We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, nice rooms, BAD area, hotel management terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, nice rooms, BAD area, hotel management terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This hotel is comfortable, clean and new. Happy with the room and the complimentary breakfast. However, its like a cattle market in the morning, the breakfast area is just too small to accomodate everyone Hotel staff are useless, unfriendly and very unhelpful. The area is awful,(Queens) - Avoid like the plague. We felt that we had to come home at tea time to avoid coming back to the hotel on the tube at night this hotel is no where near new york city, Taxi is approximately 15 dollars, thats if taxi drivers know where it is! none of them did when we tried to get a taxi except the one out of the whole 5 day stay. so had to get the tube. I would recommend that people pay the extra money to stay in the centre of new york. Pictures of the hotel and its vacinity attached.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    379
    171
    31
    28
See reviews for
212
274
57
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

A 2 block walk to the F train (21st/Queensboro Bridge), you are only 3 subway stops from Rockerfeller Plaza. The rooms in this Best Western are comfy and they have the usual amenities (flat screen t.v., coffee maker, alarm clock). You will get a simple buffet continental breakfast (orange juice, coffee, tea, bagels, toast, jam, cream cheese, butter, cereal); however, everything is served in/on Styrofoam and the breakfast area is way too small for all hotel guest. Either collect your breakfast and take it back to your room (they have fridges to keep stuff cool), or simply hope on the F train and find one of many bagel eateries in Manhattan.

Check-in/out was simple and easy. We had done everything online and had printouts just in case. The place is run very efficiently. They ordered us a taxi to Port Authority for a 6 a.m. busride - easy as pie. It is indeed in a rather run-down neighborhood - the hotel is one block from a housing project - however, DO NOT BE ALARMED! We had no problems walking past it at night. We never felt threatened or unsafe.

If you can, get a room facing the back. You will not get an unobstructed view of Manhattan - I think the Howard Johnson is behind it - but watching the the sunrise or set is fantastic.

From JFK to the hotel Long Island City, expect to pay $35 for a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed here for about 9 days in March for a leisurely getaway, enjoyed the entire stay. The neighborhood may be a bit well-used, the hotel is not-- it's actually a very nice property. The rooms are well-appointed with very soft beds and the usual coffeemaker, alarm clock, and so on. The TV was a nice size but several channels would not come in. Not a big deal, you're in the big apple. Location-wise, it's a quick trip into Manhattan and all points via the F Train which is less than a 2 minute walk away. Staff and management are efficient-- almost too efficient, I'd say. They quickly check you in, sort out issues, and before you know it, you're not sure what even happened. Don't expect a boisterous conversation with these guys. Cons to this property are the rather cramped breakfast area and the broken chairs in the business lounge. Pros are its location, comfort, newness, fitness center and the general homey feel to the neighborhood (that is, if you're a city-type). Well-advised for relaxing trips if you want to get lost in the NYC vibe.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Hotel is very nice, it's the area that it's in that's not that great. The room is spacious, clean and well appointed. It has a small fridge, a small safe (didn't use) a wardrobe closet, dresser, desk with chair and an occasional chair. Our room had two comfortable beds with 3 pillows on each bed. Heating/Cooling was good in our room, controls are on the wall. Nice size flat screen TV on the wall.

Here's a few tips...If you are driving a car in, there is parking on the premises but do know that the spaces are limited. The parking garage downstairs is shared with a Holiday Inn that backs up to the BW. There are about 15 spaces available down there. There are some spaces at the top, but when we were told about parking we were told it was below, so maybe the above spaces are only for the Holiday Inn? Be forewarned, you need your room key to enter the parking garage, and it's a VERY tight fit. You may have to manuever your car, especially a large one, to get it in without scraping the car. A tip, enter on the Holiday Inn side the next street over and go straight across to the garage, it's a LOT easier.

If you want a good laugh, don't tell anyone else about the shower. I couldn't figure out how to have the water come out of the shower head. I probably wasted a good 5 minutes tryting to figure it out. My daughter knew due to a friend having the same type of shower in their bathroom. My DH thought he'd be able to figure it out - it was hysterical! It took him about 7 minutes to figure it out. In talking to someone in the breakfast room, they had to call the front desk, and even then it took them a few more minutes to figure it out. The hotel probably gets a LOT of calls about this. The trick, you need to turn on the water and then pull the gold ring down that's located at the tub spout. This will start the shower spray above to turn on. Again, this gold ring is located on the faucet where the water comes out as if you were filling the bathtub. Want a good laugh? Don't tell anyone else about this tip and you'll hear the water going on/off and gosh knows what else!!!!

Last, the breakfast room. As many have mentioned, the room isn't adequate when it's busy, but I found it to be bigger than many other places I've been in, but when many people are coming down at the same time it can get crowded with no place to sit. If you want to take food up to your room and use the desk as a table, take the tray in your room that they have the ice bucket sitting on. I did this and you would have thought I had invented something new! People were going up to get their tray.

Breakfast items included bagels which were very fresh, various cereals, pastries, donuts, bread for toast and the usual juices, coffee, and milk. There's a microwave too to heat up anything you may have. Everything was fresh and foods were restocked as needed.

The closest subway station is 2 blocks straight up. My daughter (22yrs old) was going out at night to meet friends. DH walked her to the station as I didn't want her walking by hersefl, would not feel safe for her to go by herself. The hotel is 3 stops from where she needed to go in NYC (57th St station) very quick. She took a cab home from 8th and 46th area, $16 ride.

The area is a bit run down and can be a little noisy at times, but I would happily recommend this hotel to others. The location was good, the staff was friendly and it was a comfortable stay. Definitely was a lot nicer, and cheaper than the HI express we stayed in the last two nights in Boston!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Hotel location is very bad , it was like horror movie at nights.
Rooms have good furnitures and design , but not clean smells like sweat.
Taxi fee is 10$ to 5th avenue

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I should preface this review by stating that severe weather in NYC forced me to cancel my reservation. This review is not of the hotel itself, which I'm sure is very nice, rather of the poor handling of the situation by hotel management.

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel, however on the day of my arrival, severe weather in the New York area caused nearly every flight into/out of NYC to be canceled, mine included. The weather disruptions were so severe that it would be over 24 hours before any flights were available into New York.

Stranded in Detroit, I called this hotel, informed them of my situation, and asked if there was anything they could do. I am aware of the hotel's cancellation policy, but am also aware that in severe weather situations it's pretty standard to waive cancellation policies. The manager I spoke with said he was perfectly aware of the weather-associated travel disruptions in the NYC area, but informed me that "because the weather was hurting his business he was "unable" to cancel my reservation" and would charge me for the room.

Totally his call, but if this is how management wants to treat potential customers, I have no interest is doing business with his hotel.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The hotel is very new and was in excellent condition. It was much cheaper than any other hotels I could find in or close to NYC of comparable quality. The hotel had free parking which was a great plus since I needed somewhere to park while staying there. The rooms were small but comfortable. The free breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy. The hotel is one block away from a subway station so it's only a few minutes to get into the city. The only thing I was worried about was the location since some other reviews stated it was in a bad neighborhood. The hotel is close to a public housing project which you have to walk past to get to the subway. However I never felt unsafe or in danger at anytime. The few people that I did encounter in the area were friendly. Overall this is a great hotel if you are looking to visit NYC and not spend your whole budget on a hotel. If I go back to NYC anytime soon I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.