We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, boring neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, boring neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Good value for the money, subway station near by that took us to Manhattan in about ten minutes. No restaurants nearby exept subways that provided us with breakfast every day.

The breakfast is a typical american hotel breakfast, nothing for us scandinavians. The breakfast eating area was also very small and crowded the one day we went to try the breakfast. There was no available seating, and we were not the only ones that grabbed a doughnut and left...

Service is good, it is clean, there is free hi-speed wifi and also a small business center with three computers available.

I would recommend this hotel if you want good value and don't care about having restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    488
    206
    42
    31
See reviews for
295
332
69
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first visit to New York City, and we found this hotel to be reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels. The staff were very pleasant, and the hotel was clean and welcoming. However, both elevators were very slow. Breakfast is extremely busy, and it was difficult to get a table, although there are two eating areas. There are not a lot of restaurants in the immediate area. We stayed for six nights and spent a considerable amount of time on public transit to go out for dinner. As we were on vacation, it wasn't an issue, but it might be a challenge for those with young children or for those on tight schedules.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good Hotel for NYC Trip. Stayed there for 6 Days. Breakfast ist typical american but ok for a Start into the Day. Room was really nice with flatscreen etc. Really nice are the rooms in Direction to Manhatten with a free sight to the Empire State Building. Subway Line F just a few steps away and 2 stops till Manhatten. Direct next to the hotel is a little shop for daily things.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked it for just one night. Loved the fact that you can just take the F train a block away and be in Central Park 2 stops later. They had breakfast, that was good. They are cheap, that was excellent. Got very frustrated tough because through the website I booked it, it stated clearly that there was FREE parking, another excellent reason to pick, since parking in New York can eat you! But once we got there, the front desk tried to charge me twice $25 a night per parking. I completely refused to do it, to which the lady asked me to show her exactly where it said free parking, it doesn't show on the email confirming reservation, but it shows on the website, so I showed her and she stopped the fight, until that night when a different person was in the front desk and called to the room to ask me to come downstairs and pay for parking (ugh) Again, refused to, and that was the end of it.

As for the room, it seemed clean, good size, it's very loud tough, we could hear every truck and sirens being on the 8th floor, would recommend to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Didn't go with high expectations, it is a cheap hotel with great location, you can't expect much more. It served it's purpose of getting us through the night to keep on enjoying NY!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, hopefully you can hear less sirens through the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was very satisfactory, clean, comfortable, sizable, fridge, good towels, no problem. The breakfast is not great, not like many other BW hotels and when they run out of hot food they don't want to replenish it if only 15 mins left which is unacceptable. If breakfast goes to 10, food should be available to 10. The front desk speak English okay but most of the rest don't. The front desk staff did not make our wake-up call, we were lucky we didn't miss our plane.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel when visting New York City. We were looking for good quality for reasonable price. We stayed there for 7 nights and got room upgrade for free which was a very pleasant surprise. Overall impression - very good hotel - very close to metro 21st street station (about 3 stations from centre of Manhattan). Clean and comfortable hotel rooms, nice breakfast. I could hear the street noise (cars, police, etc) but I was able to sleep well most of the nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.