We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff Removed Belongings from room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Webster, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Staff Removed Belongings from room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Company employees stayed at this hotel for over 40 room nights in May/June while doing a project in New York. It seemed to be in a good location with parking. However each day as the staff changed so did the hotel policies. Free parking at check-in but yet on certain days with some employees they insisted there was a charge for parking.

We were scheduled to check out last Friday and we realized the job was going to last a little longer than expected so we stopped at the front desk and asked if we could extend the reservation until next Wednesday. The gentleman said sure we could extend 3 rooms no problem. We only needed one of the rooms so he told us which rooms should check out and which one we could keep. On Friday afternoon Viva from the hotel called our office and wanted us to get in touch with the employees that they needed to move rooms. She wanted them to leave the job right then and come move their items. This was not possible, and we explained that they had already moved rooms that morning as requested by the hotel staff. When the employees returned that evening they were required and inconvenienced to move again.

Monday afternoon 3-4pm, Jaagdeep, another hotel employee from the hotel calls the office again and said that the employees were supposed to check out at 11am but their belongings were still in the room. We explained there must be some mistake they were staying until Wednesday and had no intention of checking out. The hotel insisted they had no record of that, they were full and they needed their belongings out of the room. Again we stated this was not possible, they stated they would move the items for them of which we replied they did not have authorization to do so. When the employees returned from work an hour or so later the hotel had packed up their belongings and had them waiting in the lobby. They were told they could make a reservation at their sister property next door at a rate higher than what they were paying. No apology, nothing.

Any reputable hotel would have taken care of re-accommodation if necessary. The employees by-passed the sister hotel and went down the street to the LaQuinta which is much nicer, cheaper and more parking.

Do yourselves a favor and by-pass this hotel and move down the street to the LaQuinta, you will be saving yourself a headache, money and have a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    376
    156
    30
    28
See reviews for
190
252
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Good value for the money, subway station near by that took us to Manhattan in about ten minutes. No restaurants nearby exept subways that provided us with breakfast every day.

The breakfast is a typical american hotel breakfast, nothing for us scandinavians. The breakfast eating area was also very small and crowded the one day we went to try the breakfast. There was no available seating, and we were not the only ones that grabbed a doughnut and left...

Service is good, it is clean, there is free hi-speed wifi and also a small business center with three computers available.

I would recommend this hotel if you want good value and don't care about having restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first visit to New York City, and we found this hotel to be reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels. The staff were very pleasant, and the hotel was clean and welcoming. However, both elevators were very slow. Breakfast is extremely busy, and it was difficult to get a table, although there are two eating areas. There are not a lot of restaurants in the immediate area. We stayed for six nights and spent a considerable amount of time on public transit to go out for dinner. As we were on vacation, it wasn't an issue, but it might be a challenge for those with young children or for those on tight schedules.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good Hotel for NYC Trip. Stayed there for 6 Days. Breakfast ist typical american but ok for a Start into the Day. Room was really nice with flatscreen etc. Really nice are the rooms in Direction to Manhatten with a free sight to the Empire State Building. Subway Line F just a few steps away and 2 stops till Manhatten. Direct next to the hotel is a little shop for daily things.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked it for just one night. Loved the fact that you can just take the F train a block away and be in Central Park 2 stops later. They had breakfast, that was good. They are cheap, that was excellent. Got very frustrated tough because through the website I booked it, it stated clearly that there was FREE parking, another excellent reason to pick, since parking in New York can eat you! But once we got there, the front desk tried to charge me twice $25 a night per parking. I completely refused to do it, to which the lady asked me to show her exactly where it said free parking, it doesn't show on the email confirming reservation, but it shows on the website, so I showed her and she stopped the fight, until that night when a different person was in the front desk and called to the room to ask me to come downstairs and pay for parking (ugh) Again, refused to, and that was the end of it.

As for the room, it seemed clean, good size, it's very loud tough, we could hear every truck and sirens being on the 8th floor, would recommend to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Didn't go with high expectations, it is a cheap hotel with great location, you can't expect much more. It served it's purpose of getting us through the night to keep on enjoying NY!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, hopefully you can hear less sirens through the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was very satisfactory, clean, comfortable, sizable, fridge, good towels, no problem. The breakfast is not great, not like many other BW hotels and when they run out of hot food they don't want to replenish it if only 15 mins left which is unacceptable. If breakfast goes to 10, food should be available to 10. The front desk speak English okay but most of the rest don't. The front desk staff did not make our wake-up call, we were lucky we didn't miss our plane.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.