We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, rooms are quite small, but clean and nicely decorated. Not many hotels in New York offer a nice clean room, fridge, in-room safe, free Internet, and hot breakfast for that price range. Close to the subway, very convenient - we even had a West-facing room with views of the Manhattan skyline. Definite traffic noise, but it didn't take long to get used to.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    439
    190
    36
    30
See reviews for
254
305
65
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

40 minutes from LGA, 15 minutes from Times square. For the price it's unbeatable. Only problem we have is the room safe was locked, contacted the front desk about the problem but wasn't fixed during our 3 nights there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Anyone looking to book hotel accommodation in NYC will be familiar with the sky high rates. I found a good Internet deal for this hotel and we stayed 7 nights. Considering that the room rate includes breakfast too I was extremely pleased with our choice though breakfast was a bit chaotic some mornings so my advice is to get there as early as possible. We had a double room which we shared with our 10 year old and there was plenty of space and the room itself was spotlessly clean. The traffic noise from the street did not disturb us though sometimes the sirens were quite loud, but that is just part of life in NYC! There is a subway station literally 2 minutes down from the hotel and the F train is only 2 stops into Manhattan which is very convenient. The immediate area around the hotel is somewhat unappealing, very industrial and very little in the way of any options for food or amenitiee but I wouldn't say that we felt unsafe as such. We got the bus across the road from the hotel up 21st street to Broadway where there is an excellent 24 hour diner called Bel Aire where we ate several times and loved. Coming back the bus was directly across the road from the diner so getting there and back is easy. The staff at Best Western Plaza are helpful and pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to those who wish to see NYC but avoid the ridiculous prices of hotels in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is key for this hotel. Easy access to Manhattan and to the rest of NY. Rather crowded at (included) breakfast - but otherwise quiet for the city. Only problem we experienced was the lack of an alarm call when one was requested - but was easy to call cab from front of hotel anyway.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One block from the subway stop, just across the river. This place was conveniently located to everything in Manhattan at half the price. Needs were good, room size adequate and staff was friendly. Don't count on a great breakfast but adequate. If you really just want the room for sleeping, this is a good option.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at Best Western at 5:30 PM (after a long drive from NC). We were greeted with a smile. Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was on the 10th floor, which afforded us a great view NYC. While the room was small (hey, it is NY)..it was very clean; comfy bed. The location was perfect as the subway station is a block away. We took the subway to go into the city for dinner. I read a lot of comments about the area the hotel is in, but we felt safe and a lot of people traffic. The breakfast area is small, but we are early risers so had no problem in securing a table. The breakfast was the same fare for the 3 days we stayed, but then again, no problem for us. We want to personally thank Stephanie for being so welcoming and friendly....the other clerks were great as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors for view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location initially appears to be a little dodgy but we stayed there for 7 days and all felt very comfortable walking day and night. Handy for metro (2 min walk) and takes around 5 mins into manhattan on metro. Quality of breakfast was good - a little busy and very small area for eating when hotel is busy. The house keeping staff were excellent and the front of house have us complimentary late check out. We had a bridge view room which was fab at night to see the sky line. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.