We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get afraid of the neighbourhood police is on duty day&night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't get afraid of the neighbourhood police is on duty day&night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed there for 10 days in the double queen bed room as three person family. Queen bed width is enough for two person. Room dimensions are very adequate. We have used both city view and rear view guest rooms. They do not accept but city view rooms looking at queensboro bridge, are larger than rear rooms. The hotel after some renovations had changed its name from Howard Johnson to one of the brands of Choice Hotels group. The İndian boss owns both hotels back to back, sleep inn & best western plaza. The two hotels are of same architectural construction. Sleep İnn's TA rating is higher that is why we have preferred. The area is full of car repair shops and car park and are in urban transformation project. The hotel price is half of the Manhattan area hotels. Breakfast room is small but you can not go without eating. There is cream cheese, but lack of real cheese is unacceptable. Wi-fi is quite speedy. Many İndians are working in the hotel. Everyday the room is cleaned, but windows are not cleaned at all. 21st street Queensbridge metro station is very close to the hotel. The back of the metro station there are block of flats which is said to be unsafe as driver told us. You can overcome that by walking fast in the middle of the road after the avenue and turn right to the hotel immediately. Near the metro station, Police is on duty whole day by means of high observation crane and car. We did not have any trouble at all during our stay. Metro operates 24 hrs. The ticket is $ 2.50 and taxi $ 13 - 18 depending where you hop in around Times square. You can reach fifth avenue by 3 stops or go queensboro plaza station for direct 34th street Times square station. You pay about $ 50 for taxi from J.F.Kennedy airport to the Hotel. We have returned to hotel by metro at weekends and by taxi other late nights for safety purposes. Do not forget to buy $ 30 metro card for 7 days unlimited travel. The İndian receptionist could not manage to make the repair of the water drainage in the shower basin. İt is my only complaint. Early reservation is cheaper if hotels are full at the time you arrive. Check out the prices of Edison & Hotel Pennsylvania in the city center which can be of the same price as Sleep İnn. This hotel quıte satisfies guests with price/quality ratio as a summary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    124
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
76
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while attending a family wedding; it was recommended by our relatives who live in New York.
Initially we found the place a little tricky to find as it is hidden behind a Best Western but luckily we went into the Best Western to ask directions and were directed through the carpark to the Sleep Inn. We arrived in the evening and, although the hotel is situated in what might be known as "the projects", didn't feel particularly intimidated.
We were impressed with the standard of the accommodation, cleanliness, comfort and friendly service. Rooms were of a good size and equipped with fridge, coffee maker, safe, hairdryer and iron.
Located in Long Island city, the hotel is 2 subway stops from the centre of Manhattan, without the Manhattan price tag. The local subway stop (21st and Queensway) was surprisingly user friendly and only a 3 minute walk away.
Breakfast was a bit of an event: the breakfast room is really rather small and it was often a bit of a squash to get everyone in comfortably. Having said that, the continental breakfast selection was excellent and this may have been reflected in the extra time spent by some residents in the breakfast room!
I would stay here again without question if visiting New York again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sleep Inn - excellent value; friendly service; only 2 short blocks/ 5" walk to the 21st Street & Queensbridge Station; only 4 train stops to Rockefeller Station in Midtown Manhattan (about 15"). The area is industrial and a bit run-down but there's enough people on the street that we didn't feel unsafe walking to/from the hotel. We had five people in our two queen beds plus a rollaway bed room). The continental breakfast was sufficient (baked goods, scrambled eggs, fruit & yogurt, breads, milk, juices) and tasty. Beds were quite comfortable and room was clean. Would stay there again. A great alternative to the high-priced hotels in NYC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is close to the F line subway into Manhattan, this makes it an affordable option for those unable to stay in the city.

The breakfast was clean and well stocked, and a great add on included in the room price. There is also a convenience store on the corner with is great for picking a few things up.

Reception is helpful, and provided directions to several locations within the city with ease. The hotel does have thin walls; but is great value for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is very close to the F Line Subway so a ride into Manhattan is quick and easy. The hotel has a breakfast included which was sufficient and tasty. Staff was excellent in every way. Room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is the location. It is tucked away in a somewhat industrial area but we found it not to be a problem since it is so close to the subway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my daughter in a king bedded room with a Manhattan view...and what a view. It was simply breathtaking and what a way to start a holiday!

We got a taxi from the airport which cost $45 plus a tip, but we used the subway to return as we had got the hang of it by then.

The immediate area is a little bleak and when we arrived at night it seemed a little dark and scary but the following day we could see that the area was fine and we always felt safe there.
There really isn't anywhere to go nearby, apart from the corner shop, but we only slept here and all our time was spent out and about in Manhattan.

The king bed was enormous, much bigger than in the UK, and the room was clean and comfortable with full bathroom, Wi-Fi, TV, hairdryer, safe, ironing board and iron at no extra charge. The room was cleaned daily with towels changed every day and sheets every other day.

I'm quite fussy about hotel bedrooms, but I had no complaints here.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the breakfast room staff who kept everything topped up quickly.

I don't know why people on here have complained about the breakfast...there's everything most people could want.

You can have cereal, toast, scrambled egg, donuts, bagels, cream cheese, preserves, fresh fruit, yoghurts, coffee, juice etc...probably a lot more than most people would normally have. You need to leave some room for those massive portions of food they serve in Manhattan!

The breakfast room did get a little crowded, but there was a 2nd room to use or you could take the breakfast back to your room. We got a table every day so I don't think it's too much of a problem.

The subway, 21st Street station, is only a 3 minute walk, and we bought an Unlimited Ride 7 day metro card there ($30) which we used to travel all over Manhattan, the Staten Island ferry, Roosevelt Island cable car and into Brooklyn. It was excellent value and something I would recommend.

This hotel was well priced for such a good standard, compared to Manhattan, and I would definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to come back to New York.

Room Tip: A high room with a Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is just about 30 mins away from Manhattan Times Square.
The neighborhood is safe enough.
Rooms were clean and well kept and front desk personnel that handled us during our morning check in was very accomodating.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York
Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.