We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gloomy Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“A Gloomy Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a budget hotel located in a Queens neighborhood of other budget and mid-priced lodgings across the bridge from Manhattan. And I found it neither better or worse than the others at which I have stayed in the past. Maybe this hotel has a bigger lobby than the others and on-site security is more visible, but the rooms are basic as are the in-room amenities. I did have a small fridge, coffee maker, and safe in my room. And there was a breakfast bar on the mezzanine which crowded near the closing hour of 9:30. But the Wi-Fi was poor and someone must have monkeyed with the business center computers because the search engines were set for Italy. When I checked it, it took quite a while to get an extra blanket (8 hours). Also, the fridge was not plugged in and I had to move the dresser to get to the wall sockets. One day my room wasn't cleaned until 5PM (I had to ask). Neither the front desk personnel nor the housekeepers seemed to care much. I did not have a vehicle but, if you do, there is some parking and you can drive a short distance to the shops and restaurants in Sunnyside and Astoria. Otherwise, shopping by the hotel is a very bleak and surreal experience. But there is a 24 hour convenience store on the corner and 24/7 police security cameras will photograph you coming and going to the nearby subway.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing west might have a view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    376
    156
    30
    28
See reviews for
190
252
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very good location in close proximity to manhattan. Subway stop is just one block away. Rooms are clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast is average and needs bigger sitting area. No problem if you can just take it to your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

BW Plaza Hotel is a good compromise for visiting NY on a resonable budget. Close to the F line that takes you to Manhattan in a few minutes, clean, comfortable. Has free (working!) wi-fi in the rooms that have plenty of space and are equipped with good furnitures overall.
On the grey side we can only comment about breakfast, that could help for a larger lounge and a maybe a wider choice of food and drinks; service lounge personnel was very helpful and friendly though, which made it more than acceptable overall.

Room Tip: Some rooms are rated to have a view on Manhattan and are a little more expensive but considering dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krommenie
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We slept 2 nights in the hotel. Very good to reacg from jfk airport. Only 30 minutes with the cab and around 45 dollar. Prices in the hotel were good. Rooms not that big, but our view from room 1007 was priceless. Downtown manhattan was great to see. Breakfast very simple, but way to small for all guest. The elevators were very slow and just 2 for the whole building is not enough. Beds were really good, aswell as the bathroom and it was very clean. Not noisy at all. Subway is only a 5 minute walk to take line F. Within 10 minutes you are everywhere. Wifi s really good and fast, even on the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here last week,
The hotel was so close yo the subway (queensbridge) its a bit of nowhere,
Limited choice of restaurant near by, luckily we found a very nice food truck around the corner of the subway station. If I remember his food truck name I will give him 5 stars for his food quality, taste, and costumer service! I really like his fish and rice whilst my sisters like his chicken briyani!

The hotel itself have nothing special, nice breakfast, but when we have to leave our baggage after check-out they asked us to pay $1 per luggage, so far this is the only hotel that ask us to do so.

The room is clean as its just been renovated, the bed was really comfy!
The wifi strength was very weak, we stayed on level 8 and we can't use the wifi at all!

Room Tip: Free wifi is not available on level 8 and above due to a very weak wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel and staff were awesome. Everyone was friendly, very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. However, this hotel is located in a very sketchy neighborhood and it is a 1.5 block walk to the nearest subway station. There is an elevated police sub station between the hotel and subway which made me feel better. To be fair we never felt unsafe, but it was bitterly cold and not many people out and about either. It's a shame because the hotel is so nice. But unfortunately I could never stay here again because of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you're looking to stay fairly close to the big city attractions without paying the big city price, this is the hotel for you. We landed this hotel for $83 on Hotwire, which is a pretty amazing deal for NYC during the holiday season. If you're driving, street parking in the neighborhood is free (though not necessarily plentiful.) Be sure to keep your parallel parking skills sharp. You might also have to move your car in the morning to comply with city parking regulations. We managed to find a spot two doors down from the hotel and were able to keep the car there for the duration of our one night stay. The hotel itself has a small lot which costs $25 per night. It might be worth paying if you wish to avoid the hassle of finding a street space. As with most NYC hotels, you will not need to use your car. It's just a one block walk to the subway. You'll be in midtown Manhattan in less than 15 minutes. You'll be spending almost all of your time in Manhattan because the neighborhood surrounding the hotel is largely industrial and residential. There are only a handful of businesses catering largely to the residents of the nearby housing projects. Safety is not a major concern as the hotel has 24-hour security and there is a police outpost right up the street. The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and spacious by NYC standards. The walls, however, are quite thin. We heard everything that was happening in the room next door as well as the hallway outside the room. And since the hotel faces a fairly busy street with 24-hour bus service, there is traffic noise to go along with it. Budget travelers will appreciate the free breakfast. Health conscious travelers will not. As others have noted in their reviews, the free grub is heavy on carbs and light on protein. Plus, the breakfast room is too small for the number of people who take advantage of it. We ended up taking our food down to the lobby because there was no other place to sit. Overall, the Best Western Plaza Hotel LIC is a solid choice if you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay just outside of Manhattan. It won't work so well for people who want to be within walking distance of great shopping and dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.