We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Convenient and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel is in a great location if you are on a budget. It is a three minute walk from the subway station (you can see the hotel from the subway but there are no elevators or escalators that I could find). I went to a weekend conference and took the subway every day to Grand Central. The price was half that of those in downtown Manhattan. The rooms were nice. We had a king sized bed with a view of the skyline (attractive at night). The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room had a shower/tub combo. There was an Asian place to eat next door. It was easy to get to JFK from this terminal, as we only had to go down the first stairway. From there, we could change trains underground or use escalators or elevators to get to the airport. This is a plus with luggage.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    451
    197
    36
    30
See reviews for
264
311
66
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

For the discounted price of a room per night, this hotel was pretty nice. The hallways and lobby was a bit dingy but the room was very clean and up to date. There was a 32" plasma tv in the room, along with a King sized bed. The hotel's gym had up to date functional treadmills and weight machine. The parking lot is pretty small, able to hold roughly 10 cars so if you're unable to find parking in the lot, you'll have to park on the street but parking on the street is scarce. The continental breakfast wasn't very good.. There was just donuts, cereal, bagels, and orange juice or milk. I was looking forward to eggs or pancakes! Overall, for the money, the hotel is a decent place to stay and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

For this price the hotel was quite nice, the room was absolutely fine and it was really close to Manhattan (2 stops). We had some issues regarding a group of children who were very noise... But the front office solved the problem immediately by given us an even nicer room far away from them..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Walked in to the hotel and easily checked in, was asked how many keys i wanted and got what I needed. The room was just what i wanted in the eight floor. great restrooms, beds, clean. There is a safe and a mini fridge that is very helpful. Water from shower is great:great pressure, and very hot! The only bad thing is the gym, needs more machines. Other than that hotel is great. Location is really good too. Very close to Manhattan, three stops away in the subway that is just a block away. My first night there I was alone and came back home at 3 AM and the area was lonely. Are seems somewhat dangerous but nothing happened. The weekly metro pass is 27 dollars and is worth it. saves the hassle of buying daily passes.
Overall, hotel is great experience, store not far from hotel, liquor across the street, and deli next door. Im 22 male and came with a friend. Might be more dangerous for females or families

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I stayed in this hotel because I saw some good reviews about the hotel at TripAdvisor. All of the reviews were true, except the cordiality of the staff. The location is also a little scary.
But the worse thing I discovered there was when I forgot my backpack when I left the hotel to go to the airport. When I arrived at the airport I realised that I forgot my backpack with my "expensive" digital camera in the hotel room. At the same time I called to the hotel and the front desk attendent said that was looked in the hotel room and he didn`t find anything. I have no doubt that I left my backpack in the hotel room. They also didn't let me see the recorded videos at the security cams. So, the neighborhood is more safe than inside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telluride
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is a great place to stay for the money. Right next to the subway and Long Island City has a good bit to offer in the way of eating out. The rooms are much nicer than an average Best Western. Free Wi-Fi and parking, both of those could easily cost you $50-$75 a night in the city. Will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel is clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff is friendly, especially Natalie. She always had a smile and did everything she could to meet your needs. I have two complaints about the hotel. One is the breakfast area. It's too small and they don't have warm items like other Best Westerns do. The other is their internet service is very slow.
There is a small grocery right down the street to pick up snacks, drinks, etc. The subway stop is close by too. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.