We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Affordable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    180
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
97
108
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Its a good place to stay if you want to visit NewYork in terms if price, location and service. Close to subway connecting to NewYork. No good restaurants close by, so eat in NewYork. Costumer service if very good.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had been planning to come to NY since Feb. to do something very unpleasant.... to move out all my belongings from my childhood home in Elmhurst. I have been living in another country and was not allowed to stay in the home that I grew up in. To be honest, the Sleep Inn was not the first, second or third choice , but I am so happy that I ended up staying there. I ended up staying 6 nights and this stay made my whole stay in NY a much better experience. This hotel has almost everything that you can ask for...the rooms are clean....the hotel staff are fantastic, especially Steven and Zaib ( I hope I spelled that correctly). These guys deserve a HUGE raise because they understand what great customer service is. It's because of these 2 guys that I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to all my friends. This is now my "NY home" whenever I come!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Life…I wonder…will it take me under…I dunno…

As you cross over the Queensboro Bridge into the world’s largest and most notorious projects you may feel like you followed the wrong directions. You didn’t. Welcome to Queensbridge.

You know your trip is off to a good start as the first building you see, located directly under the bridge, is a strip club. Just a few blocks away, sticking out above the surrounding project buildings, chop shops, pawn shops, and liquor stores, is the Sleep Inn.

The hotel itself is nice. So if you can get over the surrounding area and the amount of shootings that take place in that particular area, its not a bad deal. If someone tries to rob you, tell them you know Nas, it won’t hurt. Whatever you do, don’t run around shouting “The Bridge Is Over!!!” or play KRS-1 too loudly.

One of the keys to staying in this hotel is making sure you park your car in the underground garage. I dunno if you want to leave your car on the street all night, unless you like cinderblocks better than tires. The hotel had about 25 spots underground, first check in first serve, so try to get there in time to secure a spot.

The location is pretty great, with Manhattan just a few minutes away across the bridge. You could probably walk there or take the subway, but I wouldn’t recommend either option.

The best way to get to the city is to walk 1 block to the main road and hail down a cab. Just be sure to say hello to Celo-Catra, the alley cat that lives in the cellar of the corner store. Or, if that 1 block walk (can be scary at night), is too far, the front desk will call you a towncar which is 2x the price of a real cab.

It seemed like most of the people staying in this hotel were not from America, and I’m guessing most American’s understood the location was not ideal for safety.

Oh, they have free continental breakfast. Eggs, cereal, OJ, and some bagels. Some other stuff. The hotel also has free internet too, which is nice. The lobby is great, the rooms are small but nice, the “king” beds are smaller than normal. There is a typical small hotel workout room. Basically the hotel is cool, and makes you forget where you are.

As for where to get things in the neighborhood, you can get some beer in a brown paper bag at the corner store, there is a Subway food place there too. Other than that its all chop shops. We walked several blocks down the road to get liquor, and passed 1 or 2 shady food places. The best closest place to walk to (past the project buildings) is the Bell Aire Diner up in Astoria which is like a 20 minute walk. Just be sure to not look directly into the eyes of what we call the "trash rummagers" who hang out all day behind the hotel sifting through garbage.

Our group walked the streets during the day, hung out on the corner at night, and I even walked the streets alone at 2am to that special place under the bridge, and I was fine...luckily...

So if you want to save about $100+ a night, don’t mind the occasional gunshot wound, and are traveling in a large group, stay in Long Island City’s finest hotel. Don’t bring your family here.

I had a great time…LIC 4 Lyfe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really appreciate this hotel. Very clean and the rooms aren't too small (by NYC standards). Friendly staff. About a 5-minute walk from the Queensboro Bridge subway stop. One of the best values in NYC. I've stayed here twice and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just spent 4 nights here and I was especially pleased with this hotel! It was extremely clean, newly refurbished, cool and very comfortable! The views of Manhattan from my 4th floor room were spectacular! It was close to LaGuardia which was handy. The neighborhood is not good though, and I was advised not to walk from the hotel at night, which I didn't and had no problems. The bed was great, I loved the shower, a frig in the room was nice, the breakfast was perfect (but being available past 0930 would have been even better) and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was about a block and a half walk to the street where you can get a taxi, and then another block on down to the metro station. However this particular metro station did have an elevator and an escalator, which was nice. I only used the metro once to go into the city, and actually ended up taking taxis most of the rest of the time. I attended a wedding in another local hotel a few blocks away which was much more expensive and it was not nearly as clean and nice, and the rooms were hot and stuffy. I'm so glad I didn't stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view! There is an additional charge for some of their higher rooms with views, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.