We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhhh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ehhhhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

So I stayed at this hotel for a short trip to NYC to get a visa for travel. Things went weird from the get go. Not enough people working the front desk, had to wait in line to check in and once that was finally taken care of the girl at the front desk had given me the keys to a room someone else was already staying in (the key worked, it was very awkward...) There was no bell boy so you have to take your bags up yourself on the cart (which normally I wouldn't have minded if I hadn't brought so much for my travels) and the cart is hard to maneuver. After getting settled everything went ok, the staff was really friendly and helpful but the maids never actually cleaned my room (it was only a 2 night stay so no big deal). They came in once and made the bed. Nothing else was done after that. There is a laundry bag in the closet, but the maids never took the laundry, I was told that there is a laundromat two blocks away. Makes the laundry bag misleading. The breakfast was fine, but the space could get really crowded really quickly. Breakfast is free, but my suggestion is you get there before 8am. The rooms are nice, dark but nice. The bed is comfortable and they have a mini fridge for you and a thermostat you can control (which is nice in the fall and winter). Overall my stay here was awkwardly pleasant.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask about what's available, sometimes people check out early and it wont be liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    452
    197
    36
    30
See reviews for
265
311
67
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First things first :

Very VFM hotel , Very centrally located, co-operative staff, No-frills but almost all essential facilities are part of the package (including the unexpected wi fi..).

If, like me, you are lugging your luggage all across the city in the subway, then this hotel is god send. just three mins walk from the station. hassle free checkin, probably due to advance booking for which there was no acknowledgement from the hotel. i had to call them several times to confirm wire transfer. Another minor irritant was the B/F which was not bad, but limited choice and the quality could have been better... what was available, was consumed in plenty by the guests. I saw some gluttons, stuffing their coats with apples and yoghurt. There is no fresh / fruit juice.

i got the room on the top floor and the windows overlooking the queens bridge. colourful sight in the evenings with all those lights. The spacious room, with good beds and the helpful front desk guy with a readymade printout of the NY city gives you a good feeling.

Wouldnt mind coming back here again :-)

Room Tip: ask for a room in the top floor over looking the bridge behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our shortest stay ever in a hotel, very well maintained building, room was much more than expected. Chic, big, clean, top nutch. Personnal was very attentive of our need and verified if the service provided was enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean rooms, pleasant staff and very helpful, very short walk to the F train which can take you to Manhattan in a matter of minutes......short walking distance to some great restaurants....
I have stayed twice at this hotel and would definitely stay again.....thanks to all the staff for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

During my trip to NY I stayed there for 3 days with my wife and son. It is located 3 min walk from subway and very convinient to go down town. Staff are very polite and nice. I had a five star service in a very expensive City with a very low price. I was in another best western hotel before and I believe maybe due to change in the management all branches are doing a very good job. In this hotel u will have a very good breakfast. You can take purified water as many bottles as you want and no need to buy which is not cheap in NY. There is a high speed free Wifi also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel was new, very nice. Parking was a huge issue. Cost an extra $25. Parking area was small and difficult to park in. Area of LIC was laregly commercial. Close to Manhattan, but not a great area. Room was nice and hotel was very quiet. Staff was friendly and professional. Wouldn't walk around area after dark!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Keep in mind that I value a hotel that lets me get in, get out and on my way to see the Big Apple! The incredible convenience of having a subway station a block away made a big plus for me! Not only was the subway line (F) not excessively crowded but it got me to the busiest section of NY (Madison Square Garden, Harold Square, Times Square) in a flash.
So it was to my delight after staying at another close by hotel that it had a better breakfast nook and there were a few breakfast nooks nearby but better to be at the hotel since its complimentary but the rooms were clean, the showers were reliable and the facilities were well equipped. Staff were courteous and even more impressive, capable!

The only issue? You need to stay in the upper floors if a view of Manhattan is desired.

That's it!

Room Tip: Ask for top floors facing Manhattan because the U.N. and Roosevelt Island are right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.