sure to be in before 9 or 10. VERY convenient to the F train that will take you right into the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep I, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn - Long Island City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
To our courteous guest,

We would like to thank you for your generous review, and hope that we can keep doing our best to help you have a safe, comfortable and hassle-free stay.

If you consider staying with us please let our staff know beforehand so that we may suite you with our best possible accommodations. Hope to see you again at our location!

Best Regards,
Sleep Inn - LIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.