We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is clean and breakfast is plenty. The room is comfortable but the black spot was that they wanted to keep copy of my driver license for their records! It is illegal. I provided several pic ID and I reserved with weeks in advance, and I used same credit card number to pay, and still they wanted to keep copy of my driver license. I did not allow it.The Lady Monica is very rude: When I asked her why to keep copy of my drv lic she just made me sign twice comparing my signature with the drv lic. Otherwise, everything else is very good.

Room Tip: If you want a city view (really it is not), you have to pay $20 a night. They may reduce it to $10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    210
    56
    8
    9
See reviews for
118
134
28
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of spending to much on lodging however I want a clean bed and friendly staff. This place exceeded both of those expectations. You cannot beat the close distance to the F train to attractions in downtown NYC. For the price the room was awesome. I requested city view and my kids loved it. If you are parking there know this the spaces are tiny!!! If you park on the street you have to move your car by 8:00 am daily. If your doing all public transit and want to have more money to spend on other fun stuff in NYC this is the hotel for you.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had a double charge from the hotel on our credit card and they didn't release the amount they double charged us!when i said to the girl at the reception that we don't have money not even for a coffee because we were depending only on our credit card she rudely answered me ''stay here and drink cofee,we have a lot!''finally we got our money back when we came back at our country 1 week later!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Choosing a hotel in New York wasn't very difficult once me and my better half booked our ticket. Back in 2011 I had a great experience with the Howard Johnson Long Island City hotel in the Queensbridge area. The only visible change when making the booking was the change of chain. Judging by price and recent reviews, not much had changed. So the booking was made. Unfortunately, my previous Tripadvisor review is not available anymore, probably due to the chain change. So here we go, my most recent experience...only a week old :)

- Located in the Queensbridge area of Long Island City, Queens.
- It takes only 2 minutes by foot to reach 21 st/Queensbridge subway station. If you arrive in NYC by plane at JFK, it takes about 30 minutes to reach the hotel from Jamaica subway station. The F-train is your personal guide into NYC if you're staying at the Sleep Inn! Downtown Manhattan can be reached in about 10 minutes, 24/7!
- Helpful and friendly staff
- Clean and well maintained rooms. Our great kingsize bed gave us all the rest and comfort we needed after our long and exhausting days in NYC.
- Free wi-fi!

There is one major con about the Sleep Inn: Breakfast is usually included in your rate. And although the buffet is basic but OK, the breakfast area is (still) too small for the number of people that stay here. On our first morning, we were pretty much forced to have breakfast in our room since there was no space to enjoy our breakfast, even after waiting for about 20 minutes for some free seats.

Some people were not very happy with the surroundings of the hotel. I can imagine the feeling when you arrive in the Queensbridge area for the first time. But don't let the surroundings scare you off. Today's New York is NOT the New York of the 70s and 80s. Long Island City has come a long way. And although the Queensbridge area does not look really inviting, it is in no way dangerous! The streets are busy at all times, police can be found at any corner and the locals really don't mind you and are helpful if you are in need.

As expensive as the great city of New York is, there are a lot of hidden gems located throughout the city. The Sleep Inn Long Island City (formerly Howard Johnson) still offers the best value for your money if you need a hotel only 10 minutes away from downtown Manhattan. It's clean, friendly and much cheaper than most middle class hotels in Manhattan! Still highly recommended, and still my number one choice in my number one city!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Manhattan view for the ultimate NYC experience. Unless you don't mind lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent two nights there and loved it.
The staff is very helpful and friendly and the room was cozy, clean and very quiet.
The breakfast was fantastic and had plenty of items.
The subway is just two short blocks away! Sweet.
That means your are in Manhattan in 15 minutes.
Take the F train the other direction and you are only one stop away from a string of fantastic Indian restaurants. Great food and lots of fun things to see.That area is called Jackson Heights
I give the Sleep Inn stars A++++.
We WILL be back!
Bill and Joan Ruppert

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed there for 10 days in the double queen bed room as three person family. Queen bed width is enough for two person. Room dimensions are very adequate. We have used both city view and rear view guest rooms. They do not accept but city view rooms looking at queensboro bridge, are larger than rear rooms. The hotel after some renovations had changed its name from Howard Johnson to one of the brands of Choice Hotels group. The İndian boss owns both hotels back to back, sleep inn & best western plaza. The two hotels are of same architectural construction. Sleep İnn's TA rating is higher that is why we have preferred. The area is full of car repair shops and car park and are in urban transformation project. The hotel price is half of the Manhattan area hotels. Breakfast room is small but you can not go without eating. There is cream cheese, but lack of real cheese is unacceptable. Wi-fi is quite speedy. Many İndians are working in the hotel. Everyday the room is cleaned, but windows are not cleaned at all. 21st street Queensbridge metro station is very close to the hotel. The back of the metro station there are block of flats which is said to be unsafe as driver told us. You can overcome that by walking fast in the middle of the road after the avenue and turn right to the hotel immediately. Near the metro station, Police is on duty whole day by means of high observation crane and car. We did not have any trouble at all during our stay. Metro operates 24 hrs. The ticket is $ 2.50 and taxi $ 13 - 18 depending where you hop in around Times square. You can reach fifth avenue by 3 stops or go queensboro plaza station for direct 34th street Times square station. You pay about $ 50 for taxi from J.F.Kennedy airport to the Hotel. We have returned to hotel by metro at weekends and by taxi other late nights for safety purposes. Do not forget to buy $ 30 metro card for 7 days unlimited travel. The İndian receptionist could not manage to make the repair of the water drainage in the shower basin. İt is my only complaint. Early reservation is cheaper if hotels are full at the time you arrive. Check out the prices of Edison & Hotel Pennsylvania in the city center which can be of the same price as Sleep İnn. This hotel quıte satisfies guests with price/quality ratio as a summary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while attending a family wedding; it was recommended by our relatives who live in New York.
Initially we found the place a little tricky to find as it is hidden behind a Best Western but luckily we went into the Best Western to ask directions and were directed through the carpark to the Sleep Inn. We arrived in the evening and, although the hotel is situated in what might be known as "the projects", didn't feel particularly intimidated.
We were impressed with the standard of the accommodation, cleanliness, comfort and friendly service. Rooms were of a good size and equipped with fridge, coffee maker, safe, hairdryer and iron.
Located in Long Island city, the hotel is 2 subway stops from the centre of Manhattan, without the Manhattan price tag. The local subway stop (21st and Queensway) was surprisingly user friendly and only a 3 minute walk away.
Breakfast was a bit of an event: the breakfast room is really rather small and it was often a bit of a squash to get everyone in comfortably. Having said that, the continental breakfast selection was excellent and this may have been reflected in the extra time spent by some residents in the breakfast room!
I would stay here again without question if visiting New York again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.