We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place still improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good place still improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here multiple times in last few years. Manager and staff know how to treat people well. Hotel is two blocks from subway convenient to Manhattan. This time, they seriously improved their former mediocre breakfast items and increased space to avoid breakfast time traffic jams. A good move. Will return again next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    349
    155
    29
    26
See reviews for
192
253
52
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was decent for the NY price. The best part is that it is right across the street from the subway. Very Convenient! The hotel itself is as expected for the price, but it is livable for a short stay. It was clean and had a complimentary continental breakfast. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

... kumar was probably the most accommodating, friendly, and helpful hotel employee I've come across so far, which says a lot because I travel and stay overnight in many hotels on a regular basis for my job. Definitely dedicated to helping others..I was shocked with how willing he was to actually work hard while on the job...very motivating.

Thanks Kumar, i hope your superiors recognize your hard work on a regular basis.. promote him

Room Tip: king size bed for sure, 1st floor for gym if you like working out, 4th floor for ice if you love ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 10 day visit to NYC. Although the hotel is fine, I am not a great fan of papers plates and this was what was on offer for us for breakfast. Everything was paper, the plates, cups, plastic spoons, forks etc. I wouldn't have thought it would have been that much extra to supply "proper" dishes. The price of this hotel was not much cheaper than the one we stayed in in Manhattan. Also on our last day we had to pay a dollar each case for this to be left until we were heading for the airport. Was this left in a secure room - no. Was there someone watching over the cases - no. Left on the floor at reception - why are you charging for this???? Although there are two lifts you seemed to spend a lot of time waiting on them. We did take the stairs but on our last day with luggage this was a bit difficult to had to wait a long time to gain access to the lifts. I also found some of the staff rude and standoffish.

Room Tip: Although the hotel itself was fine, I didn't like having to commute. My next trip and my advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is conveniently less then 100 yards from the subway which goes into the heart of New York, travel to Bryant Park and you will be at the bottom of Times Square next to the Library, it makes life so much easier.

The team at the hotel are very pleasant and helpful, breakfast area is rushed and crowded but let's be honest you want to get out and play in the city asap anyway so why would you want to get comfy

The room was perfect, The bed is massive and very comfy and the phAntom housekeeping team are awesome, thank you. To the team of best western thank you for making my experience a lot easier

Ooh if you get the chance go to the halal food shop and get the chicken burger it is SCRUMMY yum yum

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel is conveniently located just a flock or two from the F train station: you can be in Times Square in 15 minutes. On the other hand, there's nothing around the hotel, and if you like walking the first restaurant is 20 minutes away.
Breakfast room far too small, rooms are acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side, possibly on a higher floor: the view over Manhattan is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Convenient to subway station and provided easy access to all of New York City. as first time visitor to New York City, the Best Western Plaza was a real deal, financially and location. Would stay there again on next visit to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.