We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative to high priced NYC hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
West Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to high priced NYC hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sleep Inn - excellent value; friendly service; only 2 short blocks/ 5" walk to the 21st Street & Queensbridge Station; only 4 train stops to Rockefeller Station in Midtown Manhattan (about 15"). The area is industrial and a bit run-down but there's enough people on the street that we didn't feel unsafe walking to/from the hotel. We had five people in our two queen beds plus a rollaway bed room). The continental breakfast was sufficient (baked goods, scrambled eggs, fruit & yogurt, breads, milk, juices) and tasty. Beds were quite comfortable and room was clean. Would stay there again. A great alternative to the high-priced hotels in NYC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    218
    60
    9
    10
See reviews for
126
138
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is close to the F line subway into Manhattan, this makes it an affordable option for those unable to stay in the city.

The breakfast was clean and well stocked, and a great add on included in the room price. There is also a convenience store on the corner with is great for picking a few things up.

Reception is helpful, and provided directions to several locations within the city with ease. The hotel does have thin walls; but is great value for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is very close to the F Line Subway so a ride into Manhattan is quick and easy. The hotel has a breakfast included which was sufficient and tasty. Staff was excellent in every way. Room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is the location. It is tucked away in a somewhat industrial area but we found it not to be a problem since it is so close to the subway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my daughter in a king bedded room with a Manhattan view...and what a view. It was simply breathtaking and what a way to start a holiday!

We got a taxi from the airport which cost $45 plus a tip, but we used the subway to return as we had got the hang of it by then.

The immediate area is a little bleak and when we arrived at night it seemed a little dark and scary but the following day we could see that the area was fine and we always felt safe there.
There really isn't anywhere to go nearby, apart from the corner shop, but we only slept here and all our time was spent out and about in Manhattan.

The king bed was enormous, much bigger than in the UK, and the room was clean and comfortable with full bathroom, Wi-Fi, TV, hairdryer, safe, ironing board and iron at no extra charge. The room was cleaned daily with towels changed every day and sheets every other day.

I'm quite fussy about hotel bedrooms, but I had no complaints here.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the breakfast room staff who kept everything topped up quickly.

I don't know why people on here have complained about the breakfast...there's everything most people could want.

You can have cereal, toast, scrambled egg, donuts, bagels, cream cheese, preserves, fresh fruit, yoghurts, coffee, juice etc...probably a lot more than most people would normally have. You need to leave some room for those massive portions of food they serve in Manhattan!

The breakfast room did get a little crowded, but there was a 2nd room to use or you could take the breakfast back to your room. We got a table every day so I don't think it's too much of a problem.

The subway, 21st Street station, is only a 3 minute walk, and we bought an Unlimited Ride 7 day metro card there ($30) which we used to travel all over Manhattan, the Staten Island ferry, Roosevelt Island cable car and into Brooklyn. It was excellent value and something I would recommend.

This hotel was well priced for such a good standard, compared to Manhattan, and I would definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to come back to New York.

Room Tip: A high room with a Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is just about 30 mins away from Manhattan Times Square.
The neighborhood is safe enough.
Rooms were clean and well kept and front desk personnel that handled us during our morning check in was very accomodating.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stay here all the time for business which brings me to my customer in Times Square. The neighborhood is not the best, but it is 2 blocks from the 21st St. Queensbridge station on the F line and only 5 stops from 42nd St. downtown. Clean and decently appointed rooms and a courteous staff. If I had to pick downsides, they would be the neighborhood and the lack of dining options nearby, bur the Subway around the corner is my go-to place after a long day at the office.
The main upside is what you get for your money for the proximity to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.