We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy hotel in a handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Economy hotel in a handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our check-in and check-out was handled by a most professional lady named Hafsa. Hafsa made us feel very welcomed. The breakfast staff were very kind. Free breakfast, clean room, free wi-fi, located near an F Train Metro Station (1.5 blocks), and safe neighborhood made our 7 night stay very nice. From Laguardia Airport an express bus and transfer to the hotel Metro Station is only $2.7/person. Manhattan is only 2 Metro Stations away. Very handy location.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    484
    205
    40
    31
See reviews for
293
329
68
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my family's first trip to NYC and the first night we arrived we were a little concerned about the neighborhood the hotel was in. We had to walk past housing after getting off the subway to get to our hotel and we were a little disappointed with the way our hotel looked. After spending 5 nights here I must say, the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Our feelings completely changed after spending more time here. We would get back to our hotel late at night after riding the subway and we didn't have any problems at all. The subway ride to manhattan was a short ride away and the subway was conveniently located 2 blocks away from the hotel! I would stay here again and even recommend it to my friends. The only complaint I have is that there was a contact lens stuck to our sink when we checked in and it stayed there the entire time during our stay. Breakfast was packed in the morning and both breakfast seating was completely full...the breakfast wasn't very good but it was free so I can't complain. I gave this hotel a 4 star rating because the staff was friendly and anything I needed they helped me with. Don't let the neighborhood scare you, it was myself (30 year old female), my aunt (43 year old female), my cousin (14 year old male) traveling together and we were fine!

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean, friendly staff, great breakfast...definitely pay the extra few bucks for the Manhattan view room. No complaints, and will definitely recommend this to family and friends. The staff definitely helped to make our trip wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night using our Air Miles. Good size rooms, decent bed and bathroom and air conditioning that worked just fine. It is very close to the subway and you are in Manhattan in less than 10 minutes.
The area is not the best, though we didn't have any problems at all. Breakfast room is small and poorly designed. Staff isn't as attentive as they should be: asked for extra towels twice, issues printing an receipt for a stay payed with points. The elevators are indeed slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and facing NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was very nice but location was a little run down
Breakfast was minimal as expected but the room was small with not many tables
Many people standing and waiting for a place to sit
I had trouble even finding a souvenir shop to buy stuff

Overall I got what I expected

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for 3 nights in June. Ended up switching hotels after the first night. I use a wheelchair and the accessible room did not fit my needs. I had a hoyer lift delivered to the hotel however when we got it up to the room I quickly realized the room was too small and the bed frame went all the way to the floor. This was a problem because I couldn't get on the bed.

I ended up switching rooms to a room with a sofa bed. At least I could get on the bed. Woke up in the am in pain from a very hard and uncomfortable sofa bed.

Ended up switching hotels to save my trip.

The hotel staff tried to solve the issue however it seemed like they had other things to do and wanted to move on. It seemed like the staff weren't familiar with guests that have specific needed. Fully didn't understand the issue I was facing.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mom had booked this hotel when she was planning our family trip to NYC. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable.The staff was friendly, there were instructions for how to use the tub and etc. It was close to the subway. But it was loud outside and it isn't in one of the best neighborhoods. I felt kinda scared to be in that neighborhood. And there was some problem checking in because we got two rooms and at first, the front desk only got one, but quickly got it straightened out.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#4 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.