We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place with friendly staffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greate place with friendly staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First of all, it is very budget friendly hotel which is very close to Manhattan. The subway station is 3-4 mins walk from hotel and you can get to Manhattan in 15 mins subway ride. It is in a quiet neighbourhood and will not see much people on the street at night. You can easily get there from JFK airport via subway. When we checked-in, a nice friendly receptionist, Mr. Kumar, told us that we are upgraded to "suite room". How wonderful! :D Honestly, I have stayed in Hilton Union Square in San Francisco just before flying to New York but I think service and room of Best Western Plaza hotel is better all it cost me 1/3 of the Hilton hotel cost. I highly recommend if you are looking for budget-friendly and nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    369
    153
    29
    28
See reviews for
187
248
50
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very nice hotel. We went in the winter when it is cold outside, but in the room was warm. Very comfortable bed, TV and fast WiFi with perfect coverage, what else is needed :)?. Rooms were cleaned every day. Although we lost nail clippers out of the room, but we do not blame maids, perhaps because they fell into the trash and the maid just carried trash with clippers away. Good room service anyway.
Nice breakfast every morning.
I do not know what more could you want for this price in NewYork. Last time when we were in New York we lived in Manhattan and were paying 4 times larger price. Now I can say it was not worth it! Metro is very close to hotel and you can get to Manhattan within a few minutes.
Cons -
I am not used that the air is heated with a ``hairdryer``, I had dry mouth at night.
Cannot open window to ventilate the room, but the reason is clear, we lived in 10th floor.
At breakfast were not available normal size plates, just as tiny ones and I barely was able to put on 2 pancakes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The staff at the hotel is exceptional, they were extremely friendly and outgoing. The breakfast was average, pancakes, sausage, scrambled eggs, with orange and apple juice. The rooms are extremely small (like Microtel small), but nicely furnished with a flat screen TV and a fridge. bathrooms are clean and do include a hairdryer. The entire hotel was clean, which can be hard to find sometimes. The location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of Queens within 30 minutes of Manhattan by using the F train.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very nice staff and a nice breakfast room open till 9;30 am.Breakfast has apple + orange juice, toast, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, apples and oramges, oatmeal and a warm gravy.

It is close to the green line subway.

Around there you have the Queen Mary boat,-hotel on which I stayed the nigfht before - free to visit or take the tour. Also the boats to Catalina Island is a bus ride away.
The pool is locked for safety reasons but the front desk can give you access.
Parking is free.

Room Tip: For travellers with sleep iunsomnia due to noise, choose a room in the rear of the hotel where I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The worse hotel experience i have ever had. Never again would i step foot in that establishment. The location is terrible, not a nice neighbourhood , did not feel safe, hotel and area were loud and unpleasant. the room was not clean, plugs didn't work, bathroom left much to be desired. The two reasons I chose the hotel were 1- they wed site said 2 queen beds 2- free wifi.
There were no queen size beds and no wifi.
after asking front desk repeatedly, one excuse after another. Even after changing rooms to another floor, repacking to bring all to new room which they said would have wifi. Still no wifi. AND no one ever came to make up the room!!!! Just upauling !!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is just a block away from the subway station and ride to times square takes like 20 mins. Rooms are clean and the Front Desk employees Kumar and Salman were exceptional in giving out the directions about restaurants and sightseeing places. The only drawback was the breakfast area was too small and it gets crowded after 8:30 an the WiFi seemed to be pretty fair.

Room Tip: Room with the city view is amazing. Go for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a budget hotel located in a Queens neighborhood of other budget and mid-priced lodgings across the bridge from Manhattan. And I found it neither better or worse than the others at which I have stayed in the past. Maybe this hotel has a bigger lobby than the others and on-site security is more visible, but the rooms are basic as are the in-room amenities. I did have a small fridge, coffee maker, and safe in my room. And there was a breakfast bar on the mezzanine which crowded near the closing hour of 9:30. But the Wi-Fi was poor and someone must have monkeyed with the business center computers because the search engines were set for Italy. When I checked it, it took quite a while to get an extra blanket (8 hours). Also, the fridge was not plugged in and I had to move the dresser to get to the wall sockets. One day my room wasn't cleaned until 5PM (I had to ask). Neither the front desk personnel nor the housekeepers seemed to care much. I did not have a vehicle but, if you do, there is some parking and you can drive a short distance to the shops and restaurants in Sunnyside and Astoria. Otherwise, shopping by the hotel is a very bleak and surreal experience. But there is a 24 hour convenience store on the corner and 24/7 police security cameras will photograph you coming and going to the nearby subway.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing west might have a view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.