We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn - Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misleading !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Book this hotel earlier in May 2013 at Booking.com. The reviews on that site were mostly excellent and guest generally appeared to be pleased with their overall stay. So did I , with some exceptions of course.
1/ When I initially booked I requested a view above the 5th floor with a city view . paid for a king room and expected what I requested. Several calls were made prior to my arrival and I re-confirmed the request on every call. I was told that this should not be a problem , but depends on availability , which is understandable. Upon my arrival , a room was assigned on the 9th floor at the back of the hotel, what a view !! The car park of Best Western Plaza . I called front desk immediately and was told that the city view cost $20 more per night, my stay being 10 nights. This was never mention to me in any of my previous calls. The hotel was practically empty so obviously , availability was not an issue , how misleading as I was also exploring other options.
2/ Location - Felt like I was in the projects . The neighborhood appeared to be unsafe , especially at nights with poor lighting to get from the subway to the hotel and vis versa.
3/ Breakfast was better than most , as I stayed in Ramadas and Corona Hotel last year. The only problem was the indian man who practically stand overlooking the breakfast area . You can feel his eyes on you , literally. A bit unconfortable for a paying guest , even though you are made to feel breakfast is complimentary . Don't be fooled people , it's included in your overall charges.
I must be critically balanced by saying the overall stay was good. Housekeeping was exceptional. Staff was generally friendly and helpful. Room was clean with adequate supplies , comfortable bed. TV had poor reception but who is going to the big apple to stay indoors and watch TV , did not matter to me. Had fun , regardless. Will recommend to group travellers , not solo unless you have pepper spray or a weapon to defend yourself , just kidding , maybe .

Room Tip: Rooms above 6th floor , facing roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    182
    47
    7
    7
See reviews for
103
114
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel that is super-convenient to Manhattan but doesn't break the bank, then this is the place for you! Formerly a Howard Johnson, it was clear that the hotel recently underwent a full renovation as everything was brand new. I stayed in a standard King bed room on the 9th floor, and although small, was very pleased with the amenities provided including a comfortable bed with quality bedding, a clean shower/bathtub with excellent water pressure, a desk and good internet connection to get work done, and a large flat-screen television. This room was also very clean.

Although the curtain on the window was partially detached, this was a minor issue. Also the thermostat was not working but the AC unite could be controlled at the unit itself.

Another notable feature of the property is its above-average free breakfast. I have stayed at many Choice Hotel properties in the past and so know what to expect. Well, this hotel exceeded my expectations by providing fresh New York bagels and pastries, a multifunction hot drink machine, and attentive staff taking care of the breakfast room.

By far the best thing about this hotel for my needs during this trip however is its location two blocks from the F Line of the NYC Subway. You are only a few minutes from Mid-town Manhattan and therefore convenient to everything!

I will definitely consider this hotel first when looking for hotels in the area in the future as the value provided for the room rate was truly exceptional, especially for New York.

Room Tip: Some rooms face towards the Manhattan skyline and offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Service was excellent, staff was polite and helpful (especially Steve), breakfast was good, room was large. I would give a 5 star rating except for:
1) lack of parking
2) breakfast area very small, tables not always available if you wake up too late
3) TV reception not that good

If you over look those, all else is otherwise very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love New York and I usually stay in Manhattan and this time I had a find a place that was price friendly. Here is the breakdown:

LOCATION
I liked the location, super accessible on the F-train taking you in a few stops to Rockefellar, Bryant Park, Times Square, Grand Central, Union Square and more. 7-train, N-train, Q-train, M-train, R-train to Laguardia airport 24-hour service available on all stations. We caught our train at 3am to catch our 4am flight. Around the hotel at the corner there is a Latin, where you can get some good quality food at $10 for a big plate. A few steps in the opposite direction there is some good old fashion Chinese food and at the top of the street is a 24 hr convenience store. For healthier options, Subway Sandwiches. At the entrance of the F-train station is fried chicken place. It is true that it is in an industrial area, but I give a few years and it will get cleaned up as the Hampton Inn is around the corner and there was another building across the Sleep Inn being built. A lot will comment maybe late at night, it might be questionable to walk around late, but that can be anywhere. 5 out of 5.

SERVICE
Very friendly front desk. I really liked that they asked for feedback, that gave me the impression that they want to always improve. The cleaning staff was very efficient, always on time every morning doing their rounds and room was always clean and replenished with towels and toiletries. Breakfast was awesome, a very good selection to start the day. The breakfast area was always being cleaned and foods were constantly being replenished. I LOVED the bagels. I personally like hot foods such as eggs and sausages. 5 out of 5.

ROOMS
Very clean, loved the bed, loved the sheets. It was a lot better than I expected. The Choice Hotels chain has really upgraded in decor with a contemporary design, king bed, flat screen tv's, in-room safe, closet with plenty of drawers. Complimentary shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soaps. Clean bathroom, spacious and up-to-date. 5 out of 5.

PRICE
Hotels are based on seasonality and during my stay from April 19-24 I was able to get a nightly rate of $120. I considered using sites such as AirBnb, Roomarama and etc, and paid between 80-100, I preferred the servicing of the room, the breakfast, the use of the gym, the use of the free wifi, I felt taken care of. 5 out of 5.


It was pleasant surprise and I would stay here again as it has really great value. In addition, I will very likely stay at another hotel part of the Choice Hotels chain. The chain keeps it simple and contemporary. I enjoyed New York yet again and I look forward to my next visit again, 2014. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request for a city view prior to check-in and a room on the floor with the ice-machines or vending m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

New hotel, rooms small but clean and in good condition. Neighborhood looks iffy, but hotel is just two minutes from subway and from Queensboro bridge, 10 minutes from Manhattan with all the parking space you may need. Breakfast buffet acceptable. Employees don't seem able to communicate well with guests. Will probably consider it for my next trip to NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn - Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Long Island City

Address: 38-71 13th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Long Island City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 3 minutes from the F train on 21st-Queensbridge. Free continental breakfast, with dining space available at all times. Each room is equipped with High speed internet, Cable television, a working safe and coffee maker. 24 Hour gym is available on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn - Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn, Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn - Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.