We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claudia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    219
    60
    9
    10
See reviews for
126
138
33
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good stay this August. Thank you former tripadvidor members for honest, on point reviews, made my choice of hotel is good one.
Easy check it, small one, expected for ny standards, ac did have a smell but we let it run for hours and the smell was gone. Clean room, comfortable sleep, quite sleep too. No for breakfast. We did DD, walking distance.
We drove half the time and walked half the time felt safe but was not out past 10pm.
Parking is costly but remember it is 24 hrs so time your checking in wisely i did. stay 4 days and payed for 2 days.
The front desk employeee at second shift so kind, polite and professional. Never a question he did not answer or seemed bothered by them.
I would stay again but not a kingr room, bigger.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Sleep Inn for a couple of days recently and was pretty pleased with the experience. It's located in Long Island just on the other side of East River and takes approximately 20 mins to reach Times Square while costing half of any Manhattan hotels.
Our rooms were nice and clean - although a bit small and felt cramped. Unfortunately we stayed on second floor but as other reviewers wrote - if you are on a higher floor you can get a fantastic view of the Manhattan skyline. Everything in the room worked, the wi-fi was reasonable. The complimentary breakfast was wholesome but the breakfast area was very cramped - so you might have to take your food outside. The staff were helpful and friendly. They agreed to keep our luggage for 2hrs after we checked out for a dollar per bag.
The hotel is located in a back - alley behind 21st st - so might be a little difficult to find (there are no large shiny neon lights in front of it as well) - but just remember that it is right behind Best Western Plaza. This also makes the area very quite - so you are guaranteed a good night's sleep. Queensbridge subway station is a 3 mins walk - but it is served only by the F train. That would take you to Manhattan and Jamaica - but you might have problems if there's a change in train schedule (we had). Court St subway station is a 10 min walk.
There are a couple of eateries near the hotel - including a Bangladeshi restaurant that serves pretty good Indian cuisine.

This is a great hotel for budget travelers who want to stay as close to Manhattan as possible without paying a king's ransom. I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on higher floor so that you get a glimpse of the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Well, it all depends on what you expect and what do you need a hotel for. I was looking for a place to stay for a couple of NIGHTS. So this hotel met my expectations: comfortable bed in a clean, quiet, tidy and air conditioned room with view of the Manhattan skyline. In addition to that price is very reasonable, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, complimentary breakfast, and the subway station is one block away.
Yes, there is nothing super luxury, no restaurant, Wi-Fi is good only in the lobby area but overall I had a good impression of the hotel. But again, it all depends on your expectations and needs. I would definitely stay in the hotel again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were a family of 5 visiting NY for two days and wanted to live near Manhattan but not pay ridiculous amount of money. The place can be slightly difficult to find because of one way roads, but with GPS it's no problem. I can not say much about the neighbourhood as I didn't leave in the evening.

This place is only 3-4 minute walk away from the metro station. From the metro station the metro takes 20-25 minutes to go right into the middle of Manhattan. The trains from and to the metro station run pretty much through the night.

The room provides everything that you need: fridge, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee machine and the hotel provides complementary basics eg toothbrush etc if you forget it. My room was on Floor 5 which gave a great view towards Manhattan. You just have to make sure your room is facing this way. Other reviews say that rooms above Floor 7 are even better.

Free internet but not free parking. However since the room price was cheaper than other hotels we just paid for the secure parking.

Free breakfast, although the breakfast area is slightly small so you may have to wait around fora table to clear. The earlier the better.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Manhattan. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well, it wasn't cheap. But it got us cheaper than any hotel in Manhattan, plus we were only a few stops away from it. Something that I really didn't like was that they threw away a perfectly (expensive) and complete bar shampoo away! Or maybe they took it... who knows.
Fluffy bed, space, clean bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.